We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”

Winterbourne House and Garden
Ranked #6 of 300 things to do in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Restored to its Edwardian Arts and Craft splendour, Winterbourne House is a unique heritage attraction – set within seven acres of beautiful botanic gardens. Only minutes from Birmingham city centre, Winterbourne is a hidden gem – home to beautiful antiques and over 6,000 plant species from around the world. Wander along the woodland walk, stroll through the hazelnut tunnel, cross the 1930’s Japanese Bridge or simply soak up the tranquillity of this perfectly English Edwardian home.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This place is amazing so close to the busy city centre but so tranquil, the walk takes around a lake with huge bull rushes and hidden little rick gardens, stepping stones, kitchen garden, orchard. The house is charming and the terrace is wonderful place to eat some tinning from the restaurant. Entrance fee seems a little high but many people buy the annual pass and visit regularly, I think I may do that myself. Love this house and garden.

Thank Lynne2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"arts and crafts"
in 54 reviews
"tea room"
in 73 reviews
"nettlefold family"
in 35 reviews
"interesting house"
in 32 reviews
"visited winterbourne"
in 21 reviews
"printing press"
in 19 reviews
"woodland walk"
in 18 reviews
"terrace overlooking"
in 10 reviews
"japanese bridge"
in 10 reviews
"second hand bookshop"
in 9 reviews
"stunning gardens"
in 9 reviews
"birmingham university"
in 28 reviews
"full bloom"
in 10 reviews
"japanese garden"
in 10 reviews
"barber institute"
in 19 reviews
"tea and cake"
in 12 reviews
"for sale"
in 17 reviews
Filter

595 - 599 of 842 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

The gardens are wonderful and well worth a visit. The disappointment, however, was 'afternoon tea' which we'd planned to enjoy as a birthday treat for one of our group. Sadly we found that this option is only available as 'afternoon tea for two' - and there were 3 of us. The staff were unable, and seemingly unwilling, to help, so we ended up with a shared 'tea' and an extra scone. Matters were made worse by a very long wait, followed by failure to serve our whole order at the same time. Not quite the treat we'd planned. I'd certainly visit the gardens again, but next time I'll take a picnic!

2  Thank LoisLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winterbourn, Manager at Winterbourne House and Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear LoisLi

Firstly, we’re so sorry that your friend’s birthday treat was marred by your experience in the tea room. We take great pride in the service we offer across all areas of the house and garden, and I can only apologise that we didn’t deliver on this occasion.

Our tea room is so popular that we regularly have queues of University staff, students and visitors alike eager to enjoy our catering. This can mean lunchtimes are exceptionally busy and there is a wait on food. What we always try to do is communicate this to visitors so that a short wait is expected. This obviously didn’t happen on your visit for which we apologise wholeheartedly.

Afternoon Tea for two is served on a stand and whilst we can serve odd quantities for parties of 3 and 5 etc it won’t all be served on the cake stand. This may be what caused the confusion and again I apologise that you were misinformed. It is no problem to provide Afternoon Tea in different quantities.

Would you be so good as to email enquiries@winterbourne.org.uk with your details so Paul our Tea Room Supervisor can be in touch personally to make amends? We hope to see you again soon

Best wishes
Anna
Visitor Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I find it quite mesmerising that this place is just a little bit hidden away. It's easy to pass so much time in these beautiful gardens!

Thank GAGGARWAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The gardens are so peaceful - a lovely oasis of calm. My students and I enjoyed a lovely amble around the grounds and then sat on the terrace with a nice cup of tea. The house was interesting and beautifully decorated and preserved. A good place to visit.

Thank Sheiyla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Beautiful gardens and house with a cafe and gift shop. We go here throughout the year to their various activities and enjoy it every time. Although not as big as The Botanical Gardens, nor does it have a childrens play area the gardens are of an equal if not higher standard for around half the price. Will visit here time and time again.

Thank BrummieMummyto4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Winterbourne House and Garden also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Winterbourne House and Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing