We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Ranked #45 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel last weekend and could not fault it with anything. We were welcomed by lovely young girl, who provided us with all information we required. Our room was located on fist floor and was very clean and cosy. Food in restaurant lovely however be careful what time you want to eat as restaurant is very busy in the evenings and can be noisy! Breakfast was just what we needed to start us on a busy day for £8.25 per adult and child eating free it’s a barging! When we returned to hotel we were surprised to learn that there is no water in the building (especially that we booked table to eat in restaurant). However Shahina help us find suitable restaurant in nearby Brindley Place and offered to move us to another hotel if we would like. On our return we were updated by Shanina and manageress (who we later discover was on holidays but when she learned that there was an issue in hotel come in to support her team and guest) on water situation and provided with 2 big water bottles so we could have cup of tea and asked once again that if we want we can be moved to another hotel. I must say that lack of water was an inconvenience however staff in this hotel could not do more to make us feel as comfortable as they could. We will definitely return to this hotel next time we are in Birmingham.

Room Tip: Restaurant very busy over the weekend, so make sure you book your table in advance
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahina B, Reception at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear EllaP,

Thank you for posting this complimentary review and for rating the hotel as 5*.

I'm so pleased your stay was enjoyable and that you consider us to give a 'fantastic service'.

Thank you also, for your kind comments about myself and I will most certainly pass on your lovely comments to Kate, and please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay due to the issues with the water supply.

We hope to see you again soon at the Premier Inn Birmingham Central Hagley Road.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here on Friday night with a friend and 5 children between us as we were off to a concert at the NIA . Having never stayed in a Premier Inn before I was hugely surprised ! Staff were all lovely and friendly , the family room for myself and three girls was huge, clean and comfortable . Fab shower in the bathroom too which was very clean, lots of towels provided. A bit further away from the NIA than it suggested on the website ,certainly not walking distance, but as it was raining we caught a taxi anyway .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahina B, Reception at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Chris J,

Thank you for taking the time to post this fabulous 5* review of your recent stay with us.

I'm pleased to read you enjoyed the hotel's central location and found the facilities well suited to your requirements. I'm also delighted to read that you found our facilities to be excellent and the rooms cleaned to the highest standard. It's particularly great to hear about the service that you recieved from the team. All of our team work incredibly hard to ensure that every guest has a memorable stay, and I'm so pleased that we exceeded expectations.

Thankyou, once again and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

OK, so Birmingham is not the easiest of cities to navigate by car but, The Premier Inn on Hagley Road is worth finding if you are on a budget. The reception staff (Emily in our case) are friendly and helpful and the rooms clean, spacious and quiet. It is located within easy reach of the city centre but far enough out not to be affected by the bubbling social scene of Birmingham City Centre. It is ideal for families visiting Cadbury World or the Sea Life Centre and the Meal Deals provide excellent value for money. The bar and restaurant are spotless, and there is a great atmosphere at the weekend. Worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for room 16. Never heard a sound.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alvor4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahina B, Reception at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Alvor4us,

Thank you for posting this wonderful 5* review of the hotel. I am delighted to read that your stay was so enjoyable and especially pleased to see that you found our receptionist Emily to be so friendly and helpful.

We are incredibly proud of every team member as they always aim to exceed our guests' expectations and ensure every stay is memorable. Thank you once again for your kind feedback, I will ensure that your comments are cascaded to all of the team. I hope to see you again soon at the Premier Inn, Birmingham Central Hagley Road.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Staying for work, midweek. I didn't see the parking problems that weekend reviewers seem to have experienced, but one thing is true: turning right out of the car park or right into it is a bit of a challenge; Hagley Road is one of of Brum's arterial roads, and at rush-hour it is *busy*.

The checkin was friendly and efficient, with all my details present and correct. Premier Inn consistently get this right.

I had a ground-floor room which gave me pause; what about noise? Not a problem. On the side of the building away from the car-park and Beefeater restaurant, there was nary a peep.

The room is exactly like Premier Inn rooms up and down the country. Spacious, immaculately clean, in good order, and everything works. Big flat-screen telly on the wall with inputs for your PC or USB stick, and lots of sockets to charge up the small army of electronic devices the modern business traveller seems to accumulate.

The bathroom was spotless and the shower's water pressure was magnificent, like a pressure washer. Just the job for washing the working day away!

The attached Beefeater serves perfectly serviceable food in a very professional and friendly way. My prawn cocktail was delicious, with juicy plump prawns and a marie rose sauce that wasn't just a vinegary concoction of tomato sauce and mayonnaise. A rack of ribs was falling-of-the-bone tender and the chips were super - crispy on the outside, fluffy on the inside. Service was attentive without being overbearing and quick without being rushed. Not posh, but for someone who's away from home on their own, wanting to get something satisfying to eat with the minimum amount of hassle, it's ideal.

I've stayed here three or four times now, and this review is pretty much representative of each stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahina B, Reception at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear PeterW,

Thank you very much for your fantastic 5 * review following your recent stay with us.

It is very rewarding to hear complimentary comments about the team and the high level of service that we provide. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Premier Inn, Birmingham Central Hagley Road, in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Excellent clean hotel , friendly , however car parking is ridiculous at around 6pm on the Saturday we stayed , took over 30 mins to find a space due to other local restaraunts using the limited spaces , think they need to designate separate area of car park for hotel guest otherwise nice stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank will b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahina B, Reception at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear WillB,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor. Your review is very valuable to us as it enables us to monitor the service we provide and helps us seek to find improvement wherever necessary.

I was sorry to read that you found the car parking problematic and I do apologise about that. We have made improvements with regards to our parking allocation recently and I am certain that you will face no such issues on future visits.

I wish you all the very best and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Was a little nervous booking into a family room for two nights with two children. Room was big enough with two singles and a double - a mix up with the rooms was quickly resolved by friendly staff on reception. Room was just big enough for 4, bathroom quite small for 4 sharing, and there was little room for drying towels. But there were tea and coffee making facilities, and the freshly made breakfast was better (and certainly better value) than many that I have sampled in business hotels. Car park got very full - a consequence of the proximity to restaurants nearby, but we were not disturbed by any noise. OK for 2 nights - it does what it is meant to. But longer than 2 nights would be too long.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James_C_S_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahina B, Reception at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear James_C_S_H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Premier Inn, Birmingham Central, Hagley Road.

It is always great to hear complimentary feedback about our staff and our rooms. I hope you managed to have a fantastic time in Birmingham too and that you will choose to stay with us again during your next trip to the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My advice would be: Avoid Room 22! The noise from the fan units outside is terrible! I think if your anywhere near that room you should switch off the AC (also very noisy) open the window and see what you hear...before you get settled for the night because nobody wants to change rooms at midnight!

Check your Sausage is cooked in the middle!

Lastly when you are told repeatedly the full menu is the meal deal menu...do not believe them!

All the staff were really nice and friendly and it was a shame these things spoiled the stay!



  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyW1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahina B, Reception at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear TonyW1987,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review for your stay at the Premier Inn, Birmingham Central, Hagley Road. We love to get feedback from guests as it tells us what we are doing well and also where we need to improve.

Your comments will be taken on board to ensure that the team consistently deliver great customer service.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the future and thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
The Eaton Hotel
The Eaton Hotel
#13 of 118 in Birmingham
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
The Conference Park from venuebirmingham
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#102 of 118 in Birmingham
456 reviews
Ladywood
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Plough and Harrow Hotel
#90 of 118 in Birmingham
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel

Address: 176-184 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 9NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#21 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £53 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located in the affluent area of Edgbaston. We have our own Beefeater restaurant on site but are also within walking distance of at least 4 other popular restaurants. Our location is also convenient for Cadbury World, the QE Hospital and Birmingham University. We pride ourselves on giving the best possible service and have a lot of returning guests based on the personal touch that our team here offers. We cater for both business people and families and our restaurant now boasts free wifi. For further details and queries why don't you give us a call, we are always more than happy to help. The Team at Hagley Road Important info Please note, due to our central location the car park is very busy in the evening and throughout the weekend. Directions: Exit M6 (J6) turn onto Aston Express way (A38). Follow signs to City Centre, ICC and NIA and onto Broad St. From Birmingham centre - take the underpass to Hagley Rd, hotel is half a mile on your left. From M5 J3 continue on A456 for approx 3 miles, hotel carpark will be on the right (shared car park with TGI Friday's). Sat Nav - B16 9NY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Central Hagley Road Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing