We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Ranked #41 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I have stayed at this hotel for 42 days whilst waiting for a property purchase to come through, from my very first meeting with the reception staff( who allowed me to view the rooms before i booked ) their professionalism and friendliness shone through, right till when i left, there was always a smile and pleasantries past from staff to guests, the room was large and well decorated, the beds are fantastic, and the cleanliness was exceptional,the hallways are bright and clean, and the decoration throughout the whole of the hotel is very well kept,the hotel is perfectly situated just out side the city centre, and public transport is right outside,the restaurant breakfast staff were also exceptional and always very pleasant, the cooked breakfast is very good value for money and cooked in double quick time,a great selection of food was always available,wherever i travel in future i will always make an effort to stay at the premiere inn, but without a doubt my stay was made as good as it was because of the hard working excellent and very pleasant staff, so 10 out of 10 to them, i wouldn't like to mention anyone person by name as each and every one has shown great service to myself, i do have one or 2 favourites, and they know who they are, so thank you all so very very much, also a special thank you to the manageress for her kindness
Best regards
Andrew
Room53

Room Tip: Try and get on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew9119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahina B, Reception at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Andrew9119,

Thank you for rating us five stars on Tripadvisor.

We love to hear such great feedback as it helps us to perfect the service even more. I am very proud to read that we lived up to the usual high standards of Premier Inn and that your stay was excellent

The team and I hope to have you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

I'm a fan of Premier Inn and have frequently stayed with my wife and kids in one of their family rooms. On this occasion, Reception on arrival was great but after that it was a bit of a let down. The room was smaller than usual, such that one of the child beds had no gap between wall and adult bed, requiring both child and I to clamber over the bed in order to get out; which wasn't easy, meaning we had to turn the lights on during the night. And then the air conditioning was noisier than usual, to the extent that we turned it off (but then the room got uncomfortably warm, even though it was January - bizarre) but the walls were so thin that we could then hear next door's air conditioning, and next door's happy return from some event or other. We don't blame them, we were just surprised we could hear them so easily. Finally, there was breakfast: a real let down by comparison the usual excellent Premier Inn fare; it wasn't a buffet but bacon & fried eggs were respectively undercooked, portion of beans was measly and somehow less than average in taste, and the continental selection was lacking the usual options eg danish pastries. And the only coffee available was 'push the button on the jug' style coffee, rather than cappuccinos say, but perhaps now I'm getting picky.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saltyorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahina B, Reception at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Saltyorc,

Thank you for your review following your stay with us. Your feedback is very much appreciated and your comments welcome.

Thank you also for highlighting the service you encountered from the reception team; I am however sorry to read that you feel there are some areas in which we can improve. Please be advised, your comments are taken seriously and will be investigated fully.

Thank you once again, and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We've stayed here frequently (visiting family), the hotel is a good Premier Inn with great staff who go out of their way to help. BUT recently parking on Friday or Saturday evenings has become impossible between 6-11pm. Patrons of the 3 adjacent restaurants take all the spaces leaving you circling the car park, racing against others for vacated spaces, for up to 40mins (in my experience).

I have contacted Premier Inn and have been told they are planning to sort out some reserved places for guests ... but until then if you want to find a parking space don't try between 6-11pm Fri & Sat.

Apart from that this is a great hotel for the price and the staff are wonderful. The Beefeater .. well its a Beefeater ...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahina B, Reception at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Venna,

Thank you for your review of the hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and your comments welcome.

Thank you for highlighting the friendly and efficient service you have encountered from the team; I am however sorry to read that you feel there are some areas in which we can improve. Please be advised, your comments regarding parking are taken seriously and will be looked into and rectified.

Thank you once again, and I look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Good parking,welcoming receptionist,tidy clean bedroom.
All pointless when they Toilet won't flush.
Attached Beefeater Restaurant rude and sarcy.No large print or Braille menu and they thought that funny.

Room Tip: Book early for best prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JANETDENISE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahina B, Reception at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear JanetDenise,

Thank you for taking the time to leave some comments about your stay with us at the Premier Inn, Birmingham Central Hagley Road.

We take all our guests feedback seriously and ensure that we action any aspect that needs improving however small it may be. I will be passing on your comments to the team and I am very sorry that you experienced these issues during your stay.

We really do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed here over the Christmas period so that we could visit family who were unable to put us up.

It was a very welcome place to be, the staff were very friendly and knowledgeable and gave us all the info we needed abbout the facilities in the hotel.

The room was spotlessly clean and well furnished. The facilities in the room were first class and were what one needs when paying the prices that this chain offers.

Have stayed in other Premier Inns around the country and this is one of the best.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnamason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahina B, Reception at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Johnamason,

Thank you for taking your time to leave some feedback following your recent stay with us.

It pleases us greatly to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to experience the hotel thoroughly. I will be passing on all your comments to the team as this will surely motivate them and keep them working hard to ensure that all our guests get the same experience.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Really good quality of rooms-quiet and the staff very welcoming
We stayed for 2 nights and found access to birmingham centre easy about 10 mins in car
good free car parking at the hotel
the new tvs are very good
the room did look a bit empty could have done with another chair or settee


  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacko4960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahina B, Reception at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Jacko4960,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback and rating us 5* following your stay at the Premier Inn, Birmingham Central Hagley Road.

It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay and we were able to leave a good and lasting impression on you.

We hope we get to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stay in Premier Inn regularly for leisure and I recommend it for my work requirements too. Its usually very good. This trip was for 2 nights get away shopping. Receptionists are generally very nice and friendly. Room was good. Had a meal the first night and the food was good but we were seated in the bar, a family came in after us and without reservations were seated before us. We had to stay in the bar with 3 children and keep going up to ask for extras, no waiter service. Pretty poor.
Breakfast was worse. Very quiet yet the waiting staff were all over the place. They got most of our 5 Full English Breakfast wrong and the female waitress seemed particularly annoyed (not sure if she was just having a bad day). Waited so long for my daughters she filled up on cereal and did not want the hot breakfast by the time it came 20 minutes after ours. No apology. Complained to the receptionist. Wouldn't stay at Hagley again. Waterloo Road is defo the best most efficient service. Happy to pay money there for the service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ochoBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahina B, Reception at Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Ohcobath,

Thank you for your review of the hotel.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and your comments welcome. Thank you for highlighting the friendly and efficient service you have encountered from the reception team; I am however sorry to see that you feel there are some areas in which we can improve. Please be advised, your comments are taken seriously and will be investigated fully.

Thank you once again, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
The Eaton Hotel
The Eaton Hotel
#12 of 118 in Birmingham
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
University of Birmingham Conferences & events
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#101 of 118 in Birmingham
461 reviews
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#26 of 118 in Birmingham
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel

Address: 176-184 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 9NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#21 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £54 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located in the affluent area of Edgbaston. We have our own Beefeater restaurant on site but are also within walking distance of at least 4 other popular restaurants. Our location is also convenient for Cadbury World, the QE Hospital and Birmingham University. We pride ourselves on giving the best possible service and have a lot of returning guests based on the personal touch that our team here offers. We cater for both business people and families and our restaurant now boasts free wifi. For further details and queries why don't you give us a call, we are always more than happy to help. The Team at Hagley Road Important info Please note, due to our central location the car park is very busy in the evening and throughout the weekend. Directions: Exit M6 (J6) turn onto Aston Express way (A38). Follow signs to City Centre, ICC and NIA and onto Broad St. From Birmingham centre - take the underpass to Hagley Rd, hotel is half a mile on your left. From M5 J3 continue on A456 for approx 3 miles, hotel carpark will be on the right (shared car park with TGI Friday's). Sat Nav - B16 9NY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Central Hagley Road Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing