We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent apartment and location for the city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Nites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Nites
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
329 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment and location for the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights with the optional secure parking. An excellent spacious apartment with all the usual facilities - lounge, kitchen etc. Complementary tea/ coffee included. Just located outside the NIA and 5 minutes walk to the ICC, shops, restaurants. Very secure locked parking space and an extremely helpful reception. Minor negatives, some building work by the road adjacent to the NIA with some road noise and perhaps the lighting could be a bit stronger inside. Minor niggles only. Very good value for money and I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjaya_Wijeyekoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityNites, Public Relations Manager at City Nites, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Sanjaya,

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we appreciate your time and input!
We're happy to see you found our location convenient and that our reception staff was as friendly and helpful as always. We have taken into account the feedback provided and we'll pass it on to house keeping.

We can't wait to have you back soon!
The City Nites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    177
    52
    31
    49
See reviews for
83
176
28
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Castello d'Empuries, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay, clean, roomy, excellent location within walking distance of Sea life center and Canal area/mailbox etc. Stayed for originaly 7 days but due to a Flight cancellation had to stay 3 days longer: no problem in prolonging the booking, staff were extra friendly and helpfull, even printed out my new airplane boarding tickets free of charge. Flat was spacious, we had 1 double and 1 single room, 2 bathrooms, kitchen with washing Machine and even a dishwasher. Room was clean, yes maybe in need of some newer matresses but slept well, parking a bit pricy but secure (pay and display parking in the same road for half the price but open). Definitly recommend City Nites

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DrGuiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityNites, Public Relations Manager at City Nites, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time writing this review! We're happy to see your stay went well, and that you enjoyed the proximity to Birmingham's best entertainment venues. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be taken into account. We're delighted to hear we made it to your recommendation list.
We hope to see you soon and that you had a safe flight,
The City Nites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

After a fantastic 8 night stay. There isn't anything I can complain about. I always receive the best customer service.

I stayed in block a apartment 17. All requests where met, TV in the bedroom and extra bedding. Appartment was spacious with two ways onto the terrace. Also during my stay I recived a complimentary clean of the apprtment. The House keepers where such lovely ladies.

I can never fault city nites, they always make my stay comfortable...looking forward to my next stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kavita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityNites, Public Relations Manager at City Nites, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Kavita,

Thank you once again for the great review! We're happy to see you loved it once again, we make efforts to ensure our guests' stay always goes smoothly, and we encourage them to voice their concerns if they have any, so we can resolve them quickly.
See you again in July! :) Plenty going on around town!

The City Nites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Clean modern apartment, everything you need for a stay for either one night or longer. Very close to all the great restaurants and bars of Brindley Place plus the shopping is only 10 minutes away. Friendly helpful reception staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityNites, Public Relations Manager at City Nites, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for the time you took to write this wonderful review. The feedback we get is of great importance and we value it every time. We're happy to see we have catered for your needs, and that we were up to standards.

We can't wait to have you back soon!
The City Nites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here for one night on 18 June. The accommodation is just fantastic - spotlessly clean and very well appointed with everything and more of what you need - even a washing machine if you really wanted that. It comes at an excellent value for money price - £94 for two double rooms, two bathrooms, lounge and kitchen area in a city centre quite literally a 3 minute walk from the bars and restaurants of Brindley Place and immediately opposite the NIA if you are attending an event there.

If you want a hotel with a restaurant and bar this won't be for you but all too often I find that I don't actually use these facilities in a hotel when you are out and about in a city for the evening anyway.

I will definitely use this accommodation again rather than a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IJ67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityNites, Public Relations Manager at City Nites, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you took writing this review! It's great to see you found our apartments to be of great value for the money as well as well equipped and close to the main entertainment centre of Birmingham!
See you very soon, and we hope we have made it to your list of recommendations.

The City Nites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

City Nites Birmingham is located at a nice and quiet area. It's a 15 to 20 minutes walk to New Street Station and about the same time to the city centre. I stayed in a one bedroom apartment (room 68, block C) which was spacious. It also came with a study room which I didn't expect so was quite impressed. I did all my computer work in the study so it came in handy. The apartment had all the necessary appliances - washer/dryer, dishwasher, refrigerator, electric stove, oven, microwave, Toaster etc. The living room which was open plan with the kitchen area had a good number of windows which allowed good air flow. TV was plasma flat screen, cable was freeview but with the option of Sky TV for £5 per day. The furnitures were fine and adequate. The reception staff were excellent. Always willing to help. Someone always answered the phone when I called. I was really happy with the service during my stay. I will stay here again

A few things need improvement, most importantly is the wifi with the other concerns more of me nitpicking. The Wifi internet was poor which was a huge let down; in fact it only seemed efficient in the study. The youtube website would load but the videos refused to load or play. I made a complaint to the reception about this and she thought it was due to the high usage as the place was fully booked. The intercom in the apartment wasnt working also so I had to always go down to the door of the building to let guests in. I paid for breakfast for only the first 2 days of my stay only which turned out to be the smart choice as I was flat out disappointed by the cold and package breakfast. The kitchen could have done with a bit more cooking utensils.

All and all, I was happy with my stay at City nights and will definitely do them again if I have the chance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spillhate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityNites, Public Relations Manager at City Nites, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We're happy to see you've enjoyed your time here, and that our customer service was up to your standards.
With regards to the internet, we have noticed something off about it during the time of your stay too,but it was fixed that day. However we are constantly looking on improving it as we want the best service for our customers. Thank you for the feedback with regards to the intercom, breakfast and utensils, we're sorry you've had these issues. We will pass it on to our teams and deal with them accordingly.

It's great to see you will stay here again! See you soon,
The City Nites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
268 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I was here on s solo trip for an event at the NIA, really a great stay. Wonderful location for the venue and so much space for one person. A sitting room/kitchen plus a separate bedroom. Kind and welcoming staff plus not overpriced. I'd definitely recommend if you're in the area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank KBeth00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityNites, Public Relations Manager at City Nites, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review! City Nites prides itself with the high level of customer service, as well as being a party that puts our customers' stay first, and that reflects into the facilities and services we provide as well. We're glad to see your trip went well and your stay and that we've made it to your list of recommendations!

Hope to see you soon,
The City Nites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,415 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,756 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Nites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Nites

Property: City Nites
Address: Arena View | Edward Street, Birmingham B1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — City Nites 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Specialists in serviced accommodation, we are your fabulous alternative to a hotel! We provide short and long stay suites for both leisure and business travelers who want more from their stay in Birmingham. With up to 3 times more space than the average hotel room, our guests can enjoy spacious, comfortable, well-managed accommodation in the heart of the City Centre, across the road from the ICC, Library of Birmingham, Barclaycard Arena (NIA) & a 5 minute-walk from Brindley Place, Broad Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com and Lastminute so you can book your City Nites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing