We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
pentahotel Birmingham
Ranked #14 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Weekend Stay”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Fantastic hotel except we were at the back of the hotel and were kept up by youths making a huge amount of noise to the rear of the building from 4am until 6.30am on the sunday morning!
Really nice staff however and a great atmosphere inside the hotel.
If you could dispose of the louts to the rear late at night the location is great for the centre of the city

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rob1961_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hi Rob,

Thank you for your review following your stay with us at pentahotels.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us but sorry that your sleep was disturbed by people outside of the hotel.

I hope that we will see you back in Birmingham again soon.

Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,125
    852
    284
    98
    54
See reviews for
120
979
98
741
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Things I didn't like:
- I quite like modern hotels, but this place was a bit odd, its basically like one massive bar / restaurant. The area where you check in is the same place you order drinks, with people sat around playing pool and Playstation. I guess thats the design they've gone for, but felt quite studenty/unprofessional.
- It basically an old Ramada hotel with a load of polish on, so the walls in the room are thin, the phones in the room are still Ramada and in our room we had no information on phone numbers to ring reception, dining services etc.
- View from our second floor room was of a noisy car wash even though I had requested a room higher up.
- Unfortunately no swimming pool

Things I liked:
- Great location, everything is walking distance.
- Great breakfast

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank greg17892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hi Greg,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry that you found us to be no more than 'ok'. As mentioned, we do have a refurbishment programme about to commence and no, we do not have a swimming pool but we do not claim to have one so it is difficult for us to fix this.

I do hope that you will give us a further opportunity to prove to you that we are better than your first experience.

Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Wifi a bit wobbly. Breakfast v good. Birmingham still has a way to go for service standards. Nightclub near hotel made room noisy on Sat night. Beds and duvets not great. Reception area a bit lost in noisy bar.



  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hi Catherine,

Thank you for your review following your stay with us at pentahotel Birmingham.

I am sorry that we didn't quite live up to your expectations during your stay. We do have new beds arriving at the hotel soon & I hope that we will see you back again to try these out soon.

Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The hotel as no doubt got the wow factor but does have a few downfalls. When we checked in, there were only double rooms left (myself and my friend were sharing a room) we were disappointed the the size of the bed for a start (very small) and the fact that you only got one pillow each! Saying that, the room was clean and modern. A picture fell off the wall at one point to reveal a huge punch hole in the wall!!! Very disappointed that we had paid £84 for a room and it didn't include breakfast. We had the option if paying at check in £11 each or we could pay in the day for £15!! We walked to McDonalds instead.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sarah-jayne86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hi Sarah-Jayne,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us at pentahotel Birmingham.

It was pleasing to see that you enjoyed your stay with us but it was concerning to hear of the maintenance issues & room allocation issues that you faced.

I would be keen to make things perfect for if you stay with us again so please do contact me directly and I will make sure you recieve our usual high standards of care.

Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Nice clean hotel. Big room and shower.
Bed was uncomfortable and hotels walls are quite thin.
Staff were nice and bar was excellent however price of mixers for drinks was ridiculous. £3 bottle of coke

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kirsty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hi Kirsty,

Thank you for taking time to post your review here on Trip Advisor.

It was good to see that you enjoyed your stay in the main, in regards to the price of Coca Cola, this is not the price of a mixer bottle that you have quoted here, if you believe that you may have been charged incorrectly I will certainly address this for you if you contact me directly.

Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I'd stayed in another hotel in this chain and so we delighted then this one was offering rooms at low rates in August - £35 a night rather than the typical £100.
Just off the A38 through the city centre, and about 5 minutes brisk walk from New Street station.
Penta took this hotel over from the first operator, and so have not been able to fit it out exactly as they usually do. However, the reception, bar, and other public areas are typical of the chain. They can be a bit noisy but at least its cheerful and atmospheric.
Rooms are modern and a good size. The flatscreen TV is huge and there is a big choice of channels with movies included, although you won't get more than one big current film a week.
Bathrooms are a bit disappointing - the shower was not very powerful.
Aircon was excellent - quiet enough to allow you to sleep but powerful enough during the hot weather.
Not able to hear other guests which was fine.
Parking is very expensive, so used the local streets. The area is a bit rundown so maybe wouldn't want to leave a top-range car there.
The only real gripe was the staff - rather detached and taciturn; They need more customer training.
Otherwise an excellent stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hi Steve,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us at pentahotel Birmingham.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience of the Birmingham property but really surprised that you didn't find the team as warm as you would have liked - this is certainly not indicative of our usual feedback.

I hope that we will see you back again soon.

Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2014

room comfortable - very very clean. Staff v. helpful at all times eg. extra blanket, booking taxi. What makes this hotel different is the ambience of the ground floor bar and the upstairs lounge fab breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentaBirmingham, General Manager at pentahotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hi Teresa,

Thank you for your kind words following your stay with us.

I am really pleased to see that you enhoyed your first pentahotel experience & we hope to see you again soon.

Very best regards
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
921 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,414 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
2,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
2,252 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
872 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Birmingham

Property: pentahotel Birmingham
Address: Holloway Head Ernest Street, Birmingham B1 1NS, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Birmingham City)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#8 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#10 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're less than a mile from the city centre, but a million miles away from the usual. Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, welcome to the pentahotel Birmingham. Just the tonic for the weary traveller, or the visitor who's rearing to go. Perfectly positioned to jump-start your visit to England's Second City. In fact pentahotel is much like Birmingham itself: relaxed, confident in its unique personality and right in the middle of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your pentahotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Birmingham City Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing