We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value ,great staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel
Ranked #16 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Have never stayed in a Premier Inn before.I was most impressed with the welcome we received from staff ,
nothing was too much trouble .
Room was clean ,warm and comfortable
Btreakfast was hot , tasty and beautifully cooked , able to help ourselves to anything from the breakfast buffet.
Will definetely stay here again.
Fantastic value , fantastic staff .

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Dear Lindsay083,

Thank you for posting a great review regarding your stay at Birmingham Great Barr, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here, especially Denise, who is pleased you enjoyed her breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2013

Stayed at this hotel last weekend. Spectacular service. Will definitely stay again. Harvester pub on site very good. The room was immaculate and well cared for. The staff are so friendly, they genuinely take an interest in you. Nothing was too much trouble, cost very reasonable. Will definitely recommend to my family and friends

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Hi Sophie K, Thank you for taking time to review our hotel it is greatly appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your family and friends back soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

On arrival, we had a very friendly welcome from the receptionist. Our room was warm, clean and comfortable. We all had a very good nights sleep.At breakfast, we had a warm welcome from the waiter who explained how everything to do with breakfast worked (where tea, toast, etc. was). The breakfast we ordered was very tasty, good value for money and delivered with a smile.
I can fully recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Our room 209 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaymaker655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Hi there, The team and I at Great Barr Premier Inn would just like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad to hear that you had such friendly service during you stay and enjoyed our breakfast. We are Pleased that you would recommend us and we certainly look forward to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights starting 15th March 13 we booked early January so got the two nights for £68 plus breakfast for 2 twice total cost £101.

When we arrived to check in we were greeted well but as we had lots of gifts we had a large heavy suit case and were disappointed to find no lift so had to heave the case up the stairs no fun believe me !

We arrived in our room for the weekend to a touch of disappointment the room was tired and could of used a good lick of paint the window net was grey, the bathroom was not cleaned to the greatest standard there were water marks and hair all over the shower cubicle and the mirror, the pillows smelt of stale damp.

We went out for the rest of the day to a friends we returned just before midnight It was quite we got ourselves ready for bed and settled in only for the storage heaters to ping and clunk for the entire night, so morning came for two very tired friends and shower time, I could of washed the shampoo out of my hair quicker in a light drizzle outside so it's safe to say the shower was un-impressive.

Went down for breakfast we stood at the wait here to be seated for 5 minutes and in the end just seated ourselves to find the staff just chatting around the corner, we expected to find the usual breakfast buffet continental and full English laid out as in the other Premier Inn's we've stayed at only to be disappointed. The coffee was in a flask type thing which ran out both mornings and never seemed to be refilled dispite asking, we had to wait for someone to take our cooked breakfast order and both mornings they got it wrong !!! The breakfast seating plan is not ideal you end up feeling like a museum exhibit as your suituated right by the front doors and checking desk.

Overall this is a very average Premier Inn in my opinion driving around locally there are many competing hotels offering the same services at the same price and they are even building new Premier Inns locally, I can't help thinking perhaps some of that money could of been spent on revamping this drab tired looking hotel. I can say I would most likely stay at one of the competing hotels for my next stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoby16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am personally very disappointed that you did not enjoy your weekend with us, as you can see from our other 87 reviews it is not the general opinion of this hotel. I would like you to know that I will be looking into the problems that you have described personally to ensure this does not happen to any of our future guests.

Kind regards

Paul Ashton
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I have never felt anything but most welcome at the hotel. Friendly staff, good rooms, good location and reasonable price. Breakfast is freshly cooked and brought to your table. I have stayed here many times as a business traveller and it is my 'go to' place when in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Hi there and a very big thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we greatly appreciate it.
Its also very comforting to know that you stay with us on a regular basis and always enjoy it. We will endeavour to keep up the standards, and very much look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Paul Ashton
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I have spent hundreds of nights in Premier Inns and this one more than most.

I don’t normally bother reviewing PIs unless they stand out, as they are like McDonalds. You know what you are getting, they are the same everywhere and you go there for the for price, convenience, ease and because they are clean and you know what to expect – not because you want to treat yourself to a special 5 star night away.

The staff at this one are very friendly and make a real effort, the breakfast here is also a serious high point. Unlike most hotels these days, it is not a buffet breakfast under a lamp. They actually cook to order and they are happy to meet you requirements. This in itself merits me taking the time to review it.

The Harvester next door is not going to win any awards however, it’s old, tired, cold and the staff seem to lack any love for their jobs.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wellersky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Hi there. Thank you so much for taking the time out to leave a review. The team and I greatly appreciate it as we hunt down the #1 spot.
We are happy that you enjoy staying with us and continue to do so and I am sure that Denise will be over the moon knowing that her breakfasts are going down well.
We look forward to welcoming you through our doors again in the future.

Kind regards

Paul Ashton
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

lovely hotel . Really friendly staff. Had a brilliant stay and breakfast was really good too. Fully enjoyed our stay and will definatly return. location was ideal for what we wanted. value for money we definatly recieved.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sidyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Hi there. The team and I at Great Barr Premier Inn would just like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are all really pleased to here that you enjoyed your stay. Denise inparticular will be happy that you enjoyed her breakfast.
We certainly look forward to seeing you again soon..

kind regards

Paul Ashton
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Perry Barr
1.3 mi away
Great Barr Hotel
Great Barr Hotel
#84 of 118 in Birmingham
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
952 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel La Tour
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,506 reviews
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel

Address: 222 Birmingham Road | Great Barr, Birmingham B43 7AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £47 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Premier Inn is conveniently positioned just a short distance from the M6. Ideally located just 8 miles from New Street train station. This Premier Inn is 18 miles away from Birmingham Airport. Our Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect - incredibly comfy beds in every room, free parking, WIFI (charges apply) and an onsite Harvester restaurant. Full Premier and Continental breakfasts (up to a maximum of 2 children, aged 15 and under, can eat breakfast free per adult purchasing a full breakfast) served within our hotel. A hearty evening meal, a light snack or a relaxing drink can be served at the Harvester restaurant.Please note: All our twin rooms consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. Important info Our twin rooms consist of 1x double and 1x single bed. Directions: From the M6, exit at junction 7 and take the A34 towards Walsall. The hotel is on the left in Birmingham Road behind the Beacon Harvester restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Premier Inn and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr / m6, j7) Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing