We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel
Ranked #21 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We used this hotel as a stop off on the way to Devon. Really easy to find from the M6 and not too far off the route either. The room was comfortable and had enough space for the 4 of us. However, it was just far too warm in the room even with the fan on. These rooms really need some kind of air-con. The shower/toilet was clean and had everything we needed for the night. Breakfast was fab. There's a harvester next door which is handy for a meal if needed, but there are also a couple of takeaways nearby too that sell indian food or chippy food.

I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Des H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Hi there and thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do sympathise with you with regards to the heat in some of the rooms. We do everything we can to make our guests as comfortable as possible during the warmer months but sometimes we are just fighting a losing battle. However I do hope that the service that you recieved made up for it in some way.
We certainly hope that you consider using Premier Inn again, and we look forward to seeing you at Great Barr in the future.

All the best from the team and myself

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

We travelled to Birmingham for a wedding and stayed at this hotel and we were very glad we did. The room we had was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The staff were all very welcoming and helpful, especially Yemi who went out of her way her way to make sure everything was perfect. The cooked breakfast was excellent. Freshly cooked to order, hot and delicious and there were cereals, pastries and fresh fruits to choose from as well and you can eat as much as you like! As for value for money this hotel would be hard to beat. Well done Paul and your team. We enjoyed our stay with you and if we are in Birmingham again we would have no hesitation in booking our accommodation at your hotel. Thanks! The Basmati Indian restaurant next door to the hotel is also well worth a visit.Delicious food and very good service.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the car park and didn't hear a sound from the...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue231150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Hi guys, thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a great review. It was a pleasure meeting you and your family, we enjoyed having you as our guests.
We hope that the rest of the wedding celebrations went well and that we were able to contribute in some way towards you all having a great few days.
We hope to see you again in the future.

All the best, from the Team at Great Barr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Lovely hotel, alright the decor is a bit tired but really people, what do you want for approx. £50 a night.
Really lovely, welcoming, friendly staff and easy to find and park in the large car park.
Surprised too at the lack of noise considering how close to major roads it is.
Also, lovely touch that as we arrived mid heatwave there was a desk fan in our room and it was pleasantly cool, not what we had expected, we'd actually brought our own from home!
Used the next door Harvester and the staff there were just as friendly and nice.
If we find ourselves back in this neck of the woods we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iwannagoawaymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Hi there. Great review thank you. We are working on the decor gradually, but its all about the service at the moment and we appreciate you takng the time to tell everyone how much you enjoyed your stay. We will look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

The Team at Great BArr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Having read an iffy review, I was so pleased with this stay. Room clean and comfy. Staff all very helpful and professional. No noise even though just off main road. Cooked Breakfast was well cooked and hot, and there was a large selection of buffet items. The waitress very kindly took our order 1st as there was a large party in and she didn't want us to have to wait until their breakfasts were cooked (there was only 2 of us). Very considerate.Thanks Great Barr.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolBrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Hi there and thank you for your recent review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always try to make sure that we do everything we can to make sure every body leaves happy.
We certainly hope that you consider using Premier Inn again and we look forward to seeing you when you do.

Regards

The Team at Great Barr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in July whilst visiting family. We arrived friday evening, there was nobody on reception. After ringing the buzzer we waited for 10 minutes before someone came to deal with us. We were checked in quickly and went to our room. When we got to the room it wasn't ready. There was a double bed and a sofa for my wife and I and our two kids. I went back downstairs to tell reception where I had to wait another 10 minutes for the receptionist to come out. When I informed her of the problem I was told there was another mattress under the double bed and it should have all been made up for us. I told her we didn't even have bed sheets and to be fair she got us bed sheets straight away and offered complimentary breakfast for our inconvenience. I went back to the room which was nice and clean in the hope of getting a good nights sleep after a long drive but unfortunately our visit was during the heatwave and the rooms do not have air con just a little desk fan, with the thermometer in our room reading 29.5 degrees none of us slept particularly well . The next morning we all woke up feeling in need of a shower after a sweaty night but we only had one small towel between us. I got dressed and went back down to reception where the receptionist was really helpful, friendly and apologetic. Once showered we went down for breakfast only to be told it hadn't been booked. Eventually this problem was sorted but caused more unnecessary hassle. The breakfast itself was really good. Unfortunately the next morning we were again told our breakfast had not been booked and we would have to go and speak with reception. Upon going to reception we were told there was no problem so not entirely sure what the fuss was about as our breakfast had been booked. Upon checking out the lady on reception was really friendly and helpful. For me the friendly and helpful nature of some of the staff was a saving grace for this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Hi there and thank you for your recent review. It sounds like there was a breakdown in communication during your stay starting with your room not been correctly set up for you and your family, this would then result in there not being enough towels for you which should have been rectified when the extra beds were made up. I apologise for this inconvenience it shouldn't have happened as there are a number of things we do to ensure our guests have everything they need. With reference to the hot weather and as much as we deserve to have a great summer it does take its toll on us as a hotel, I would have hoped that you would have been offered sheets instead of duvets and cold drinks or ice lollies to try to keep you cool.
I certainly hope this hasnt put you off using our hotel in the future, on the rare occasion that we do get something wrong there is always someone available to help you which is something that we pride ourselves in.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
If you are not happy with your stay please do not hesitate to contact me on the email address below:
operationsmanager.birminghamgreatbarr@whitbread.com

Kind regards

Paul Ashton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I had read the reviews rating this as No 1 hotel Birmingham and must confess went looking why that was.....Plenty car parking space-hotel located quiet place..breakfast and staff excellent and seemed to go out their way to keep their first place
No complaints -good value for money but as,I was told it was an old Holiday inn Converted to a Premier I found the rooms a bit dated..
Anyone going to Alexander Stadium for athletics should book in here!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DGDB-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Hi there and thank you for your recent review. We are very proud to get o the number one spot on Trip Advisor, and its down to the service that we provide and guests taking the time to leave us reviews to help us run our business.
We hope you continue to use our hotel when you visit Birmingham next time and your comments about the rooms have been noted, we will continue to try to improve them.

Regards

The Team at Great Barr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This hotel was very convenient for the British championship (athletics) this weekend. It was very easy to find and had good parking. The customer service was really excellent from all staff, Paul in particular was very helpful and helped me by looking up bus times the next morning. There was fresh orange juice and water available on the check in desk as it was such a hot day. There was an activity for little children to do in the foyer too.
We were swiftly dealt with, efficiently and politely. The breakfast was excellent and the same high level of customer service was continued throughout breakfast. Again, Paul was on top form and was just as helpful as the day before. I would recommend this hotel and will actively look to book with the Premier Inn again elsewhere in the country.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicky O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Hi there and thank you for such a great review, I remember your stay and really appreciate your comments. I know I have done a good job when I recieve them. I certainly hope you continue to us Premier Inn and I will look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Great Barr Hotel
#86 of 118 in Birmingham
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
2,479 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
942 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel

Address: 222 Birmingham Road | Great Barr, Birmingham B43 7AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#11 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £47 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Premier Inn is conveniently positioned just a short distance from the M6. Ideally located just 8 miles from New Street train station. This Premier Inn is 18 miles away from Birmingham Airport. Our Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect - incredibly comfy beds in every room, free parking, WIFI (charges apply) and an onsite Harvester restaurant. Full Premier and Continental breakfasts (up to a maximum of 2 children, aged 15 and under, can eat breakfast free per adult purchasing a full breakfast) served within our hotel. A hearty evening meal, a light snack or a relaxing drink can be served at the Harvester restaurant.Please note: All our twin rooms consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. Important info Our twin rooms consist of 1x double and 1x single bed. Directions: From the M6, exit at junction 7 and take the A34 towards Walsall. The hotel is on the left in Birmingham Road behind the Beacon Harvester restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr / m6, j7) Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing