We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute sick hotel and bar :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
pentahotel Birmingham
Ranked #14 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed here for a recent night out in Birmingham City Center. Had recently stayed here when this hotel was called the Ramada Encore. The entrance area is abit confusing, at first I thought I had walked into a bar! I had to ask the barman if I was at the right place to which he responded "yes". The check-in is done at the bar area. The bar area itself is very trendy and conformable. The rooms are very clean and spacious. This is hotel is perfectly located very close to the city center, car parking is £12 a night unless you can manage to find street parking. Will defo stay here again, good work Penta Hotel

Room Tip: shop around for the cheapest room rates - sometimes if you book direct with Penta hotels they offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanburyave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thanks for such a positve review!

I will be sure to share this with the team here at penta!
Best regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,581 - 2,587 of 2,662 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

I have stayed here regularly since the change to a pentahotel. Reception area and lounge is lovely and the morning buffet is excellent. Rooms are well kept and although lacking an iron and ironing board, the staff are more than happy to bring one up to the room. My only negative comments are that the wifi prices are extortionate and they could do with a speedy checkout process (i.e. a drop off box for room keys when no extra charges have been made) as the reception area can become quite busy in the mornings with check outs. Staff always seem pleasant.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick789123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Hi Nick,

Thanks for the review following your business trip to Birmingham.

I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. I will certainly work on the express check out facility for you and hopefully you will see this in full when you return.

Best regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Fell on my feet with this hotel, although checking in at the bar is a little strange the rooms were very clean neat and tidy with a very modern feel. The staff where very friendly and helpful. After returning to the hotel after a meal out I spent the rest of the evening in the first floor lounge chilling out and playing a little pool. The décor is very modern and the drinks are very reasonable price.
Breakfast in the morning was also in the lounge. Buffet was excellent with a wide selection of cold and hot food.

I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surfboy_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Surfboy,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of penta Birmingham.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay & look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed here when it was called Ramada Encore, due to the location of it being near the O2 academy, the room was very spacious and nice and clean, we found the staff was very friendly and helpful, will be staying here again when we return to see a band in April.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladybear66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Hi Ladybear,

Thanks for your great review, I am sure when you visit us in April you will be even more impressed with the works that have been completed within the hotel.

Best regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

The two of us stayed at the Pentahotel Birmingham as a spontaneous trip away and got a really good deal on the price. We were a little apprehensive based on previous reviews, but from the moment we arrived the atmosphere was super friendly and helpful, the lounge area was trendy, warm and relaxing. The female member of staff serving our drinks and evening dinner couldn't do enough to help and make us feel comfortable. The parking facilities were also great as the car was safely locked away underneath the hotel. All in all we would stay again without a doubt!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Clare_Pasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Clare,

Thank you for such a positive review of your stay with us & in particular, for your comments about the team here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to penta soon,
Very best regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Looking at the photos and write up we thought this may be a luxury hotel - we were wrong. This hotel is just a better version of the ibis. The girl at reception was really friendly but it was weird checking in at the bar. The good points - free movies, hot shower, good view on the 6th floor, a window that opens and the room was nice and clean. Negatives - check in area, uncomfortable bed, design of the bathroom, parking facilities. We paid £39.95 which is a decent price but not sure we will stay again

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank samndave08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Hi SamnDave,

Thanks for your review of the pentahotel Birmingham, I am sorry that you found it disappointing.

I would have loved to have discussed your feedback during your stay as I maybe could have resolved some of the issues you experienced.

I hope that may consider returning to us and I will personally ensure that you recieve a more positive experience.

Very Best regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Okay so I use this hotel for part of my work so I got a free room here whilst visiting family before xmas.

Whilst I stayed it was still the Ramanda Encore but it was having its refurb so the hotel was slightly different.

The hotel is really close to new street station and the bullring. Can be a bit of a job to find as there are so many exist out of new street station so try and get the right one. The hotel is on the other side of a busy road but you can use the underground subway to cross safely.

The hotel itself is right next to a petrol station and 3mins walk from the mailbox. This place is lovely fully of restaurants and bars and a couple of shops etc.

The hotel is good and perfect for what it offers, its somewhere between a premier inn and a luxury hotel, similar to a jury’s inn or holiday inn.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golbeyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Hi Golbeyj,
Thanks for taking the time to post a review!

I am glad that you enjoyed your experience & hope that we will see you again soon.

Very best regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
983 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,256 reviews
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
2,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,215 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Birmingham

Address: Holloway Head Ernest Street, Birmingham B1 1NS, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Birmingham City)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#8 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#10 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £52 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're less than a mile from the city centre, but a million miles away from the usual. Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, welcome to the pentahotel Birmingham. Just the tonic for the weary traveller, or the visitor who's rearing to go. Perfectly positioned to jump-start your visit to England's Second City. In fact pentahotel is much like Birmingham itself: relaxed, confident in its unique personality and right in the middle of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your pentahotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Birmingham City Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing