We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
pentahotel Birmingham
Ranked #12 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, would stay again”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner arrived in Birmingham around 1 and then the penny dropped we couldn't check in until 3, I called the hotel and they said they would have a room ready for us in 20 minutes! So we were checked in and in our room all by 1:30!
Hotel is ideally situated being a 5 minute walk from the train station and Bullring and 10 minutes from the Mailbox!
Staff are all very pleasant and can't do enough to help you!
The room itself I was slightly disappointed with, the pictures advertised are very deceiving, showing nice cushions and runners on the beds with fancy lighting, but our room had none of that, just a bed, quilt and pillows. With a TV and a small sofa. Although the room was immaculately clean which is always a plus! Plenty of towels provided and nice toiletries. We paid for the upgraded room which was supposed to include bathrobes and slippers although they were nowhere to be seen in our room. I spoke to reception and they broke us bathrobes but claimed to have no slippers.
TV was excellent with all new released films for free which you normally have to pay for in other hotels!
Now the breakfast, could not fault it. They had everything from hot drinks to Prosseco, Fresh fruit to a fry up, cereals, cheeses, cold meats and breads, Every different pastry imaginable and all of the food was being replenished regularly while we were eating. By far the best hotel breakfast I've seen!
When we checked out, again staff were very helpful asking if everything was okay and did we need a taxi calling etc.
All in all the Penta was a lovely hotel, good value for money and I would stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloejeanfuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hi Chloe,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review of your stay in Birmingham.

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay & take on board your feedback in regards to the bedrooms at the hotel, as stated in previous reviews, we are working on a redesign of these rooms currently & hope to have some exciting news about this in the very near future.

Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,098
    834
    277
    94
    53
See reviews for
117
960
94
717
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Down on the train to see Paul Heaton & Jacqui Abbott again (so good we had to see them twice)
At a last minute bargain price for the hotel room we didn't expect much.
We were met with a modern refreshing funky design in reception, a great range of drinks available, a pool table ,comfy chairs and sofas. The room (4th floor0 was minimalist but had a window that opened (always a plus) a large TV -saturday morning kitchen is always a favourite, and nice soap/shower stuff in the bathroom.
The lounge/breakfast area was totally unexpected ; another pool table comfy sofas,candles, fabulous lighting - would have been a good evening to stay in!
Breakfast was self service but a real step up from most bargain hotels and included in our rate.Staff were friendly and helpful and would definitely return here.
Close (walking distance) to a several good venues and places to eat & Birmingham New St.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2zombies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hi 2zombies,

Thank you for the very kind words following your stay with us last week.

I am glad we added to what was already a great visit to Birmingham!

We hope to see you back again soon at pentahotel Birmingham.

Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel purely on the strength of the reviews on this site. We booked through booking.com at £40 for the room including breakfast (which all reviewers had stated was fantastic).
We arrived at 5pm on Thursday, the surrounding area is a little tired compared to the rest of the city but no matter. We parked on the street (free after 6pm to 8am). Had we used the car park it would have been £12.50 - as it was we paid 70p for one hour in the evening and then hubby got up at 8am and paid £2.20 for a further 3 hours so we only paid £2.90. We walked into the 24 hour bar and straight over to the reception/bar. We were dealt with extremely efficiently by the staff and within 3 or 4 minutes were up in our room. We had requested "quiet" room online and we duly assigned a room on the top floor. The hotel was very reminiscent of the Mercure hotels we were used to staying in abroad. The bathroom had a wet room style shower, plenty of towels and the usual accoutrements. A huge flat screen TV on the wall (all films etc were free!!), a small double leather sofa and reasonable size double bed. All good so far!!. Before leaving for our function we stopped for a drink on the 1st floor lounge. It was extremely welcoming with mini fire places (see very blurred picture taken after one too many drinks at the function), sofas, large comfy chairs and candles dotted all around the place. Although the bar is downstairs there was a lovely young lady who took our order and brought our drinks. I cannot stress enough how friendly and helpful all the young staff are, even to the point where I was having problems with my "up-do" and the young girl went up to her room and brought me her own hair grips to help me - definitely above and beyond. We staggered back to the hotel at around 2am and had a further drink in the lounge. They do have a balcony you can drink on but we decided to stay in the cosy room. And so to bed!! The bed was comfortable and we slept well. Breakfast is from 6am to 10 and we were advised that housekeeping start cleaning the rooms at 8am but if we didn't want them to come in to just put the "do not disturb" sign on and they would leave us. We did not hear a thing.
We went down for breakfast (the same room as the lounge but at the other end of the room). The reviews were right!!! Breakfast was fabulous. I had the biggest Pain au Chocolate I have ever seen (yum yum). He who must be obeyed had the fry up --- sausages, scrambled eggs, bacon , beans, mushrooms. There were also fried eggs and hash browns, a good choice of cereals, breads, juices, tea, coffee and a toaster (although this took forever to brown the bread) even Prosecco for those who weren't hungover (we were!) and lots of other stuff I can't remember. We didn't come to breakfast until after 9am but everything was being constantly replenished - no fear of sparse leftovers here.
To sum up .... I would have expected to pay at least double this price for the excellent quality and service we received here. We will definitely stay here again and have already recommended them to our friends and on my Facebook page. One of the members of staff informed me that all the rooms are going to be refurbished!! Our room was great anyway so this should make it even better (as long as they don't massively bump up the price.)

Room Tip: Higher floors will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dezzas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor member,

Thanks for the fantastic review of your stay with us!

It was great to hear that you enjoyed the experience & I have thanked Emma on your behalf for the hair accessory assistance!

We look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
187 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed there for a few night on a recent business trip. Efficient reception and check in. Meeting room with day light - much appreciated. Food - breakfast, breaks and lunch - very tasty and all freshly prepared and very creative (not the usual buffet meals that are the same all over the world). Bar with pool table on both floors - nice opportunity to play a round and have a beer at night given the area does not really offer anything unless one knows exactly where to go. The rooms are small but clean. The beds are terrible (hard, sheets to short) and need replacing. Bath rooms are very small but still functional. Staff was very friendly and always accommodating anything we had asked for.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHW1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay with us in Birmingham.

It's great to see that you enjoyed your stay but I am sorry that you felt that the comfort of our bed & the area of the hotel let you down.

We have received positive feedback in regards to our bed's of late but we are planning to install our penta brand bed shortly which should please all travellers.

I am surprised that you felt the area was not suitable as we are located directly in the city centre of Birmingham - easily accessible to all of the major facilities & attractions.

Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Comfortable, clean rooms, hot walk in showers. Very close to city centre, 5 minute walk. Near to lots of Chinese restaurants. Good buffet breakfast. Friendly, helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again. Free films to watch.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolp86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Carol,

Thaks for the great review of your stay with us this week.

It is great to see that you enjoyed your experience with pentahotels & we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Staff were so pleasant and helpful, great decor, great location for city centre shopping. So many freebies - pool tables, play station, fitness suite, films in rooms, wi-fi, etc etc!! Relaxed atmosphere.
Lovely breakfast included in room rate with lots of fresh fruit, hot buffet, smoked salmon, cheeses etc.
Not a single problem. Stayed for 1 night with my 14 yr old daughter and we loved it!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLMMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your very kind words following your stay at pentahotel Birmingham.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay & hopefully we will see you back again soon!

Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Love this hotel, changed recently from the Ramada encore to Pentahotel.
The hotel looks great, the room was very cosy & provide you with unlimited access to Films (approximately 16) to watch on a LG Flat screen. Breakfast was included in the price & the selection of food was great. A very welcoming & trendy hotel. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThierryGLUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hi Thierry,

Thank you for the fantastic review of your stay with us here at pentahotel Birmingham.

I am glad you noticed the free on demand movies - we have recently added these in to our bedrooms along with a host of on demand media, audio and even internet radio & Sky sports all for free!

We look forward to seeing you back again soon!
Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,357 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,891 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Birmingham

Property: pentahotel Birmingham
Address: Holloway Head Ernest Street, Birmingham B1 1NS, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Birmingham City)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#8 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#10 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're less than a mile from the city centre, but a million miles away from the usual. Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, welcome to the pentahotel Birmingham. Just the tonic for the weary traveller, or the visitor who's rearing to go. Perfectly positioned to jump-start your visit to England's Second City. In fact pentahotel is much like Birmingham itself: relaxed, confident in its unique personality and right in the middle of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your pentahotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Birmingham City Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing