We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel
Ranked #16 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed at the hotel for the weekend excellent staff very helpful. Breakfast was excellent cooked to order. Would recommend hotel. Easy to get to. plenty amenities about. Harvest next door if need for evening meal, would recommend booking a table there as it gets busy. Staff happy to do this for you at hotel.

Room Tip: if you need joining rooms please ask as they are available. Family rooms are separate to double room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valerie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanna M, General Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hi Valery C,

Thank you so much for taking the time out to leave such a positive review for Great Barr Premier Inn. We are extreamley pleased that you and your family enjoyed your weekend here with us. Making our guests feel welcome and comfortable is what we thrive on at Great Barr.
We are pleased that the local amenities where suitable for your stay. We are happy you to hear you enjoyed your breakfast as we provide our breakfast to a high standard.
We will pass the positive comments onto our chef and the other team members. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future,
Kind Regards
All the team at Great Barr Premier Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    75
    23
    4
    4
See reviews for
125
83
13
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Excellent stay, staff are amazing the breakfast was very nice. I've stayed at this hotel before and as usual I am very satisfied. Would definitely recommend this hotel only down fall is having to go next door to a harvester for dinner.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chevy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanna M, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Hi Chevy5,

Many thanks for taking the time out to leave your excellent comment. We are delighted that you have been pleased with our hotel and our staff met your expectations. Making our guests feel welcome and comfortable is what we thrive on here at Great Barr Premier Inn. I will pass the positive feedback on to the team.
Fantastic to hear you enjoyed your Premier breakfast too. Unfortunately being a small site the Harvester is our only way of dining our guests.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
All the team at Premier Inn Great Barr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Really good value for money was great to see the manager working in breakfast and leading her team. They were all very helpful including the young chef. Only thing I would say is on 1 of my nights the restaurant next door was closed for food. May I add it's separate to the hotel. Would recommend this hotel for short stay

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirlen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanna M, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Hi Sherlin12,
Thank you for taking the time out to leave your positive comment. We are extreamley pleased you got a great value for your money here with us at Premier Inn and got to meet some of our fantastic members of staff.
So sorry to hear you was disapointed that the restuarant next door was not serving food on your stay, However the reception team are always happy to advise you on local restuarants and places to eat for the future.
I will pass on your excellent review on to the team.
Many thanks again and we look forward to your return.
Kind Regards
The staff at Great Barr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cunbria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

It was an excellent way to break our long journey to Hampshire. the room as always was lovely with everything needed to help us enjoy our stay. The staff were very helpful and i would recommend Premier Ins all the way


  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hayes_chris4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanna M, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Hi hayes_chris4 it means alot to us at premier inn that you take the time to give feedback. We are extremely happy you enjoyed your stay with us and i will pass all feedback onto the staff. Hope to see you again soon!
The staff at Great Barr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

My family and I decided after spending Christmas with family in London that we would leave London a day early because of the bad weather conditions and book into the premier inn great bar Birmingham for the night before catching the ferry to Ireland the next day we booked a family room two adults to children we got there about 9 PM when we got there the family room was horrible The beds were not made up! there were no towels in the shower or shower gel .the beds were a sofa bed and a slide out bed we never got a good nights sleep ! As for the vending machine in the lobby it took the only £10 we had on us never give us change never give us any items when my wife complains about this she was told she would have to wait until morning to speak to the manager when the manager came in she informed us that we will have to wait until Friday to receive a £10 back as we were goin home that day there was no way we could do that breakfast was very expensive 9 pounds for breakfast £5.50 for a bowl of cereal I will never stay in a Premier Inn again you have been warned

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fward63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and for this reason your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. Please email your booking details to talktous@premierinn.com so we can investigate further. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Travelled from Cornwall ,to visit family stayed Boxing day until 29th Dec 2ad 2chd ,warm welcome by Shanna and all staff , room clean , tv , tea and coffee in room , bathroom with shower only (read the website ) we had breakfast every morning ,plenty to choose from and cooked fresh , the chef will cook what you want , plenty of parking , pub and shops near by great location for the money we paid 10/10 would recommend

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jakmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanna M, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Hi Jackmix,

Thank you for taking your time out to leave positive feedback for our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and everything went well for you.

I am pleased to hear that all local amenities where to your standard and you enjoyed our Premier breakfast.

I will pass the positive feedback onto our staff and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
All the best for the new year.
Kind Regards
All the staff from Great Barr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Arrived to the most amazing welcome from two lovely smiley young ladies on reception. Made us smile and do their job brilliantly. Great room, spotlessly clean, warm and so quiet. amenities great. Breakfast a little steep but maybe £5 for full cooked would have been more tempting. My choice though as I knew I advance.
Don't change a thing.
Wifi great but free would be good.

Room Tip: All of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mepbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanna M, Reception at Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Hi mepbrum,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for our hotel, we appreciate all the feedback that we recieve. Im glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and pride ourself on the service that we give to our guests!

I do understand that breakfast can seem a little steep but we try to keep our prices as competive and low as possible in order to provide the best breakfast we can at the highest standard.

I do hope we see you again!

Kind Regards,
From the Great Barr Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Great Barr Hotel
#86 of 117 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#34 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel
Address: 222 Birmingham Road | Great Barr, Birmingham B43 7AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#8 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Premier Inn is conveniently positioned just a short distance from the M6. Ideally located just 8 miles from New Street train station. This Premier Inn is 18 miles away from Birmingham Airport. Our Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Premier Inn has everything you'd expect - incredibly comfy beds in every room, free parking, WIFI (charges apply) and an onsite Harvester restaurant. Full Premier and Continental breakfasts (up to a maximum of 2 children, aged 15 and under, can eat breakfast free per adult purchasing a full breakfast) served within our hotel. A hearty evening meal, a light snack or a relaxing drink can be served at the Harvester restaurant.Please note: All our twin rooms consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. Important info Our twin rooms consist of 1x double and 1x single bed. Directions: From the M6, exit at junction 7 and take the A34 towards Walsall. The hotel is on the left in Birmingham Road behind the Beacon Harvester restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr/M6 J7) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham (Great Barr / m6, j7) Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing