We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
pentahotel Birmingham
Ranked #13 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel last Sunday...
Payed £42 for one night including breakfast
I was very worried as the area looks a bit ruff but ....
I was wowed by the inside... Dimond in the ruff I think the saying goes..
I agree the bed was sqeeky and there was only one pillow.
we requested 2 extra pillows at 11pm .. A member of staff brought them up just as we got back into the room!..
Breakfast was delishhhhh!.. Not keen on the sausages but I'm a pancakes girl!
Staff are lovely my other half and I enjoyed the pin bal machine pool table ps3 and free wifi..
Town centre is literally 5 minute walk!..
There is a garage next door if you get munchies there is a takeaway too or tescos further up the hill.. Don't judge a book by it's cover.., this hotel was lovely very friendly...
I would happily stay here again when we take our son to cadburys world in November.. :)
Couldn't really fault anything.
Thank you pentahotel for a lovely stay! :)

Room Tip: You don't really get a good view from any room but if you are round the back you can't here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 398jennys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi Jenny,

Thanks for the review on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your first experience with pentahotels & we look forward to seeing you back in November.

Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,148
    865
    291
    106
    57
See reviews for
124
999
102
748
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Innsbruck, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Hotel:
Penta Standard (follow scheme in all penta Hotels), modern, Young Hotel, cool design, very welcoming, Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel

Staff:
very friendly and helpful

Location:
not the best I'd say, but staid there only for an overnight and not for Sightseeing in Birmingham - so defnitely OK!

Parking:
public parking spaces at extra charge near the Hotel (as said before not the best area...we parked on the street anyway, nothing happened), Underground parking available from Penta - pretty exepensive but worth for longer stays / expensive cars...

Rooms:
excellent as in all the penta Hotels, spacious rooms, well equipped rooms/bathrooms, TV with films free of Charge, foreign channels, clean throughout

Breakfast:
richt breakfast!!!!

Rates: fare rates for travel agents!!!! should try those Hotel where available!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Da S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay with us at pentahotel Birmingham.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us & I hope that we will see you back if you return to the UK soon.

Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Arrived on Friday night straight from work for a night out in Birmingham. The hotel is about 5 -10 min walk from New Street, but upon arrival I couldn't find reception. I found the bar, walked out, tried a few other doors and returned to the bar, only to find reception is "tucked" away in the corner of the bar.

Check in was swift, and straight to the room. One thing I do not understand is why hotels use laminate flooring - especially around the bathroom area. So you leave the tiled bathroom (or wet room) and make the laminate flooring wet.. Which is great to watch others slip on! The pressure of the shower could be better, but it did the job with a nice toiletry kit!

A quick change and straight out, with a 10 min to the Hurst Street area. Opposite the hotel, there is a building with a "parlour" sign - so this may be off putting to some! There were also a group of friendly "lads" who actually enquired if i was ok and sorted for the night stood nearby. I thought how nice of them to enquire!

Returning to the hotel, we found only 1 pillow in the creaky bed! 1 pillow!! Normally there are mor in the wardrobe, but there wasn't a wardrobe! As it was late, i had to make do with a towel underneath the pillow (although this didn't help waking up with a stiff neck!)

When we booked, we booked 2 rooms for around £45 each which included breakfast.

We found breakfast to be excellent! Great choice, and quality. This actually made the stay.

We did hear another couple arrive for breakfast who hadn't got it included - and they paid £15 each! Whether i would pay that i am unsure - especially given there are plenty of alternatives close by.

On check out, we were told the room hadn't been paid for, despite a non-refundable 100% deposit being given at booking. The second room (on the same booking) had been paid for though. This is confusing - i need to check my statements just to ensure!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FirstLast34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us.

I was sorry to read that things were not quite as perfect as I would have liked for you - especially given the comfort of your sleep.

If there are any issues at all with your payment, please do speak with me directly & I will resolve them for you immediately.

I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to improve upon your first experience with us.

Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Whilst not by any stretch like any other chain hotel - bar is also reception desk, this hotel is great value for money. Food is amazing and young staff eager to serve guests well. Good for Alex Theatre

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirminghamDeano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Deano,

Thank you for the kind words following your stay with us.

I am glad that you enjoyed your experience with pentahotel Birmingham & hope that I will see you again soon!

Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I paid a total of £103 via Trivago to stay here for a two night weekend break and we were truly amazed at everything about this hotel. The decor is amazingly funky, fashionable, stylish and relaxing- I'd love to know where I could buy some of their same furniture, fixtures and fittings! The staff just can't do enough for you and we found this after speaking to them about some noisy travellers opposite us. Straight away they asked if we would like to change rooms and we didn't have to persuade them - it was simply just their very understanding approach.
The rooms were modern, clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was just simply indulgent and packed with everything my glutinous self enjoys. The late check-out especially on a Sunday means you're not rushing about but can simply go at your own pace.
It's not slap bang in the middle of Birmingham but 10 minutes walk from the train station - which is no issue considering what you actually get. It is however, less that 5 minutes walk from Harvey Nicols at the Mail Box.
The only bad points were that the other room doors slam loudly when closing which is a real nuisance and noise from the corridor seeps into the rooms. The bottom of the bathroom doors are water damaged. My girlfriend also felt that the bed was a little too firm but I disagree entirely!
Overall, the hotel is an absolute gem the price is unbelievably cheap and having had this experience, we'd happily pay much more next time!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LeedsBerkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear TripAdvisor member,

Thank you for your review.

I am really delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us & in particular that the team looked after you so well.

I hope we will see you back again at pentahotels soon!

Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Second time I have stayed here. This time was a lot of fun. Me and a group of friends had all the fun doing the color run and then relaxing in the comfortable bar and restaurant area. We even had second throughts about heading in to town the service was so good. But the staff in the hotel booked us a taxi and even gave us some bar idea. I can not recommend this place highly enough. Captain parsnip

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi David,

Thanks for the kind words following your stay with us here at pentahotel Birmingham.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your second stay with us & I hope that I will see you back again soon.

Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Having booked purely on the basis that the hotel looked glamorous. It was convenient for other bars in town and was told it had on site parking which later resulted in it being full and told to park on the road that was completely covered in broken windscreen glass then told to park at the mailbox some ten minute walk away?! I was really angry at the poor customer service! Check in was slow with a long spiel about the tv, internet, breakfast, smoking rooms etc. we got to our room! Ok the shower was good, the tv was huge but it was just a travelodge (pull out bed) mattress in all honesty. If it wasn't for the bar which we frequent anyway we would of checked out there and then. The hotel is fine especially of you want to check out at 3pm.

All in all stay by all means, luxury stops on the first floor. The higher up the less noisy. They do have smoking rooms if you choose and definitely frequent the bar but do bare in mind that prices are hotel prices before you open a tab.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Murrayavm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your review of your stay.

I am sorry that you had issues with parking but I would dispute the distance from the Mailbox facility - we are a five minute walk away for those wishing for secure covered parking once our car park is full.

Our check in process does take longer than other hotels and we are not ashamed of this, we have many features that are included at no additional charge that the team are really proud to explain.

As stated in many reviews, we are soon to be installing our signature bed's across the hotel in line with a refurbished bedroom product.

I am pleased that you enjoyed our bar experience & hopefully will see that this is the style that the rest of the hotel will soon be.

Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,454 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
3,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
3,848 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
2,285 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Birmingham

Property: pentahotel Birmingham
Address: Holloway Head Ernest Street, Birmingham B1 1NS, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Birmingham City)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#8 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#10 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're less than a mile from the city centre, but a million miles away from the usual. Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, welcome to the pentahotel Birmingham. Just the tonic for the weary traveller, or the visitor who's rearing to go. Perfectly positioned to jump-start your visit to England's Second City. In fact pentahotel is much like Birmingham itself: relaxed, confident in its unique personality and right in the middle of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your pentahotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Birmingham City Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing