We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price and great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel
Ranked #19 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great price and great place”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Lovely hotel, alright the decor is a bit tired but really people, what do you want for approx. £50 a night.
Really lovely, welcoming, friendly staff and easy to find and park in the large car park.
Surprised too at the lack of noise considering how close to major roads it is.
Also, lovely touch that as we arrived mid heatwave there was a desk fan in our room and it was pleasantly cool, not what we had expected, we'd actually brought our own from home!
Used the next door Harvester and the staff there were just as friendly and nice.
If we find ourselves back in this neck of the woods we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iwannagoawaymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Hi there. Great review thank you. We are working on the decor gradually, but its all about the service at the moment and we appreciate you takng the time to tell everyone how much you enjoyed your stay. We will look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

The Team at Great BArr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    79
    24
    4
    4
See reviews for
127
90
15
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Burton On Trent
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Having read an iffy review, I was so pleased with this stay. Room clean and comfy. Staff all very helpful and professional. No noise even though just off main road. Cooked Breakfast was well cooked and hot, and there was a large selection of buffet items. The waitress very kindly took our order 1st as there was a large party in and she didn't want us to have to wait until their breakfasts were cooked (there was only 2 of us). Very considerate.Thanks Great Barr.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolBrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Hi there and thank you for your recent review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always try to make sure that we do everything we can to make sure every body leaves happy.
We certainly hope that you consider using Premier Inn again and we look forward to seeing you when you do.

Regards

The Team at Great Barr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in July whilst visiting family. We arrived friday evening, there was nobody on reception. After ringing the buzzer we waited for 10 minutes before someone came to deal with us. We were checked in quickly and went to our room. When we got to the room it wasn't ready. There was a double bed and a sofa for my wife and I and our two kids. I went back downstairs to tell reception where I had to wait another 10 minutes for the receptionist to come out. When I informed her of the problem I was told there was another mattress under the double bed and it should have all been made up for us. I told her we didn't even have bed sheets and to be fair she got us bed sheets straight away and offered complimentary breakfast for our inconvenience. I went back to the room which was nice and clean in the hope of getting a good nights sleep after a long drive but unfortunately our visit was during the heatwave and the rooms do not have air con just a little desk fan, with the thermometer in our room reading 29.5 degrees none of us slept particularly well . The next morning we all woke up feeling in need of a shower after a sweaty night but we only had one small towel between us. I got dressed and went back down to reception where the receptionist was really helpful, friendly and apologetic. Once showered we went down for breakfast only to be told it hadn't been booked. Eventually this problem was sorted but caused more unnecessary hassle. The breakfast itself was really good. Unfortunately the next morning we were again told our breakfast had not been booked and we would have to go and speak with reception. Upon going to reception we were told there was no problem so not entirely sure what the fuss was about as our breakfast had been booked. Upon checking out the lady on reception was really friendly and helpful. For me the friendly and helpful nature of some of the staff was a saving grace for this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Hi there and thank you for your recent review. It sounds like there was a breakdown in communication during your stay starting with your room not been correctly set up for you and your family, this would then result in there not being enough towels for you which should have been rectified when the extra beds were made up. I apologise for this inconvenience it shouldn't have happened as there are a number of things we do to ensure our guests have everything they need. With reference to the hot weather and as much as we deserve to have a great summer it does take its toll on us as a hotel, I would have hoped that you would have been offered sheets instead of duvets and cold drinks or ice lollies to try to keep you cool.
I certainly hope this hasnt put you off using our hotel in the future, on the rare occasion that we do get something wrong there is always someone available to help you which is something that we pride ourselves in.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
If you are not happy with your stay please do not hesitate to contact me on the email address below:
operationsmanager.birminghamgreatbarr@whitbread.com

Kind regards

Paul Ashton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I had read the reviews rating this as No 1 hotel Birmingham and must confess went looking why that was.....Plenty car parking space-hotel located quiet place..breakfast and staff excellent and seemed to go out their way to keep their first place
No complaints -good value for money but as,I was told it was an old Holiday inn Converted to a Premier I found the rooms a bit dated..
Anyone going to Alexander Stadium for athletics should book in here!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGDB-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Hi there and thank you for your recent review. We are very proud to get o the number one spot on Trip Advisor, and its down to the service that we provide and guests taking the time to leave us reviews to help us run our business.
We hope you continue to use our hotel when you visit Birmingham next time and your comments about the rooms have been noted, we will continue to try to improve them.

Regards

The Team at Great Barr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This hotel was very convenient for the British championship (athletics) this weekend. It was very easy to find and had good parking. The customer service was really excellent from all staff, Paul in particular was very helpful and helped me by looking up bus times the next morning. There was fresh orange juice and water available on the check in desk as it was such a hot day. There was an activity for little children to do in the foyer too.
We were swiftly dealt with, efficiently and politely. The breakfast was excellent and the same high level of customer service was continued throughout breakfast. Again, Paul was on top form and was just as helpful as the day before. I would recommend this hotel and will actively look to book with the Premier Inn again elsewhere in the country.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicky O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Hi there and thank you for such a great review, I remember your stay and really appreciate your comments. I know I have done a good job when I recieve them. I certainly hope you continue to us Premier Inn and I will look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Great service and very clean nice rooms
A receptionist called yemi was very helpfull as we requested quite rooms as we live in the country side, she sorted it all out before we arrived and was very friendly a credit to premier inn
Very clean rooms and nice breakfast in the morning
A great location with a good value harvester restaurant next door
All in all no complaints at all
Worth a visit and plenty of free parking

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Formando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Hi there and thank you for your recent review.
I have passed your comments on to the team and to Yemmi, they get a tremendous amount of satisfaction knowing that they have done a good job.
We certainly hope you continue to use Premier Inn and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

The Team at Great Barr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Excellent, clean, quiet and comfortable.
Some noise when the Harvester closed.
Very convenient for the Alexander Stadium.
Breakfast is a bit late at weekends but plenty to eat.
Hash Brownies are essential so it is good to have plenty of them.


  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NumberOneHammerCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
HI there, thank you for your recent review. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us during the athletics at Alexander Stadium and yes hash browns are essential but they have to be cripsy.
We look forward to seeeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Great Barr Hotel
#89 of 117 in Birmingham
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
2,982 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel
Address: 222 Birmingham Road | Great Barr, Birmingham B43 7AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Premier Inn is conveniently positioned just a short distance from the M6. Ideally located just 8 miles from New Street train station. This Premier Inn is 18 miles away from Birmingham Airport. Our Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect - incredibly comfy beds in every room, free parking, WIFI (charges apply) and an onsite Harvester restaurant. Full Premier and Continental breakfasts (up to a maximum of 2 children, aged 15 and under, can eat breakfast free per adult purchasing a full breakfast) served within our hotel. A hearty evening meal, a light snack or a relaxing drink can be served at the Harvester restaurant.Please note: All our twin rooms consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. Important info Our twin rooms consist of 1x double and 1x single bed. Directions: From the M6, exit at junction 7 and take the A34 towards Walsall. The hotel is on the left in Birmingham Road behind the Beacon Harvester restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr / m6, j7) Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing