We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend stay + family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel
Ranked #16 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend stay + family”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We had a family room, 2 adults + 15 yr old and a 12 yr old.. All very clean and by the time we returned from breakfast in the morning the room had already been cleaned, towles changed, beds made etc. Room fully equipped with all you need.
Breakfast was ample with choice of full English or continental. Coming from Italy only our daughter took advantage of the full English!! One could not ask for more and under 16's are free for Breakfast.
The best though were the people. Very friendly and sincere and a pleasure to pass moments talking together. Anything you need don't hsitate to ask they are all very helpfull and most kind.
Good value and good stop off point for a few days to visit relatives in the area. Will use again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Hey there,

Thank you for your fantastic review on your stay here at Birmingham Great Barr. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that your daughter made full use of our full english breakfast.

I will pass your comments on to our team, We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    77
    24
    4
    4
See reviews for
126
86
15
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brandon Suffolk
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We only stayed for one night, on the way back from the gadget show, good price friendly staff and nice clean comfy room. The only downside was that you couldn't move the shower head so the water went everywhere all over the floor but apart from that it was really good! I would recommend to people.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickschick01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Hey there,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review regarding your stay at Birmingham Great Barr Premier Inn.

We are glad that you had a nice stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed here last night with our two under 3s and as with all chain hotels like this, it is fairly nondescript. Therefore it is down to the staff to make or break it, the staff at Great Barr are certainly a credit to Premier Inn.

Liz on reception and the lady in the kitchen (Denise?) were absolutely brilliant, going above and beyond to help out. All the other staff we met in passing were equally helpful and cheery. Having never stayed in a Premier Inn before, we will definitely be doing so in the future if we can expect service like this.

Location wise, 2 mins off the M6 so ideal if you are mid journey. Harvester on site, staff also friendly. Plus the Premier Inn breakfast is a bargain, everything you could hope for and kids eat free.

Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Hey there,

Thanks for posting a lovely review about your stay here at Birmingham Great Barr. We are really pleased that we exceeded all your expectations during your stay. We are glad to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and that you found us to be of good location. I will pass on your comments to Liz and Denise, who I'm sure will be deleighted to hear them.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
202 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Was here on business trip for a couple of days and I'm pretty satisfied with the hotel and the service, people on the front desk were very friendly and were able to help as much as I requested. The only thing why I find less positive is the location, it's quite far from everywhere (when one doesn't want to stay at the Harvester for dinner every night) and also because of the breakfast which was very simple.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Hey there,

Thank you for posting a great review regarding your stay at Birmingham Great Barr, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here and found our staff here to be friendly and helpful. We do apologise that you didnt find the location to be helpful, however there is an indian restaraunt next door or an Ember Inn pub within walking distance, i'm sure one of our receptionist would be more than welcome to print you off some walking directions for these on your next visit.

We do hope to see you soon

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
390 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

A standard Premier Inn with plenty of on-site parking and helpful receptionist.

The brekfast cook is excellent. It was quite busy so took a while for the hot food to come out but when it did, wow, perfect. The guy waiting tables at brekfast was rushed off his feet but was working v hard and clearly doing his best to keep everyone happy, which he did.

The rooms are standard, very clean, nice fluffy towels (I think Premier Inn has recently upgraded its towels to larger/fluffier as noticed this in a couple of locations recently).

The Harvester next door, however, is quite horrid. Despite good staff working hard & being friendly, the place needs a good clean and a refurb urgently - paint peeling everywhere and just looked dirty. We went in for lunch and would usually have gome back for dinner but decided instead to have pizza delivered to our room - we disliked it that much!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyPurples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Hey there,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay here with us at Birmingham great barr. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed our breakfast. I will pass on your comments to the team.

We do apologise about the problems you had with the Harvester next door, although we are a seperate buissness to them we will pass your comments and feedback onto them so they can action it.

We hope to be welcoming you back in the very near future

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandysul
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Very clean warm hotel but beware the adjoining pub/restaurant will decide to close suddenly if not enough people are in there !!!Very nice when you are eating your meal then told we are closing at 9pm And its now 8-30

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Hey there,

Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are glad you found our hotel clean and warm. We do apologise about the pub next door closing early it doesn't usually happen but due to unforseen circumstances they had to close early on that patricular date.

We hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Stayed at this Premier Inn as a family of 4 on the way down South from Scotland and I have to say I was very impressed. We got the room for £29 and breakfast was about £8 for an adult with kids eating free so as a family of 4 this was good value. The room was excellent with a very comfy bed and the kids beds were ready made when we arrived. The room was very clean and the only slight downside was the shower was a bit low on pressure but that's being a bit picky - it was fine really! The staff were friendly and the hotel has a pub next door which served food even at 10pm. What really made this hotel good was when we stayed at a Travelodge in Exeter the following evening and found it to be much much poorer in comparison - and it cost more. I'd definitely recommend this hotel and will use it again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thanks for posting a lovely review about your stay here at Birmingham Great Barr.

we are really pleased that we exceeded all your expectations during your stay. I do apologise about the water pressure being low, occasionally the pressure drops when we are fully booked as everybody is using the showers but we will investigate this further. It's so lovely to hear that you found all the staff to be so friendly I will pass on your comments to all the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back here in near future.


Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Great Barr Hotel
#88 of 118 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#14 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#30 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel
Address: 222 Birmingham Road | Great Barr, Birmingham B43 7AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#11 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Premier Inn is conveniently positioned just a short distance from the M6. Ideally located just 8 miles from New Street train station. This Premier Inn is 18 miles away from Birmingham Airport. Our Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect - incredibly comfy beds in every room, free parking, WIFI (charges apply) and an onsite Harvester restaurant. Full Premier and Continental breakfasts (up to a maximum of 2 children, aged 15 and under, can eat breakfast free per adult purchasing a full breakfast) served within our hotel. A hearty evening meal, a light snack or a relaxing drink can be served at the Harvester restaurant.Please note: All our twin rooms consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. Important info Our twin rooms consist of 1x double and 1x single bed. Directions: From the M6, exit at junction 7 and take the A34 towards Walsall. The hotel is on the left in Birmingham Road behind the Beacon Harvester restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr / m6, j7) Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing