We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Unique”

The Sentinal (Spitfire Island)
Ranked #99 of 284 things to do in Birmingham
Attraction details
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Truly Unique”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I love this. I think it's a modern, tasteful tribute to the people who created and manufactured the spitfire. I think it's the best island in the country.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MyHeartBelongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nether Whitacre, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
536 reviews
279 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Spitfires”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

It's actually nice to see sculptures on islands. Better then some boring island with overgrown grass on it.

This island is a very very busy junction though and i doubt many drivers actually get to take much note of the sculpture which is a shame.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank pandamedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
178 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Splendid Memorial”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

To my mind one of the best modernist memorials I've seen and which marks a historical location that manufactured one of the most important aircraft ever built, and by virtue of its simplicity its meaning and beauty is plainly obvious, even if you are just driving by it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A statue on a roundabout”
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

This attraction is just a statue on a very busy roundabout. It symbolises the spitfire that was built here during wartime. Not worth a special trip, but nice if passing.

Helpful?
1 Thank britishbobby23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“what its for”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

its where they built spitfires in the war at castle vale its a commemorative art piece to remember all those who built and flew the legendary aircraft that helped save Britain in its darkest hour i drive passed it regular its not a day out more of a passing pleasure there are other islands with real aircraft on not random but commemorate some local history like grove in Wiltshire.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sentinal (Spitfire Island) also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to The Sentinal (Spitfire Island)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing