We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for short Stay or Drink!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
pentahotel Birmingham
Ranked #12 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent for short Stay or Drink!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here for 1 night with the missus as we were going to show in the centre. Location is pretty decent as only a short walk to the centre of brum. Area is as it is a bit dodgy but hey ho!

The rooms were average but everything you need for a short stay. The thing BRILLIANT about this place is the bar area and upstairs. The decour is truely excellent and very classy for a small hotel. Drinks were great and staff were helpful...did i mention 24HR BAR!?!

I couldnt see myself staying here longer than 1 or 2 nights as its not a top hotel but for short stays i could rate this enough!

Will use again for sure and think people should give it a go 100%

Room Tip: Have a drink here, upstairs Bar is Excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Onnie4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your kind words following your stay at penta Birmingham.

The team and I were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. As mentioned to other reviewers, we are very close to confirming the plans for further improvements to our bedrooms which I hope will only further enhance your next experience with us.

Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,116
    844
    281
    95
    54
See reviews for
120
975
98
727
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed at the Pentahotel last weekend with my son for Father's Day.We arrived Friday evening and checked out Sunday morning.

Check in was simple and quick(at the bar)and our room,although basic,it was very clean and tidy with a walk in shower.The staff help to create a relaxed and funky vibe!!..
Wether your sitting in the bar,or upstairs in the lounge,there are comfortable chairs and sofas to relax on,with staff willing to wait on you hand and foot.There was absolutely nothing that was to much trouble for them.

I would like to thank all the staff that welcomed us and made our stay a fun and memorable one.I would especially like to thank "Sonny and Danny" who made a special fuss of my son,and arranged a Father's Day gift to be in our room when we returned from breakfast.Thanks guys that was a really nice touch.

To finish off,I found the hotel to be central to pretty much everything.Try the "Mailbox" for something to eat,it's a small mall full of really nice restaurants,and is only a 5 minute walk away.
Drayton manor park was only a 20 minute drive,and in the other direction Warwick castle was a 35 minute drive.Breakfast was excellent,and if there was anything I would change about this hotel,it would be the Pillows in the bedroom....Would I go back again.Absoloutely.in a heartbeat

Room Tip: Upgrade to a comfort room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hi Alan,

Thank you for your kind words following your stay here at pentahotel Birmingham.

It was great to read your review & I will be sure to thank Danny & Sunny for their great work in arranging a fathers day gift.

We hope to see you again at pentahotels!

Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Looks good but just doesn't work as a long stay hotel should.We had problems from the begining till the end of are stay. If its just for one night its OK any longer would advise not. We had a really bad stay here

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hi Jason,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the pentahotel Birmingham.

I am very disappointed to see that we didn't meet your expectations on your stay with us & also that we didn't hear about this whilst you were with us as I would be sure that we could have made amends.

If you would be willing to discuss your stay with me in more detail, I would be delighted to hear from you in person via the message function of Trip advisor & hopefully we can learn from your feedback.

Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

just got back from a 2 night stay. Haven't got one bad word to say, the staff were so helpful and friendly, very funky hotel completely different from any travel lodge, We didn't have to check out till 3pm so you don't have to rush around and be out early morning.would definitely stay there again and recommend to family and friends, WELL DONE Pentahotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Sharon,

Thank you for the fantastic review of your experience with us at pentahotels.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay & made the most of our 3pm checkout on a Sunday.

I hope to see you back again soon.

Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

went to Pentahotel for weekend with my husband and another couple. Our friends have stayed at Jurys Inn in Birmingham but we decided to try Pentahotelas it had breakfast included for the same price as other hotels that didn't include it. What a wonderful place, rooms were lovely, was very surprised at breakfast i was expecting a small continental breafast, what a great surprise for us, it was fab, full English, cereal, muller light yogurts, lots of fresh fruit salad, choc chip muffins to die for and much much more.Really near town center about 5 min walk.. If you like playing pool there were 2 tables all free to play. Can,t really say much more it was great, staff were really friendly and helpful definately stay here again and have found out there are a few more over the country. keep up good work and don't think you'll be short of customers. other hotels should take a look at what you're doing and take tips. thanks for great weekend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naughtybaldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the fantastic review of your stay at pentahotel Birmingham.

It was such a pleasure to read your feedback & I will share this with all of the team as I know they will be equally pleased to read this.

We do have a few more pentahotels across the country now & hopefully we will see you at one of these soon.

Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Visited for x2 nights for a girls weekend away. Booked the rooms for an amazing price through their website directly (something like £79 for two nights!). The communal areas are comfortable and stylish, the bedrooms are spotlessly clean, modern and pleasant. The location is great, around 10 mins away from New Street station, the Bullring shopping centre, and the Arcadian and Broad Street clubbing areas. The hotel is literally two streets away from the Mailbox centre. What impressed me the most about this hotel was the amazing breakfast included in the price! Such a good selection of hot and cold food, beautiful fresh fruit and muffins - even free Prosecco! (who needs a Champagne breakfast anyway!). We were informed by the staff that all TV channels movies were free too which was a lovely bonus. You are provided with great little toiletries by Anatomicals in the bathroom. I will definitely be staying again. The hotel would be an excellent base for all groups and I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavitapazzesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay at pentahotel Birmingham.

It's great to see that you had such an enjoyable weekend break with us and I hope that we will see you back again soon.

Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay and the location was great. Very friendly and helpful staff in all areas, spotlessly clean and lovely decor. Really enjoyed the breakfast which was excellent with a really good range and choice. Booked some time ago so got a very good rate which made it even better value. Car parking could be less expensive and I would have preferred to have been able to pre book as it left me feeling a bit unsettled until we checked in and knew a space was available. The beds are not king size so we opted for a twin as we're used to a large bed, but otherwise the bedrooms are very comfortable. If staying in Birmingham we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Me12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hi Ne12345,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at pentahotels.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I understand your comments in regards to car parking, for underground secure car parking in the city centre, we are priced much below all of the other available car parks and I am trying to look at a way of guests being able to prebook this service at the moment.

Hopefully by your return we will have a soloution for this to further improve upon our services.

Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
912 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,392 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#8 of 117 in Birmingham
2,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
2,230 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
864 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Birmingham

Property: pentahotel Birmingham
Address: Holloway Head Ernest Street, Birmingham B1 1NS, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Birmingham City)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#8 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#10 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're less than a mile from the city centre, but a million miles away from the usual. Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, welcome to the pentahotel Birmingham. Just the tonic for the weary traveller, or the visitor who's rearing to go. Perfectly positioned to jump-start your visit to England's Second City. In fact pentahotel is much like Birmingham itself: relaxed, confident in its unique personality and right in the middle of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Lastminute, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your pentahotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Birmingham City Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing