We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
pentahotel Birmingham
Ranked #14 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

What a great location. The public areas are really nice the rooms are clean but basic. Breakfast is amazing.

Only 5 minutes walk to the Bullring, the Chinese Centre, Theatreland and New Street Railway Station.

For all you party animals only 10 minutes to Broad Street.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Hi Robert,

Thanks for the great feedback following your stay with us!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,523)
There are newer reviews for pentahotel Birmingham
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,382 - 2,388 of 2,523 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located about a 10min walk from the Bullring shopping centre.

12 parking spaces under the hotel for £12 per 24 hours which is good. Plenty if other parking close by.

Now, other reviewers have complained about the reception desk being part of the bar. What's the problem with this?! There isn't one. The decor of the hotel is unique, quirky, welcoming and the staff are simply fantastic.

Rooms are comfortable, clean, yeah probably due an upgrade, and the staff did tell me this was getting done shortly. Don't let this put you off though.

As other people have said, breakfast has to be seen to be believed. Amazing choices.

All I can say is this is my new hotel of choice when in the area.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Darryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Hi Darryl,

Thanks so much for the kind words following your stay with us in Birmingham.

We also love the fact that you check in at the bar area - it means that you can get anything you want during the check in or check out process!

We look forward to seeing you again here at penta!

Very best regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here for a Saturday night out on the town. Very close to the bull ring and about 5 mins walk to the mailbox. This hotel was perfect for our stay. The staff where very helpful and nothing seemed to much for them. All the staff took time to say hello and some had a laugh and a joke with us. The hotel looks very slick and this hotel is a must have for our stays in Birmingham from now on. Thank you for a very nice experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Hi Mark,

Thanks for the great review of your stay wiyh us in Birmingham.

Hopefully we will see you regulary now & we very much look forward to meeting you!

Best regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed with friends so we could see a show at the NIA and do some shopping. There are some great features with this hotel but also some not-so-great features. Close to Bullring and Train Station but still a good walk to good restaurants and bars (over looking a couple of massage lounges). Taxi ride to Brindley Place. The bar, lounge and restaurant are gorgeous, very well designed. Breakfast was superb, fresh with a great selection including Prosecco. The rooms are disappointing but probably reflect the price. Clean and modern but the beds are old and uncomfortable and only a double so I wouldn't stay with my husband. If you staying alone on business and happy to stay in the hotel bar then this would be good value

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrJElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thanks for the review of your stay with us last weekend.

I am sorry that we didnt quite manage to get everything perfect for you. As mentioned to other members, we are very close to starting work on our bedrooms which will include signature penta beds.

Hopefully this will be enough for you to consider returning with your husband or friends again!
Very best regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Clean, cheap, friendly staff and close to Birmingham city center. The breakfast was brilliant, the atmosphere was great inside the hotel bar areas, lovely vibe to chill out and play free pool in. Only downside was the bed was a little hard and the noise from other rooms came through the walls, but nothing too loud. Great place to stay for younger couples, on a big weekender in Birmingham.

Room Tip: Book the £4 upgrade to get the breakfast - had everything from bacon to brioche, pancakes and pains...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomUK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Hi Tom,

Thanks for the great review!

We hope to see you again at penta Birmingham soon!

Very best regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here last Saturday night was pleasantly surprised after my wife told me what she had paid.
Nice central location, handy for Brinklow Place and Hippodrome Theatre. The room had what you needed, comfortable bed, nice shower & clean. The worst thing was the bottom of the door in the bathroom was showing bad signs of wear from water and the "wooden floor" had a few chips out of it. At the price we had paid I did not expect breakfast and when we realised in included breakfast I thought it would be a continental at best. It was as good as any I have had in any Hotel. The choice was complete from Muffins to Smoked Salmon. I would call this a good honest place with a brilliant breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scnozzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Hi Scnozzer,

Thanks for the great review of penta Birmingham.

We agree, our breakfast is pretty special & is something we will continually try to improve.

We are now very close to agreeing a date for improvement works in the bedroom areas which we are sure will bring the rest of hotel up to the same standard as the penta lounge area.

Hopefully you will visit us again and see this at first hand!

Very best regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The hotel is in an ideal place- around 7 minutes to walk to the city centre. The hotel does not have the best scenery, next to a car wash and there are lots of derelict buildings in the area. The reception area is slightly odd. We thought we were entering the bar but it was actually the reception area. The staff took a while to check us in even though there were no queues. The room we stayed in was modern. The bed was a little on the small side and they only gave us two pillows. The breakfast was nice also. It was slightly odd not to have free wifi in the rooms and the rates were something like free for the first hour, £3.99 for the next hour and £9.99 for 24 hours. On the contrary there are complimentary movies you can watch. We payed around £60pp including breakfast and it was worth it for what we got.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the city centre.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Letishabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us & hope that you will be back again soon!

Very best regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
943 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,481 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
3,934 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Birmingham

Address: Holloway Head Ernest Street, Birmingham B1 1NS, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Birmingham City)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#8 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#10 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £59 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're less than a mile from the city centre, but a million miles away from the usual. Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, welcome to the pentahotel Birmingham. Just the tonic for the weary traveller, or the visitor who's rearing to go. Perfectly positioned to jump-start your visit to England's Second City. In fact pentahotel is much like Birmingham itself: relaxed, confident in its unique personality and right in the middle of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your pentahotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Birmingham City Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing