We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT VALUE, FRIENDLY STAFF.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (West), Quinton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (West), Quinton
Ranked #9 of 54 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“GREAT VALUE, FRIENDLY STAFF.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

You really can't knock this Innkeepers Lodge for value for money. Stayed here in July as a party of 4 couples on a 3 night break (Friday, Saturdat and Sunday) which included a very good continental breakfast and the cost per room for each couple was an incredibly cheap £98 for the 3 nights - where else can 2 people get bed and breakfast for less than £17 per night each.

On arrival the Innkeepers Lodge which is entered through a Toby Carvery was heaving with diners and drinkers and we thought we had made a mistake booking it. However once checked in and into our rooms we were very pleased with the standard of accomodation - good sized rooms and bathroom (shower only) and they were quiet rooms despite the closeness to the bar and busy main road.

After 7 pm the bar area quietened down and we all ate 2 courses at the incredibly good carvery for about £10 each, washed down by good value wine and beers. Slept very well - no noise in the corridors and our room was next to the bar and had to be passed by anyone else going to bed. Continental breakfast was very good and substantial and a cooked buffet breakfast was available for an extra £5. Staff at breakfast were lovely and bar staff generally were very helpful.

From here we spent a day at the Severn Valley Railway (1940's weekend) which was great fun, a day at the Black Country Living Museum at Dudley and toured the Peak district on our way home. We also went to a Sunday night quiz at the Stag and 3 Horseshoes (Halesowen) a mile down the road!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaildonBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    76
    35
    9
    5
See reviews for
75
45
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

We booked the hotel because of it's proximity to the local attractions (Cadbury world; Black country museum; Warwick castle) and when we got there I thought it would be very noisy as it is on a busy duel carriageway and the carvery attached is very busy
But despite having a room 15 feet from the carvery, we could hear no noise at all !
The room we had could have had more light - there were two small windows, only one of which opened but it was very clean and housekeeping called each day (even though it was BH weekend)
If you like Carveries, the Toby carvery attached is ideal as you don't have to travel to eat (and if you don't there is a row of shops with various eateries opposite)
Breakfast was included in the price and although it was continental, there was a large selection and eat as much as you want. For £5 you could have a full English
The staff were friendly and helpful but not intrusive
There was plenty of free car parking space as well
The only real complaints I have are the shower not a bath (minor) and the very poor quality of the pillows (horrible foam)
We went when they had a 3 for 2 offer and got 3 nights B and B for 98 pounds which was very reasonable considering
All in all, I would stay there again, especially if we got the same deal

Room Tip: Ask about the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

Good location; quite a nice little lodge. Didn't really have much to do with the staff. They seemed friendly at breakfast, but didn't have anything else to do with them.

You have to go though the pub to get to the lodge. As we were round the back, there is no noise from people in the pub.

However, my problem was the lack of sleep my partner and I got. I have no idea what caused it; I'm guessing industrial sized washing machines, but they sounded like jumbo jets taking off. Would have been alright if it were only during the day, but it was also before 8am and after 9pm. So if you don't need sleep, you'll be fine here.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AK146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

We have only stayed in one other Innkeepers Lodge which was a new building attached to a pub. This is not the same. The rooms are above the pub and, to be honest, need some minor repairs and redecoration. However, the room was clean and was fine for a 1 night stay, especially as it only cost £20 including breakfast. We caught the bus into Birmingham centre and had a good night out. A taxi back cost less than £10. We were awoken on Sunday morning at 7am by a lot of noise and, upon investigation, found that our room overlooked the bin store. Breakfast was excellent - a lot better than we had paid £7.65 each for in the Travelodge. All staff were friendly.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManUtdFan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

Stayed here a number of times when watching cricket in Birmingham. A no frills hotel that is always clean and welcoming. A great pub attached to it as well.

Cheap rooms that are ideal for a group if heading out into Birmingham city centre although its not the best location as its a good 8-10 min taxi ride into the city centre.

Easy to get to and just a short drive off the motorway.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neil-amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

My two nephews and girlfriend stayed in the hotel for one week,all were from germany and were a little unsure what to expect as they usually stay with the family,They neednt of worried .the staff were really helpful and plesant.the continental breakfast was great with plenty of choice.The room was spacious and clean.We paid £313 for three people with breakfast for 7 days "brilliant" will be returning sooner rather than later

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyholsBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#34 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Old Crown
#11 of 54 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Elmdon Lodge
#1 of 54 in Birmingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (West), Quinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (West), Quinton

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (West), Quinton
Address: 563 Hagley Road West | Quinton, Birmingham B32 1HP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (West), Quinton 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five miles from Birmingham's bustling city centre, the Quinton lodge provides convenient accommodation near the ICC (International Convention Centre), the NIA and the NEC.This attractive lodge has 24 comfy, modern rooms and is home to a Toby Carvery restaurant. So you can refuel after a day's business or sightseeing by tucking into freshly roasted joints, seasonal vegetables and all the traditional trimmings.You'll find no shortage of things to do in vibrant Birmingham. Enjoy some of the country's best shopping at The Bullring, absorb the buzz of the city's growing bar and restaurant scene, tuck into a spicy curry or watch cricket at Edgbaston. Families will also love the Thinktank Planetarium and all the chocolatey fun of Cadbury World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (West), Quinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing