We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Ranked #44 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Excellent clean hotel , friendly , however car parking is ridiculous at around 6pm on the Saturday we stayed , took over 30 mins to find a space due to other local restaraunts using the limited spaces , think they need to designate separate area of car park for hotel guest otherwise nice stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank will b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahina B, Reception at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear WillB,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor. Your review is very valuable to us as it enables us to monitor the service we provide and helps us seek to find improvement wherever necessary.

I was sorry to read that you found the car parking problematic and I do apologise about that. We have made improvements with regards to our parking allocation recently and I am certain that you will face no such issues on future visits.

I wish you all the very best and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

Was a little nervous booking into a family room for two nights with two children. Room was big enough with two singles and a double - a mix up with the rooms was quickly resolved by friendly staff on reception. Room was just big enough for 4, bathroom quite small for 4 sharing, and there was little room for drying towels. But there were tea and coffee making facilities, and the freshly made breakfast was better (and certainly better value) than many that I have sampled in business hotels. Car park got very full - a consequence of the proximity to restaurants nearby, but we were not disturbed by any noise. OK for 2 nights - it does what it is meant to. But longer than 2 nights would be too long.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James_C_S_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahina B, Reception at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear James_C_S_H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Premier Inn, Birmingham Central, Hagley Road.

It is always great to hear complimentary feedback about our staff and our rooms. I hope you managed to have a fantastic time in Birmingham too and that you will choose to stay with us again during your next trip to the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My advice would be: Avoid Room 22! The noise from the fan units outside is terrible! I think if your anywhere near that room you should switch off the AC (also very noisy) open the window and see what you hear...before you get settled for the night because nobody wants to change rooms at midnight!

Check your Sausage is cooked in the middle!

Lastly when you are told repeatedly the full menu is the meal deal menu...do not believe them!

All the staff were really nice and friendly and it was a shame these things spoiled the stay!



  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyW1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahina B, Reception at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear TonyW1987,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review for your stay at the Premier Inn, Birmingham Central, Hagley Road. We love to get feedback from guests as it tells us what we are doing well and also where we need to improve.

Your comments will be taken on board to ensure that the team consistently deliver great customer service.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the future and thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Another great Premier doing what they do well - providing clean and comfortable accommodation at budget prices. This one gives easy access to Birmingham city centre and Cadbury World which is what we used it for this time. The room wasn't ready on arrival but when it was finished that was done to a high standard. It is aligned to The Duck - a Beefeater place turning out decent quality pub fayre of a variety at decent prices.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilipJPayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahina B, Reception at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear PhilipJPayton,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review for the Premier Inn, Birmingham Central Hagley Road.

Our location is very central to many of Birminghams tourist attractions and our guests often tell us how convenient they found it. We love to get feedback from guests as it tells us what we are doing well and also where we need to improve. Your comments will inspire the team to consistently deliver great customer service.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the future and thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My fiance and I stayed here for two nights over the bank holiday weekend.

Check in was prompt and the lady on the desk was really helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and had lots of information on the hotel and a menu for the beefeater (which we used both nights). Had a little issue with the toilet leaking, and we ended up using a floormat to wrap around the base of the cistern to stop the bathroom floor flooding! Was reported to the desk later on our first evening but the towel remained until we checked out on the Tuesday - not a big deal really! The room had nice tea and coffee facilities and a brilliant wall mounted TV. It was nice to have a choice of pillows, but a choice of duvets would have been nicer - not many people want thick heavy duvets when its so warm. They were just far too hot to use! Towels were clean and replenished when required.

Both nights we didn't sleep overly well - our room overlooked the yard of the beefeater - which was in constant use and was noisy even with the window shut (staff on breaks / bottle bins getting emptied etc) This went on until gone midnight, then started up again at 5.45 the following morning with someone whistling and sweeping up!! Did mention it to the front desk but the man I spoke to didn't seem interested and just said the beefeater is nothing to do with them. Second night wasn't much better - didn't get woken up until 7.30am when a delivery lorry was crashing around cage trolleys outside - lucky us!!! We were hoping for a bit of a lie in since we were on holiday!

Breakfast on our first morning was OK - lots of choice and food was hot and fresh - once they had managed to get the order right!! 3 different breakfasts arrived before we got what we ordered! Second morning breakfast was spot on, really enjoyable. Coffee lovely :-)

Hotel is well positioned for restaurant choice and good parking - we visited Cadbury Land and Black country museum - both within 15 mins of the hotel. Would reccommend it as a base but definitely ask for a room well away from the Beefeater yard - this made our stay a lot less enjoyable because of the noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room well away from the Beefeater yard!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelem89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahina B, Reception at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear RacheleM89,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Premier Inn, Birmingham Central Hagley Road.

At Premier Inn we always try to give our customers a comfortable and friendly stay, and I apologise if you have felt let down by our brand, and by the lack perhaps of a few homely details.

We really value your feedback, as it allows us to improve our standards and make our hotel experience more enjoyable.

Thank you once again for your review; we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed over bank holiday for two nights, clean comfortable room and quiet as in previous comments!! This is one of the better inns. A pleasant garden to sit in at the front, staff hardworking and cheerful . Reception helpful and manned 24 hours, no trouble parking overall a good stay will go back to this one again

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are quiet
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Annette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahina B, Reception at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear AnnetteK,

Thank you for taking the time to post your fantastic 5* review.

It's great to read that you had such a brilliant stay. Thank you for praising the team and the hospitality you encountered; the team work exceptionally hard to ensure every guest has a wonderful stay and I am pleased that we did not disappoint.

We hope to see you again soon at the Premier Inn, Birmingham Central Hagley Road.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as husband had tickets for 20/20 finals day at edgebaston. We arrived early and receptionist allowed us to check in early, no problem whatsoever. Lots of car parking spaces too. Rooms were lovely, great flat screen tv on wall too. Staff were very friendly and helpful to my friend and I who wanted to get bus into town to go shopping. She gave us info on prices and what no buses to look for. Hotel is attached to a beefeater which also is very nice. Nice pub area and nice breakfast in the am. Would def stay here again :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrswu24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahina B, Recpetion at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

MrsWu24,

Thank you for your fabulous 5* rating of the hotel.

I'm really pleased that your stay was so enjoyable and that you found the hotel so well suited to your requirements. Thank you for praising the friendly service you encountered as well as the team's good knowledge of the local area. It's always great to receive such complimentary feedback as it motivates us to keep raising our standards.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Premier Inn, Birmingham Central Hagley Road, in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
University of Birmingham Conferences & events
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
The Eaton Hotel
The Eaton Hotel
#13 of 118 in Birmingham
627 reviews
Ladywood
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Plough and Harrow Hotel
#89 of 118 in Birmingham
775 reviews
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#101 of 118 in Birmingham
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel

Address: 176-184 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 9NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#21 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £49 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located in the affluent area of Edgbaston. We have our own Beefeater restaurant on site but are also within walking distance of at least 4 other popular restaurants. Our location is also convenient for Cadbury World, the QE Hospital and Birmingham University. We pride ourselves on giving the best possible service and have a lot of returning guests based on the personal touch that our team here offers. We cater for both business people and families and our restaurant now boasts free wifi. For further details and queries why don't you give us a call, we are always more than happy to help. The Team at Hagley Road Important info Please note, due to our central location the car park is very busy in the evening and throughout the weekend. Directions: Exit M6 (J6) turn onto Aston Express way (A38). Follow signs to City Centre, ICC and NIA and onto Broad St. From Birmingham centre - take the underpass to Hagley Rd, hotel is half a mile on your left. From M5 J3 continue on A456 for approx 3 miles, hotel carpark will be on the right (shared car park with TGI Friday's). Sat Nav - B16 9NY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Central Hagley Road Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing