We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel BUT ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Ranked #43 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We've stayed here frequently (visiting family), the hotel is a good Premier Inn with great staff who go out of their way to help. BUT recently parking on Friday or Saturday evenings has become impossible between 6-11pm. Patrons of the 3 adjacent restaurants take all the spaces leaving you circling the car park, racing against others for vacated spaces, for up to 40mins (in my experience).

I have contacted Premier Inn and have been told they are planning to sort out some reserved places for guests ... but until then if you want to find a parking space don't try between 6-11pm Fri & Sat.

Apart from that this is a great hotel for the price and the staff are wonderful. The Beefeater .. well its a Beefeater ...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahina B, Reception at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Venna,

Thank you for your review of the hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and your comments welcome.

Thank you for highlighting the friendly and efficient service you have encountered from the team; I am however sorry to read that you feel there are some areas in which we can improve. Please be advised, your comments regarding parking are taken seriously and will be looked into and rectified.

Thank you once again, and I look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

Good parking,welcoming receptionist,tidy clean bedroom.
All pointless when they Toilet won't flush.
Attached Beefeater Restaurant rude and sarcy.No large print or Braille menu and they thought that funny.

Room Tip: Book early for best prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JANETDENISE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahina B, Reception at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear JanetDenise,

Thank you for taking the time to leave some comments about your stay with us at the Premier Inn, Birmingham Central Hagley Road.

We take all our guests feedback seriously and ensure that we action any aspect that needs improving however small it may be. I will be passing on your comments to the team and I am very sorry that you experienced these issues during your stay.

We really do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed here over the Christmas period so that we could visit family who were unable to put us up.

It was a very welcome place to be, the staff were very friendly and knowledgeable and gave us all the info we needed abbout the facilities in the hotel.

The room was spotlessly clean and well furnished. The facilities in the room were first class and were what one needs when paying the prices that this chain offers.

Have stayed in other Premier Inns around the country and this is one of the best.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnamason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahina B, Reception at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Johnamason,

Thank you for taking your time to leave some feedback following your recent stay with us.

It pleases us greatly to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to experience the hotel thoroughly. I will be passing on all your comments to the team as this will surely motivate them and keep them working hard to ensure that all our guests get the same experience.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Really good quality of rooms-quiet and the staff very welcoming
We stayed for 2 nights and found access to birmingham centre easy about 10 mins in car
good free car parking at the hotel
the new tvs are very good
the room did look a bit empty could have done with another chair or settee


  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacko4960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahina B, Reception at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Jacko4960,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback and rating us 5* following your stay at the Premier Inn, Birmingham Central Hagley Road.

It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay and we were able to leave a good and lasting impression on you.

We hope we get to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stay in Premier Inn regularly for leisure and I recommend it for my work requirements too. Its usually very good. This trip was for 2 nights get away shopping. Receptionists are generally very nice and friendly. Room was good. Had a meal the first night and the food was good but we were seated in the bar, a family came in after us and without reservations were seated before us. We had to stay in the bar with 3 children and keep going up to ask for extras, no waiter service. Pretty poor.
Breakfast was worse. Very quiet yet the waiting staff were all over the place. They got most of our 5 Full English Breakfast wrong and the female waitress seemed particularly annoyed (not sure if she was just having a bad day). Waited so long for my daughters she filled up on cereal and did not want the hot breakfast by the time it came 20 minutes after ours. No apology. Complained to the receptionist. Wouldn't stay at Hagley again. Waterloo Road is defo the best most efficient service. Happy to pay money there for the service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ochoBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahina B, Reception at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Ohcobath,

Thank you for your review of the hotel.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and your comments welcome. Thank you for highlighting the friendly and efficient service you have encountered from the reception team; I am however sorry to see that you feel there are some areas in which we can improve. Please be advised, your comments are taken seriously and will be investigated fully.

Thank you once again, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here n.y.e 2013.. found the hotel very easily the car park was rather large which was very good and no charge which in Birmingham is a bonus.
Adele checked us in and was very polite and explained everything including the good night guarantee which we didnt need as slept perfectly.
Allocated room 4 on ground floor, put the heating on as soon as got in room to warm up as usual we had no problems with the air con controls they always work when u know how.
We ate elsewhere so cant comment on the attached beefeater but had a drink in the bar reasonable prices and lovely atmosphere in there.
The shower was very powerful and very good.. and of course the bed was as always very comfortable and snuggly. Check out was quick to.
1 point that we could bring up is on leaving we were informed by a sign on the desk of late check out avalible at 15pound... we were never told about that on check inn and would have been ideal as we would have took advantage of that. On the times we have asked about late check out p.inn say they dont do it.
Overall a good stay in Birmingham once again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nad86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahina B, Reception at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Nad86,

Thank you for choosing us to celebrate your New Years with and taking the time to write this lovely 5* review.

It makes us so proud to read that the team delivered from Reception through to the Restaurant. It is because of great reviews like yours that we are able to get even better at our service delivery.

Thank you again for the kind words and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We had to ask for a different room twice and settled in on the third room. The first room we were given was number 45 and had completely broken air conditioning and was very cold. The second room was 31 the air con seemed to work intermittently mainly blowing cold air. The third was room number 25 the air con came on for a short while then soon went cool again so the staff gave us two portable heaters that worked ok and with these on the room soon warmed up. In room 25 the bathroom fan that automatically comes on with the light makes a rather loud noise whilst running and this carries on for about 15 minutes after the light is switched off, very annoying at night.

The staff were very friendly throughout although my biggest complaint is we received a knock on the door from a maid asking us to remover the Do Not Disturb sign, I think because she was tidying up the corridor or something, her English didn’t seem too good? I was under the impression that once one hung the do not disturb sign on the door we would not be DISTURBED.

Breakfast was fine. Rooms were clean. WI-FI is free for 30 minutes then priced at £3 for 24 hours. The USB TV sockets did not work in any of the 3 rooms we tried. We stayed in another Premier Inn a few weeks before and were able to plug a USB stick into the socket and watch film files with no problem. It looks like a software update could be needed for their TV’s.

It is a nice place with very pleasant staff but unfortunately we won’t be staying at this particular Premier Inn again, next time we are in Birmingham but will be visiting the Brindley Place Premier Inn.

Room Tip: We went when it was very cold. I’ve described the rooms as poor purely because or the air conditioni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBigMouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahina B, Reception at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear TheBigMouth,

Thank your for your feedback and review.

I apologise that you experienced cold and disturbance issues during your stay. We strive to make every guest's stay feel brilliant and I am sorry that we did not achieve this during your stay. I have retrained the reception team on dealing with cold rooms and also the house keeping team to ensure it does not happen again in the future.

I hope this goes some way to restoring your trust in Premier Inn and that we may welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
The Eaton Hotel
The Eaton Hotel
#13 of 118 in Birmingham
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
University of Birmingham Conferences & events
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#101 of 118 in Birmingham
461 reviews
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#26 of 118 in Birmingham
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel

Address: 176-184 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 9NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#21 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £53 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located in the affluent area of Edgbaston. We have our own Beefeater restaurant on site but are also within walking distance of at least 4 other popular restaurants. Our location is also convenient for Cadbury World, the QE Hospital and Birmingham University. We pride ourselves on giving the best possible service and have a lot of returning guests based on the personal touch that our team here offers. We cater for both business people and families and our restaurant now boasts free wifi. For further details and queries why don't you give us a call, we are always more than happy to help. The Team at Hagley Road Important info Please note, due to our central location the car park is very busy in the evening and throughout the weekend. Directions: Exit M6 (J6) turn onto Aston Express way (A38). Follow signs to City Centre, ICC and NIA and onto Broad St. From Birmingham centre - take the underpass to Hagley Rd, hotel is half a mile on your left. From M5 J3 continue on A456 for approx 3 miles, hotel carpark will be on the right (shared car park with TGI Friday's). Sat Nav - B16 9NY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Central Hagley Road Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing