We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
pentahotel Birmingham
Ranked #14 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Good location as close to all main sites in bham. Food good.
Rooms average bed was really hard and lots of noise so didnt get any sleep. We had a walk in shower that flooded the bathroom not happy about that.
Would not be staying there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Traveller,
Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences of penta Birmingham.

I am sorry that we didn't surpass your expectations, we will have new mattresses installed at the hotel imminently and I am sure that if you would give us another try, you would have a more favourable experience.

Best regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,532 - 2,538 of 2,662 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here for the first time and have to say , i was impressed. The reception has a nice atmosphere - its a bar as well as a reception. The whole space is very relaxed with chilled music and nice decor. The hotel is very smart, and upstairs you find another great relaxed space to have a drink. The ONLY down side to this hotel is that the rooms are a little basic, and lacking storage. If the rooms were decorated in the same style as the reception and public areas, this will be a top notch hotel. breakfast was really good with free champange which ive never had before. Location is also very good for most places within the city centre. Would recommend this hotel, and if the rooms are improved then i would have rated 5 stars.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ad223399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thanks for the review of penta Birmingham - I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We are just finalising the scheme for our bedroom refurbishment this week and hope to be able to confirm that we will be replicating the penta theme throughout the hotel before too long!

Hopefully you will get to see this on your next stay with us!
Very best regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed at the pentahotel Birmingham for two nights as part of a hen party, we were very impressed, the hotel was very clean, the bar was stylish and the food was fantastic ! We paid 37.50 per night and decided to book breakfast as an extra on the last morning for 9.95, the breakfast was amazing, lots of choice !we were pretty enoyed that we had gone elsewhere for breakfast the previous day when the hotel was so good ! We did have to ask for extra pillows as we were only provided with one per bed but it was no problem for the staff

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicky1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Hi Chicky,

Thanks for the great review!

We all agree that its an exciting time for us here at penta and that we are offering something unique.

Hopefully we will see you back again soon!
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Booked the hotel on Hotwire it was not exactly where I thought it would be, however I was pleasantly surprised by the very helpful staff at the venue. The reception was not very evident!! it was behind the bar, no problem with this for me but I observed some lost people who were trying to book in at night 10 pm when there were a lot of people at the bar. The guy who served us well into the night (3) was very helpful and provided some nibbles without being asked I think his name was Usman or something like that IT WAS LATE !! I would recommend it and will go back and see how the new owners are doing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Hi Nick,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed yourself and really appreciate that you have mentioned Usman in person - I will be sure to thank him for the great service he gave.

I look forward to seeing you back at penta again soon.

Very best regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights midweek :) It is very well located - just 10-15 mins walk from Birmingham New Street Train Station, Bullring, The Mailbox and Canal Walks.
We were given a twin room originally, but after phoning down - we were moved straight to a double without any issues.
We had a small problem on the 2nd day with the TV - but we managed to 'reset' it after 30 mins.
They did send up someone, but by this time we had solved the issue ourselves.
It is a very clean hotel, mid-market and has everything you need. Loved the large walk in shower and the funky bathroom toiletries :)
Only downer was having to pay for Wi-Fi ... most hotels I stay at now offer it FREE :)
It is modern, contemporary and minimalistic ... don't expect anything wizz bang ... but do expect a good nights sleep and a good location :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garfield70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Garfield,

Thank you for such a positive review of your stay with us at penta Birmingham.

Sorry that you experienced some technical issues during your stay with us, just in regards to the WiFi, it is free in the lounge areas and for the the first hour in the bedrooms.

After this, we offer an uncapped fibre connection offering speeds above 10mb which is chargeable with packages starting from £3.99.

I hope we will get to see you again soon in Birmingham
Best regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stop for one night on 18th March. I must say we were very disappointed. The room was very sparse. No drawers for clothing, no wardrobe just a pole fixed to the wall.
You would have to live out of your suitcase if staying for any length of time. The TV
did not work for most of the time, no signal. The self service area for breakfast was
very cramped. Booked through Secret Escapes as a luxury hotel, I don't think so

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart0645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thanks for your feedback following your stay with us - I am sorry that penta did not live up to your expectations.

I understand your comments in regards to wardrobe space within the room but feel a little aggrieved that you would raise this given that you were only with us for one night?

Had you have raised any of the issues with us whilst you were here, we certainly could have fixed them for you at the time of your stay.

Best regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My partner and I stayed here last night for one night and it was such a lovely hotel. The staff we so friendly on arrival and throughout our stay.
The interior is amazing, the bar area and lounge upstairs is so quirky and unique. We went to a gig at the o2 round the corner and stayed in the hotel bar after for drinks.
The bedrooms are cosy but have everything you need, clean too.
The breakfast was really good too.

We will defiantly stay here again :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgielimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Hi Gerogie,

It was great to have you with us at penta Birmingham last week & we look forward to seeing you back here again soon!

Very best regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
983 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,256 reviews
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
2,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,215 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Birmingham

Address: Holloway Head Ernest Street, Birmingham B1 1NS, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Birmingham City)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#8 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#10 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £52 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're less than a mile from the city centre, but a million miles away from the usual. Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, welcome to the pentahotel Birmingham. Just the tonic for the weary traveller, or the visitor who's rearing to go. Perfectly positioned to jump-start your visit to England's Second City. In fact pentahotel is much like Birmingham itself: relaxed, confident in its unique personality and right in the middle of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your pentahotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Birmingham City Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing