We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely SUPERB”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
pentahotel Birmingham
Ranked #14 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We were looking for a hotel in the centre of Birmingham, and it was the quirky photos and excellent reviews that encouraged to choose the Penta. How right they were. What a wonderful hotel. Everything was superb - initially the outstanding decor, then the warm welcome on check-in, the view from our room on the 7th floor, the same quirky and unusual yet magnificent interior design of the first floor, and as for the standard of breakfast provided the next morning - I have never ever seen a breakfast like it. The presentation was perfect - there was every different item you could think of; in addition to the usual drinks and hot choices usually found on a breakfast buffet, there was every type of fruit, sliced, diced or segmented, every type of bread and pastry product - each beautifully named accordingly, many different fruit juices including bottles of water laid in ice - and specially for those with a sweet tooth there were hot pancakes with maple syrup. I may not have remembered every item but suffice to say I was amazed. Not only by the very high standard of presentation but because of the careful way it was set up, it was nicely tucked away into quite a small alcove. I should also add that the 2 breakfast girls kept on top of the service, quietly ensuring that everything was always kept to a high standard. If I had to find a grumble about this exciting and vibrant hotel it was that the bottom of our bathroom door needed a touch up of paint - but during one of our chats with the lovely staff we learnt that the bedrooms were being refurbed within the next few weeks - So we can't wait to return to see how on earth they can be improved!! Thank you so much for a superb weekend spent in a hotel with a difference.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Sue,

Thank you for such an amazing review of your stay with us.

I will be sure to share this with the team who looked after breakfast over the weekend as this is exactly the type of feedback we are aiming to achieve.

Hopefully we will see you back at penta again soon.
Very best regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,508 - 2,514 of 2,662 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

I booked a twin room to stay a Saturday night with a friend for her birthday. As we would be going out we just needed a reasonably priced base, walkable to Broad Street and breakfast available. For the price paid (£40) I wasn't expecting anything better than Travelodge/Premier Inn standard but I was pleasantly surprised.

The rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable. If they are doing a room refurb I would suggest better quilts/pillows but when you are literally just using it as a base to rest your head, it's fine. The bathroom included funky toiletries as well. We were missing some towels but a call to reception had these delivered very promptly.

The big surprise was the bar/lounge on level 1. This is great when you are staying in a group and need a place to meet up before heading out. The decor/ambience is chilled and modern. There's a free pool table (and on the ground floor as well). Waitress service for drinks is quick and friendly.

The breakfast is served in this area the next day and it was just what was needed after a late night (early morning!) out. Hot buffet that was refilled right up to the end of service, cold continental meat/cheese selection, pastries, yoghurts, fruit, cereal etc. You literally couldn't want for anything and could even indulge in included fizz if you so wished.

Overall I would definitely book again for a friend's weekend away, as a base to stay and head out from. Fantastic value for the £40 and you can even late check out at 3pm for free if the room is not booked for the next night.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hac07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thanks for posting a review here on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us & hope you will be back again soon.

Very best regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Booked this on line based on the pictures and price. Usually stay somewhere posh but this looked good and what a surprise! The bar and first floor we incredibly well designed with a lovely atmosphere. It reminded me of the 3.14 in Cannes without the huge price. Big relaxing chairs, cool low level tables and even a free full size pool table. Play list was appropriate and the staff were excellent, from sign in to check out. The rooms are basic but I understand are being refurbished soon. The breakfast was included (all for £59) and was probably the best breakfast bar I have ever seen with every type of continental and British breakfast available. Safe parking underneath at a cost. All in all this was an amazing stay and one that I will repeat often. Well done Pentahotel you have got this right!

Room Tip: Room are being refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdaCFOle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay with us.

I am delighted that you had such a great stay & hope to see you here again soon.

Very best regards,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

My wife surprised me for my 40th and how pleasantly surprising it was. Fabulous hotel with stunning lounge bar area and great atmosphere. Breakfast was top class everything you could ask for was there. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Can't wait to visit again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Coupleinlove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thanks for such an amazing review of your stay with us.

We are so pleased that we helped maked your birthday memorable and we hope to see you back again soon.

Very best regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We booked the Pentahotel as a last minute stop over, the bedrooms are clean & tidy, the location is great for China town, the mail box & broad St. The breakfast is by far the best of any Birmingham hotel I have stopped at, including Mal Maison. To sum up,friendly staff, good food, clean rooms and great rates, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hi John,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us.

We may be biased but agree that our breakfast is amazing!

Hopefully we will see you back again soon.

Very best regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Can't believe the price of the room and what we got for our money. Modern, clean, great breakfast and such nice staff. I forgot most things and they seemed to have everything. Very handy close by car park-a bit expensive at 12.50 but having paid only 45.00 for the room it was still a deal.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Tor78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thanks for the great feedback on your stay with us!

I am glad that you enjoyed everything & we hope to see you back again soon!
Very best regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Yet to stay here but regularly frequent the bar and lounge area. Great atmosphere, whole range of cool little features (pool tables, PS4, pinball machine, all free!). Staff are really lovely, always make sure you are looked after with quite the personal touch. And the cocktails are something else - make sure that Mat sorts you out!! Legend.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Thom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hi Thom,

Thanks for the great review of the bar & lounge here at penta Birmingham & for the name check for Mat.

I will be sure to thank him on your behalf & hope to see you again soon!

Very best regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
983 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,256 reviews
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
2,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,215 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Birmingham

Address: Holloway Head Ernest Street, Birmingham B1 1NS, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Birmingham City)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#8 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#10 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £52 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're less than a mile from the city centre, but a million miles away from the usual. Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, welcome to the pentahotel Birmingham. Just the tonic for the weary traveller, or the visitor who's rearing to go. Perfectly positioned to jump-start your visit to England's Second City. In fact pentahotel is much like Birmingham itself: relaxed, confident in its unique personality and right in the middle of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your pentahotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Birmingham City Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing