We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff very friendly and helpful”

Birmingham Hippodrome
Ranked #3 of 283 things to do in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Birmingham Hippodrome is an independent, not-for-profit, registered charity. The unsubsidised Hurst Street based venue averages over 500,000 visits annually making it the most popular single auditorium in the UK. With no public revenue funding, it is home to Birmingham Royal Ballet and DanceXchange, presents all of Welsh National Opera's repertoire, welcomes the best in international dance, West End and Broadway musicals and is home to the world's biggest Pantomime. Birmingham Hippodrome is currently expanding its Creative Programme building on its successful work in schools and in the community, and with free outdoor performances. With partners including Arts Council England, Birmingham City Council and private funders, the Hippodrome has recently enjoyed co-producing and producing new events including Six Summer Saturdays, International Dance Festival Birmingham, The Voyage (for the London 2012 Festival) and Summer in Southside.
westmidlands
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Staff very friendly and helpful”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

one of many trips to the Hippodrome this time to see the Lion king we will of course visit again whenever a show that appeals is being shown

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jylittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,821
    503
    83
    33
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hippodrome”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I have grown up watching shows at this theatre (most recently: The Phantom of The Opera). I love this theatre!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank alexl437_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfort with great view”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Only been to the Hippodrome once but it was a very enjoyable experience. The theatre is modern with comfortable seating and no restricted view because the seats were tiered. The sound system was top notch. The performance was "Blood Brothers" which was again excellent, even though some of the parts were played by under study actors. Found the Coffee Room across the street a very nice place to have lunch before we went to the Hippodrome.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BhamHipp, Public Relations Manager at Birmingham Hippodrome, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thanks for your review Anne, hope to see you back with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Never disappoints!”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I travel here from Manchester for concerts/ballet/opera and always leave 100% satisfied. My one and only gripe was that I once booked a front row seat in the circle and because I am quite petite, ended up with my bag behind my back so that I could see over the safety rail. Inside the venue are places from which you can buy snacks/drinks/meals but at the intervals, I go out to local shops to get ice creams/drinks simply because they are cheaper!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lavasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BhamHipp, Public Relations Manager at Birmingham Hippodrome, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.

We have noted your comments about row A in the Dress Circle and will make sure box office are aware to advise customers of a possible restriction if they are short.

Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful performance, great setting”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

It's easy to forgot what wonderful things you have on your doorstep as a city dweller but Birmingham Royal Ballet is most definitely not one to forget. A wonderful performance of Copellia, beautiful principle dancers and company. Highly recommend any of their productions.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TiggerHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BhamHipp, Public Relations Manager at Birmingham Hippodrome, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we are very proud to be the home of Birmingham Royal Ballet and it's great to hear you are too!

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Birmingham Hippodrome also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Birmingham Hippodrome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing