We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice clean but basic hotel, affordable prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (West), Quinton
Ranked #12 of 52 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice clean but basic hotel, affordable prices”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights on a business trip and was pleasantly surprised, the room was spacious and clean, the bed was comfortable and there were tea and coffee making facilities.
I went out in the morning (having left my room in a mess - sorry housekeepers) and when I returned and I had fresh towels, the tea and coffee had been topped up and my bed had been made and bathroom cleaned, if I had known this was going to happen I wouldn't have left the room in such a mess.
Nice hotel, nice location and I'm happy with the service provided.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank sandrasyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (West), Quinton, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (west) Quinton, and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one. We have replied to you personally about your review.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    77
    37
    10
    7
See reviews for
78
47
3
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Penarth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We arrived here very tired and looked forward to a lovely evening with a meal and a drink. Oh dear what a surprise we got! The inn itself gave the appearance of being grubby the bar was wet and sticky and we waited ages before we were given our room. What a room! one look was enough. We looked up to the ceiling to find a huge stain where one can only assume some sort of leak had occurred and mould was now growing out of it. On complaining we were told that was probably to work being carried out and we could have another room. Surely this should have been noticed?
We decided to ask for a refund which was given but it also meant that we had to drive further and return home that night. This totally spoiled what had been a beautiful couple of days away

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (West), Quinton, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Innkeeper's Lodge, Birmingham on our Trip Advisor page. We were disappointed to read that you were not satisfied, and we have replied to you personally about this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
120 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Booked this hotel for a trip to the Black Country Museum, as it was cheaper than our usual Premier Inn and included a continental breakfast. When checking in we thought the pub looked a bit scruffy and the entrance to our room on the ground floor was shabby. Once in the room there was not much chance of natural light as we had two small windows which you had to stand onthe bed to look out! The room albeit tired was clean as was the bathroom so we decided to stay as it was for one night. When going into the pub for breakfast it was chaotic to say the least, there were no clean tables all full of the previous persons left overs and crockery, no clean cutlery or croissants left or juice as they had run out this was with another hour until it finished. They were very understaffed as there were two ladies behind the bar and having to serve people coming in for cooked breakfast plus doing the rest of the breakfast chores. Not an enjoyable experience wont be using this chain of hotels again we'll stick to Premier Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarpetbaggerCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (West), Quinton, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (West) Quinton . We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every guest the very best experience possible, and your feedback will help us achieve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed here 3 nights.
Very good location, quite a busy road but room was extremely quiet.
Excellent budget room, very clean good service, room service excellent, towels changed every morning and tea/coffee milk topped up.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Toby Carvery fantastic value, breakfast and carvery both very good.
If you are on a budget, want a clean room, good staff and great no frills food.....STAY HERE.

Room Tip: "Rooms at the back are quiet"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (West), Quinton, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham(West) Quinton on our Trip Advisor page. We were disappointed to read that you were not satisfied, and we have replied to you personally about this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I'm writing this review from my room in the basement of the lodge having been woken up just after 4am by loud banging. There seems to be some sort of boiler room/laundry room next to mine, whatever is in it periodically makes a loud banging noise. I knew on arrival that things weren't looking good as I stood at "reception" (the bit at the end of the bar) whilst the people who had just checked in complained that their window was broken. As the smell of urine wafted past me I realised that "reception" was next to the toilets which clearly could do with a good clean. Once my booking had been found it was explained to me that my room was downstairs & had been freshly painted that day following a flood so there may be a painty smell & a piece of carpet was missing outside the room. They weren't kidding!! The fumes nearly knocked me out, a situation compounded by the unexpected arrival of a carpet fitter using spray adhesive in an unventilated area. When I came down from my fume induced high I thought a trip to the carvery might be in order. My friends were also lucky enough to be staying at the same lodge & were even more fortunate to have the equally fumey room next to mine. We ventured into the restaurant, were seated at a sticky topped table & eagerly ordered our carveries. The descriptive menu made our mouths water, we could hardly wait for the fluffy Yorkshire puddings, which apparently were a minimum of 7cm high, the roast potatoes - fluffy in the middle yet crisp on the outside - & the tasty seasonal vegetables. I don't know who wrote the menu but they had clearly never set foot in this particular version of a Toby carvery. Rubbery yorkshires which looked impressive were like cardboard, the meat was tough, the choice of roast potatoes included the anaemic & the just-about-alright & the mashed potato had a promising future in the construction industry. The just-about-alright roasties we're not fluffy inside yet crisp on the outside - they were barely cooked inside yet soggy on the outside. When dinner was over we sighed with relief & made our way to our fumey rooms once more. We had requested bedding for the sofa bed on the way to the restaurant & mentioned that the tv in one room didn't have a remote control & the one in the other room did but it didn't work. We were reassured all would be sorted. It wasn't. No bedding, no remote. Fortunately my friend, who thankfully is a qualified engineer, located the hidden chamber at the rear of the tv & hey presto! we had tv!! Changing channels or volume required tipping it over whilst turning it round but that just made it more fun!! Knock, knock & in comes Jason with the twice requested bedding which was delivered as an undressed duvet with the cover separate & no pillows. When Jason was asked about the problems we were experiencing he explained that the rooms had been specially prepared for our arrival following two weeks of being closed due to a flood. As my friend explained that the preparation fell a bit below the expected & promised he said we were lucky we had rooms at all. Oh, that's ok then. How rude of us! On the plus side the room is spacious, the bed comfy and......err......yes that's it. I await breakfast with a mix of gnawing hunger (the carvery really was that bad) & trepidation. Will I stay here again? That rather depends on floods & the goodwill of the management......

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuttydogwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (West), Quinton, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham(west) Quinton , and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one. We have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

you can park and catch a bus into the centre of birmingham free continental breakfast good option for a full english for £3.99 Carvery was very good as was the service from the staff The price on the innkeepers website was also very good if you book in advance

Room Tip: rooms away frome the front of the pub as they can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shep-pc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (West), Quinton, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Your review is very helpful to us, and we will take note of the points you have made following your visit to Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham(west) Quinton .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Booked a family room many weeks before our travels, received a phone call day before we were due to arrive advising we were unable to have a family room due to a flood in the cellar and would we accept a smaller room, no choice but to accept. Upon arrival the room we got was a double room with an additional child mattress laid on the floor - which was fine for our short stay. Bedroom, bedding, toilet etc was clean & tidy. The continental style breakfast was laid out to one side of the pub area with a toaster located in the carvery area which was also available for our use. Although breakfast was sufficient you can upgrade to a cooked breakfast in the carvery area for an additional £3.99 each person. Private car park had plenty of parking in what felt like a safe area. Have a look on google maps to see location and surrounding area. Good chip shop/restaurant/McDonalds located 1 minute away by car at first road junction heading towards city centre. Bullring shopping centre only 10 minutes drive, approx. 25 minutes to NEC. Staff all very nice.
Not a complaint more of a niggle - Our room was on upper floor located at the rear right above the kitchen access area where we were woken at 7am every morning with the rattle of metal delivery cages, we also planned our route when we walked across the room due to very noisy floor boards. When we returned on our second night we were unable to unlock the room door - after fumbling about for around 10 minutes we went to the bar to inform our key was not unlocking the door and staff advised they had a joiner in that day to change all the room door locks - it would have been better if some one had put a notice on the door to advise us upon our return.

Room Tip: If you want a longer lie in the morning avoid room close by rear kitchen access
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan59-23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (West), Quinton, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Many thanks for giving us your thoughts following your visit to Innkeeper's Lodge, Birmingham(west) Quinton. We really do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
The Blue Piano Guesthouse
The Blue Piano Guesthouse
#6 of 52 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
The Old Crown
#9 of 52 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Elmdon Lodge
#1 of 52 in Birmingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (West), Quinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (West), Quinton

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (West), Quinton
Address: 563 Hagley Road West | Quinton, Birmingham B32 1HP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (West), Quinton 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five miles from Birmingham's bustling city centre, the Quinton lodge provides convenient accommodation near the ICC (International Convention Centre), the NIA and the NEC.This attractive lodge has 24 comfy, modern rooms and is home to a Toby Carvery restaurant. So you can refuel after a day's business or sightseeing by tucking into freshly roasted joints, seasonal vegetables and all the traditional trimmings.You'll find no shortage of things to do in vibrant Birmingham. Enjoy some of the country's best shopping at The Bullring, absorb the buzz of the city's growing bar and restaurant scene, tuck into a spicy curry or watch cricket at Edgbaston. Families will also love the Thinktank Planetarium and all the chocolatey fun of Cadbury World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (West), Quinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing