We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treasure trove”
Review of The Pen Museum

The Pen Museum
Ranked #15 of 283 things to do in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Immerse yourself in the exciting world of pens and calligraphy and explore our amazing collection of over 5,000 objects.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A treasure trove”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

A fascinating historic collection of Birmingham's writing instruments from its rich manufacturing past. There is so much to see I'm returning this week. The volunteers have an in depth knowledge of the displays and made the visit all the more interesting. There is also a collection of typewriters and a shop. Well worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank fishpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    146
    27
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

I had low expectations of this place, but went as I was in the area.
I was very pleasantly surprised - a lovely little museum full of interesting pieces that tell the story of one of an industry that was once thriving in Birmingham.
The place is run by volunteers who are very knowledgeable and will happily give you as much or as little information as you wish.
The lady who spoke to us was very friendly and gave us a full demonstration, allowing us to keep the finished nibs.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SG0788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Who knew we ruled the world of pens”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

What a gem of a museum - not worthy just interesting - I didn't know there was so much history relating to the humble pen - a real social story & fascinating displays

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank moorhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Fascinating!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We love this little gem. The first part of the establishment is interesting enough, showing the evolution of nibs and ink, but the display further in is intriguing and well worth a visit. It's just a pity their gift shop isn't bigger!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

visited here on a Saturday afternoon and spent a very happy and interesting hour and a half.
Staff instantly welcomed us and engaged us in the exhibits. Had a go at five of the processes involved in nib making and was allowed to keep what I had made. Also had the opportunity to try out various styles of nibbed pens and practice writing styles. Finally I was allowed to punch out my name in Braille using one of the museum exhibits. There was also an interesting section on enamel badge making and a display of flat irons. The volunteer staff looked after us really well and really knew their stuff. Although there was a lot of visitors they managed to get round everyone.Great afternoon out!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DianeH762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pen Museum also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to The Pen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing