We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent F&B, very friendly staff, below average rooms, poor location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of pentahotel Birmingham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
pentahotel Birmingham
Ranked #10 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
185 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Excellent F&B, very friendly staff, below average rooms, poor location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed there for a few night on a recent business trip. Efficient reception and check in. Meeting room with day light - much appreciated. Food - breakfast, breaks and lunch - very tasty and all freshly prepared and very creative (not the usual buffet meals that are the same all over the world). Bar with pool table on both floors - nice opportunity to play a round and have a beer at night given the area does not really offer anything unless one knows exactly where to go. The rooms are small but clean. The beds are terrible (hard, sheets to short) and need replacing. Bath rooms are very small but still functional. Staff was very friendly and always accommodating anything we had asked for.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RHW1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay with us in Birmingham.

It's great to see that you enjoyed your stay but I am sorry that you felt that the comfort of our bed & the area of the hotel let you down.

We have received positive feedback in regards to our bed's of late but we are planning to install our penta brand bed shortly which should please all travellers.

I am surprised that you felt the area was not suitable as we are located directly in the city centre of Birmingham - easily accessible to all of the major facilities & attractions.

Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,060
    797
    266
    91
    52
See reviews for
113
925
90
690
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Comfortable, clean rooms, hot walk in showers. Very close to city centre, 5 minute walk. Near to lots of Chinese restaurants. Good buffet breakfast. Friendly, helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again. Free films to watch.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolp86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Carol,

Thaks for the great review of your stay with us this week.

It is great to see that you enjoyed your experience with pentahotels & we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Staff were so pleasant and helpful, great decor, great location for city centre shopping. So many freebies - pool tables, play station, fitness suite, films in rooms, wi-fi, etc etc!! Relaxed atmosphere.
Lovely breakfast included in room rate with lots of fresh fruit, hot buffet, smoked salmon, cheeses etc.
Not a single problem. Stayed for 1 night with my 14 yr old daughter and we loved it!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CLMMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your very kind words following your stay at pentahotel Birmingham.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay & hopefully we will see you back again soon!

Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Love this hotel, changed recently from the Ramada encore to Pentahotel.
The hotel looks great, the room was very cosy & provide you with unlimited access to Films (approximately 16) to watch on a LG Flat screen. Breakfast was included in the price & the selection of food was great. A very welcoming & trendy hotel. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThierryGLUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hi Thierry,

Thank you for the fantastic review of your stay with us here at pentahotel Birmingham.

I am glad you noticed the free on demand movies - we have recently added these in to our bedrooms along with a host of on demand media, audio and even internet radio & Sky sports all for free!

We look forward to seeing you back again soon!
Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in December to visit Birmingham for a Christmas party. Very new modern look. Big rooms with everything you need. The only issue with the room was the water was leaking out of the bathroom into the room....wasn't a problem for us but for older person could have been a problem but we did let staff know. Other than that great hotel at a great price at the time. As long as they don't make it too expensive to stay here then yes I would come back. Thanks

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ukjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi Jordan,

Thanks for your review following your stay with us last year.

If you haven't been back since Christmas, we have got even better since then so it'd be great to see you back.

Our prices remain, in our opinion, to be great value for money!

Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Booked as a last minute thing to have a night out in Birmingham, stayed here before as a ramada, really impressed with the reception area, staff are good!

Rooms are fairly basic but extremely comfortable and functional with everything you want. Slept really well and decent shower in the morning!

Breakfast however blew us away! It was absolutely superb! Huge choice, absolutely gorgeous, staff were constantly replenishing everything!

Will definitely stay here again. The room was £60 with breakfast, for the quality of the room and the food, it is a complete bargain for a city centre hotel!

Holiday inn and radisson blu, take note...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lister9995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thanks so much for the kind feedback following your stay with us.

Its great that you have seen the transformation at the hotel as we are all really excited about the changes that have taken place.

We look forward to seeing you here again soon.

Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

it really didn't feel like i was staying at a hotel, more like a luxurious home.

its a really modern hotel with great features such as an amazing bar and lower eating area which has a pool table, also there are free new movies on teh tv in the rooms, this is the best hotel i have stayed in, also there is a great breakfast and great selection, it has made me look into other pentahotels and will be sure to visit again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steveyp86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Steveyp,

Thanks for the great review of your stay with us here at pentahotel Birmingham.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the experience and hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,756 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Birmingham

Property: pentahotel Birmingham
Address: Holloway Head Ernest Street, Birmingham B1 1NS, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Birmingham City)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Better because it's Birmingham! We're less than a mile from the city centre, but a million miles away from the usual. Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, welcome to the pentahotel Birmingham. Just the tonic for the weary traveller, or the visitor who's rearing to go. Perfectly positioned to jump-start your visit to England's Second City. In fact pentahotel is much like Birmingham itself: relaxed, confident in its unique personality and right in the middle of it all! The recently renovated 4-star hotel features two conference rooms, a fitness centre and an on-site restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Guests enjoy free Wifi in the entire hotel. High-speed internet is available at a surcharge. In your comfortable room you will find a large flat screen TV with free movies and have your private bathroom with rainfall shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your pentahotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Birmingham City Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing