We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Staff - great value for money!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel
Ranked #24 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Great place to stay - friendly helpful staff who went the extra mile to ensure our stay and visit to Birmingham was special. Breakfast - great value. Rooms quiet. Easy access in and out of city. The Harvester restaurant was very busy but obliged by giving us take away to have in our rooms - tried the Indian restaurant next door also very good.

thank you for a great visit to Birmingham.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHELLE2561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2012

Used Premier Inns many times before, but this one was superb. All the staff were very friendly and helpful on arrival that was after e-mail directions and text directions to the hotel, which was very convenient to the M6/M5.The staff at breakfast and the breakfast itself was great with everything you could think of including the choice of fresh or tinned tomatoes. My only reservation is the Harvester next door and that is only because I prefer the menu at a Beefeater, having said that next time I have to go to the Midlands this will be the hotel of choice even if it's not the nearest to where I have to go.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devonwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The staff were friendly, the rooms were clean and there was a Harvester next door which was great.
You can't go wrong with a premier inn normally and this one lived up to its name.
Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miss_fi103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We decided to split our journey from Brighton to Liverpool by stopping off around Birmingham. We were so glad that we chose this Premier Inn. Firstly they text you the confirmation and directions if needed and on arrival the staff were more than helpful in recommending the Harvester next door, a busy but excellent place to eat. We decided on breakfast in the morning and again the staff could not do enough for you, and there was a great choice.
We will stay here again as we visit friends in the area and have never known of this place before. A good Easter Sunday evening had by all!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Thankyou for taking the time to post a response about Premier Inn Birmingham Great Barr. Its great to hear that you had an enjoyable Easter Sunday evening in the Harvester and that you found the team at Great Barr helpful and friendly. Im delighted you had a Premier Breakfast with us before your departure, they really do set you up for the day ahead! We look forward to welcoming you back vey soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Thank you Premier Inn, after making a total mess up and forgetting to book a hotel during a very stressful time, Premier Inn came to my aid as we approached Birmingham New Street Station at almost 11pm on a Saturday night and managed to find us a family room at this hotel for a stop over on the way to Devon. The service on the phone to a panic stricken single mum on a crowded train full of rowdy football supporters was second to none and whoever it was who helped me on the other end of the phone deserves more than my sincere appreciation.

It was £12 each way in a taxi from New Street (private hire, not rank which would cost about £20 each way). If you want to stay in Birmingham but somewhere out of the Broad St area on a Saturday night then this is a good option, cheaper rooms by large (especially on a Saturday night) and that kind of makes up for the taxi fare.

We arrived at nearly midnight and were met by a chap called Nolan at the reception desk. He was fabulous and a real hit with my kids. He had some computer issues going on, which we all know can be a nightmare and seeing how tired and luggage laden and hungry we were he told us we could nip just outside and grab something from the chippy while he took care of our luggage and sorted out the glitchy system.

We were surprised by the facilities just a second or two away from this hotel, the Harvester, which we will have to be sure to sample next time we stay, an Indian restaurant and the chippy which served us the best kebabs we've had in years, all done in an impressive environment for a chippy and by really friendly staff.

When we got back to the reception, Nolan was able to check us in and helped us up to our room which was as ever with Premier Inn, immaculately clean, comfortable and had everything we needed for our over night stay. My daughter went down to ask for extra pillows and another duvet and was provided with them with no hassle.

We took advantage of the Premier breakfast in the morning and were served by a delightful lady who didn't even tell us off for setting fire to croissants in the toaster ... whoops sorry about that. The morning receptionist, didn't get her name sorry, was really helpful and friendly and can't be faulted. Breakfast was fab and kept us going all day for the remainder of our journey.

The taxi which was called for us had a very friendly driver who almost gave us a guided tour of the trip back to the station, pointing out the direction of interesting places to visit and he was very helpful with fitting our masses of luggage into his car.

Thank you Premier Inn all round for your helpful staff and as ever a wonderful night's sleep at a great price in a really handy location. Great Barr's team haven't let you down and we will be back.

Room Tip: There's no lift that we were aware of but only two floors and staff were keen to help with lugga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mich67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2012

Thankyou for recent review regarding your stay here with us at Premier Inn Birmingham Great Barr. I am glad you found Nolan welcoming and inviting after your tiring journey and that he was able to help you with your requirements even late at night, at Premier Inn we pride ourselves on our customer service and he will be rewarded for his service to you on this occasion. Dont worry about the toaster on fire, you are not the first person to do it! but at least you enjoyed your breakfast when we had served you. We look forward to welcoming you back here again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

An excellent stay here. Harvester next door was really busy and popular - however still had great service. Although separate to the restaurant - you would think it was run by the same staff! Excellent service all round and most of all a great nights sleep!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldchimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2012

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review about Great Barr Premier Inn. I am delighted to hear that you had a great nights sleep and that the service you received from both the hotel team and the Harvester restaurant adjoining us was excellent. I will pass on your comments to my team and that of the Harvester. We hope you will be making a return visit, there is always plenty to see and do in and around Birmingham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We thought "behind a pub in Birmingham which was on a dual carriageway?" this could be trouble especially at the price and the time of evening we arrived. We went in the pub for a nightcap. Once back in the room we could not hear the traffic and never heard any of the pub noise. Amazing! Slept easily until 9.15am we packed for our departure, opened the door to the hallway to be greeted by a small baby crying in an adjacent room. We heard nothing from inside the room. I don't work for Premier Inn, I just loved staying there!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkTortworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa T, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2012

Thankyou for your recent posting about your stay here at Great Barr Premier Inn. Although we are close to major roads we are indeed situated far enough back behind the Harvester to pub to be able to offer a Good Nights Sleep. Im glad you enjoyed your stay here with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Great Barr Hotel
#83 of 118 in Birmingham
365 reviews
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#34 of 118 in Birmingham
1,015 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel

Address: 222 Birmingham Road | Great Barr, Birmingham B43 7AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £44 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Premier Inn is conveniently positioned just a short distance from the M6. Ideally located just 8 miles from New Street train station. This Premier Inn is 18 miles away from Birmingham Airport. Our Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect - incredibly comfy beds in every room, free parking, WIFI (charges apply) and an onsite Harvester restaurant. Full Premier and Continental breakfasts (up to a maximum of 2 children, aged 15 and under, can eat breakfast free per adult purchasing a full breakfast) served within our hotel. A hearty evening meal, a light snack or a relaxing drink can be served at the Harvester restaurant.Please note: All our twin rooms consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. Important info Our twin rooms consist of 1x double and 1x single bed. Directions: From the M6, exit at junction 7 and take the A34 towards Walsall. The hotel is on the left in Birmingham Road behind the Beacon Harvester restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr / m6, j7) Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing