We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel
Ranked #21 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed one night prior to visiting Birmingham City University. The hotel was easy to find, and well located for traveling into Birmingham.
The staff were friendly and welcoming.
The room was a good size, clean and very quiet.
We did not have breakfast as we had to leave early. The Harvester next door is very handy for an evening meal!
We would stay again, and certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANTHONYW653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, General Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Hi there and thankyou for your recent review, we take great pleasure on knowing that our guests have enjoyed their stay and that you found us easily.
Hopefully the next time you stay you will have time for breakfast, you wont be dissappointed.

KInd regards

The Team at Great Barr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2013

Pleasantly surprised at the friendliness of the staff, the cleanliness and standard of the room and the freshness of the breakfast. We were made to feel very welcome bearing the accommodation was fully booked. We only stayed for one night but would now have no hesitation in staying for longer in the future. Many thanks to Paul, Melina and Denise.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, General Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

HI there,

Many thanks for your recent review, it is always quiet gratifying when we get a good one. We are all really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and certainly hope you consider staying with us again when you are in Birmingham.

Kind regards

The Team at Great Barr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed here on the strength of the other reviews and were also very impressed. We stayed just one night while visiting relatives over Christmas and also seeing the pantomime at B'ham Hippodrome. We had not stayed in a Premier Inn before but usually use independent hotels. We were very impressed with the professionalism of the staff - had they previously worked at Claridges?! They were so welcoming and friendly and made us feel like a valued customer, which is rare these days. We had a family room which was at the back of the hotel and was nice and quiet. The room was very clean and fresh with a large double and single, a desk and large flat screen tv, our en-suite was very nice too, modern with a good shower. There is a thermostat so you can have the room as warm as you want. We ordered the cooked breakfasts and your order is taken at your table and you can have as much or as little as you want. The only thing we found though was that coming down a little later than the others the buffet selection - cereals, juices, muffins, etc. was practically all gone. The lady said she would replenish, but did not, so we had very little choice from the buffet, but were satisfied by the cooked breakfast anyway. We would definitely stay here again, as already after just one visit it feels like a 'home from home'.

Room Tip: 109 a family room at the back is nice and quiet
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, General Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

HI there,

Thank you for your recent review. We are all really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you stayed based on the strength of our previous reviews, it is a great tool for us to help our business.
After reading your review we now make sure that no matter what time you come down for breakfast the buffet will always be replenished so you don't miss out on anything.
We certainly hope you will use us again in the future when visiting Birmingham.
Regards from the team at Great Barr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We recently returned to the Great Barr Premier Inn, for the the third time as we were visiting family in the area for Christmas. Once again, we were very pleased with everything about our 3 night stay. Firstly the room rate we got was excellent so we definitely couldn't complain!!! As usual, all the staff we met were extremely welcoming, polite, friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities. After our journey we were tired, and also as our days were spent visiting relatives, each evening we were shattered but we both slept very well in the comfortable bed - an added bonus!! Earlier in the year we stayed in a holiday resort elsewhere and paid approximately the same price for one night as we paid for 3 nights at Premier Inn and we couldn't wait to get home to our own bed as the bed was so small and uncomfortable!!!!! We would definitely recommend the Premier Inn Great Barr for an affordable, comfortable and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, General Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We are extremely pleased that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us. It is really important that not only do we give great service in a great evironment but we do it consistently and your review is testament to that. We hope that you will continue to use us when you visit Birmingham as having return guest really does create a freindly atmosphere.
Many thanks once again and we will look forward to welcoming you through our doors at some time in the future..............

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

This is a nice hotel located just off J7 of the M6 in a suburb of Birmingham. It is about 4 miles drive to the city centre. I chose this location because it would be easy to hop on/off the M6 and arrive at the hotel rather than driving through the city.
We were a party of three, me, my husband and our 9 year old son. Although a bit more basic than the other Premier we stayed in (near Manchester United stadium), the room was comfortable enough for our two night stay. Our bed in particular was super comfy. All the staff were helpful and friendly. There is a small continental buffet breakfast, and if as we did, you order the Premier breakfast, Denise, the friendly waiter/chef takes your order and cooks it for you. There is no restaurant in the actual hotel but there is a Harvester just next door on the same site, if you like that sort of food - (which unfortunately I don't!). This restaurant seems popular and you probably need to book a table or face a very long wait to get in. My son and husband opted for takeaways from there on the first night instead. If you are a healthy eating strict vegetarian, like me, I'd give it a miss though!I
So all in all if you want a cheap, clean, no frills place to sleep for a couple of days, you can't go wrong at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SlinkyMooMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, General Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Hi there, thank you for your recent review. We are all really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, its great to hear that you chose us over our city centre rivals. Apologies for any issues you found with the Harvester I understand that they were very busy over the Xmas period. We do have a close working relationship with the restaurant and they take a keen interest on the feelings of our guests so I will pass on your comments to them.
We certainly hope that you and your family will continue to use us when visiting Birmingham. Many thanks again, and see you soon............

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

In the last month I have stayed twice in Premier Inns, Once at Perry Barr, Birmingham and once at the Birmingham NEC. It has been a while since I last used Premier Inn and I was very surprised by their new standards and upkeep. I stayed in a Travelodge recently and as usual I was depressed - it was so tired and soulless. By contrast the staff at Premier Inn are friendliness and helpfulness itself. The rooms were well maintained and well appointed with wood and art as required, not white everywhere. They have managed the recent change of televisions very well, with good TVs and excellent signal and picture quality. Breakfast was in the lodge itself and very good. Congratulations to Premier Inn on a job well done.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PBT221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, General Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Hi there and Happy New year. Thank you for your recent review we are really pleased that you have a new view of Premier Inn. For us its all about the guest journey from the moment you book to the moment you leave and the experience that you have along the way. Receiving reviews like this help us achieve this consistently and regularly.
Thank you once again, we certainly look forward to seeing you agian soon.........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Having read great reviews here, we picked this over other options. Checked out with that happy feeling worth much more than the price paid. Genuine friendly service, free and convenient parking, 24 hr reception, good 3G coverage on O2 so didn't need paid Wifi, very nice hot breakfast cooked to order.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LS183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, General Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Hi there, thank you for you r recent review we are all very happy that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and certainly hope you will consider us in future when you visit Birmingham. It is also reassuring that potential guests look at the Trip Advisor website to consider what others have felt about their stay, it helps us to be consistent in what we do. All the best for the New Year, see you soon...........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Great Barr Hotel
#86 of 118 in Birmingham
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
2,480 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
942 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel

Address: 222 Birmingham Road | Great Barr, Birmingham B43 7AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#11 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £47 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Premier Inn is conveniently positioned just a short distance from the M6. Ideally located just 8 miles from New Street train station. This Premier Inn is 18 miles away from Birmingham Airport. Our Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect - incredibly comfy beds in every room, free parking, WIFI (charges apply) and an onsite Harvester restaurant. Full Premier and Continental breakfasts (up to a maximum of 2 children, aged 15 and under, can eat breakfast free per adult purchasing a full breakfast) served within our hotel. A hearty evening meal, a light snack or a relaxing drink can be served at the Harvester restaurant.Please note: All our twin rooms consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. Important info Our twin rooms consist of 1x double and 1x single bed. Directions: From the M6, exit at junction 7 and take the A34 towards Walsall. The hotel is on the left in Birmingham Road behind the Beacon Harvester restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr / m6, j7) Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing