We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price, Brilliant Breakfast!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
pentahotel Birmingham
Ranked #14 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed here to go to a gig at the Lg Arena, it is not the closest hotel to the Lg arena but it is walking distance to bullring and other must sees in Birmingham. It took a while to find but thats probably my bad navigational skills! First impressions was its clean and modern reception/bar area. Staff were incredibly friendly and happy to help with any questions we had. Room was clean and comfortable and had everything you needed including free movies on the tv which was is a bonus if you dont plan on leaving the room and a selection of toilettries. The big seller for this hotel (and the reason i chose it) is the breakfast sooooo much choice alot more choice than i have had in other hotels and it is all presented beautifully with staff quick to keep the area presentable. Overall i would definitely staff here again and redcommend to anyone staying in Birmingham.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norfolkbooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for posting your review of your stay with us here at pentahotel Birmingham.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us & in particular our breakfast, we are really proud of the quality of the food & the range of items that we have.

I look forward to seeing you back at pentahotels again soon.

Very best regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,386 - 2,392 of 2,615 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Clean, simple room with a generous sized shower, fabulous breakfast and everyone we met smiled. Stayed on a Saturday night, so didn't need to check out until 3pm on Sunday. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hi Claire,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay with us here at pentahotels.

It was great to see that the warm welcome you received was carried on throughout your stay and that you will be coming back soon.

I look forward to welcoming you!
Very best regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Amazing place to stay
staff very friendly and welcoming happy to help with any problems or just a friendly chat.
already planning to stay again
Rooms are excellent, very clean and tidy tv works great, all new release movies available, ps4 in the bar
the bar is very relaxing and welcoming with staff collecting drinks from bar so dont have to move.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liamathersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your five star review of your stay with us here at pentahotel Birmingham.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us & I hope that we will see you back again soon.

Very best regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We are currently staying in this hotel. The staff are brilliant, and the meeting room is lovely, down sides are toilet takes two to three attempts to flush an the TV doesn't stay on for longer than ten minutes without saying connection un available.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryankatiemcguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for posting your review of your stay with us.

I am sorry that you encountered some issues with your TV signal - I do hope that you made us aware of this so that we could fix the problem?

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again in the near future.

Very best regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Absolutely loved the hotel from the minute I walked in! Easy walking from New St station. Brilliant location for Mailbox and canal dining/nightlife. Quirky design reception/bar area. Fantastic lounge and dining area upstairs with wonderful outside terrace with lovely extras like blankets for chilly evenings. Came back to hotel for late drink and the cool vibe was still happening. Bar and lounge fairly busy with nice comfy sofas and candle lit areas. The most fantastic 5 star breakfast with everything from full English to pancakes n syrup, cold meats, cheese, fruit, pastries, even prosecco and some beautiful banana bread! Best thing about it - it is on a small scale and they deliberately bring out fresh stuff all the time. Late lunch was also impressive. 3pm Sunday check out fantastic idea! All staff really enthusiastic/helpful, seem proud of Penta and want to work there. Safe parking £12.50/24hrs under the hotel. Will definitely recommend and would love to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Frequent_flyerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for the five star review of your stay with us here at pentahotels.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed all of the aspects of your stay & that you noted our team - they are the key part of our business.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Very best regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Currently a guest at this hotel and neither the toilet flushes or the tv works. I'm hoping for a much needed improvement. This is not a very good start to my stay. As first impressions go, not very good at all. Surely not worth what I am paying for.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Glastoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay at pentahotels.

I am obviously concerned that your TV service was affected during your stay with us, we have had a number of engineers working on this issue over the weekend and we believe that the issue is now in hand.

Again with the toilet flush I am sorry that this ocurred but I believe you were immediately relocated to another room which resolved the problem.

I am sorry that you felt it necessary to post these issues on this forum and I can only hope that the rest of your stay was a better experience.

Very best regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The décor is great 60s theme believe you will be thrilled by it the breakfast was fantastic well worth the stay for this experience alone. The bedroom are basic but clean and comfortable in room 206 the drains in the bathroom were blocked and empting very slowly the telephone didn't work. However I am happy to forgive all these small problems because of the breakfast it was unbelievable even down to Proscecco to drink.(not keen on the coffee).
Great value I'll be back

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank peterkYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hi Peter,

Thank you for the five star review of your stay with us in Birmingham.

I was really pleased to see that you enjoyed your breakfast but will ask my engineer to take a look at the room you stayed in.

I hope to see you back at pentahotels again in the very near future.

Very best regards
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
966 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,201 reviews
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
2,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,109 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Birmingham

Address: Holloway Head Ernest Street, Birmingham B1 1NS, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Birmingham City)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#8 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#10 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £49 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're less than a mile from the city centre, but a million miles away from the usual. Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, welcome to the pentahotel Birmingham. Just the tonic for the weary traveller, or the visitor who's rearing to go. Perfectly positioned to jump-start your visit to England's Second City. In fact pentahotel is much like Birmingham itself: relaxed, confident in its unique personality and right in the middle of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your pentahotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Birmingham City Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing