We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pit stop just off the M5”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (West), Quinton
Ranked #12 of 53 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed in this budget hotel for two nights on our way south and found it an ideal stopping off point being less than a mile from junction 3 on the M5, with easy access to all the attractions in Birmingham city centre, via a regular bus service The hotel and it's partner Toby Inns has affordable food and drink, and can provide a cooked buffet style breakfast if you need more than the included continental breakfast, there is also a petrol station and other eateries close by

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems there are rooms on ground floor with easy access from car park most of...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank topman190832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (West), Quinton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (west) Quinton . Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (West), Quinton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

Our stay got off to a bad start. We booked online, noting in the "special requests" box that my wife has mobility problems and asking for a ground floor room. However it seems that the contents of said box are not passed on to the hotel...so anything put therein cannot be acted upon. Hence we had to negotiate two flights of stairs with heavy bags. Brummies do customer service well, and staff were hugely and genuinely apologetic and embarrassed. Yet another case of management failure. Or to put it in Management Speak "failure by those whose job it is to put the conditions in place so that front-line staff can excel". But all was redeemed by a large, spotless room with comfortable beds. The continental breakfast was a bit lacklustre, but for the price we paid still represented good value. This reviewer uses budget hotels in Brum regularly. We have not stayed here before but will do so again. In terms of Value for Money this is possibly the best! Sorry Premier/Travelodge etc.

Room Tip: Phone the hotel directly if you have any special requirements.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (West), Quinton, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you for your positive review following your recent visit. We are passionate about getting it right and your feedback will help us to achieve this aim. We really hope you will visit us again and we have sent you a personal reply. Innkeepers Lodge Birmingham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Excellent size rooms is about the only good point with this place. In desperate need of a renovation! Staff friendly enough even though incorrect breakfast times supplied, no cot provided as requested, main bed broken. Have to use a dingy dark night entrance with family unless you want to walk through the pub with your sleeping children. £3.99 buffet breakfast for good reason, very poor!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank nick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (West), Quinton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (west) Quinton was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My family stayed here for just one night after visiting drayton manor theme park. I was impressed with the room 312. It was huge and easily accommodated five of us. There was excellent tea and coffee making facilities and everything was spotlessly clean except a bit of mould in the shower!

The major downside for us on this trip was the noise. It took us over two hours to settle our kids to sleep as there was a horrible loud banging noise every few seconds. When the kids finally slept I tried to call down (difficult as there was no contact number in the room) and ask if they could help me out with the noise. The lady I spoke to said it was the door banging as someone had just checked it??? It wasn't that at all so she said she would tell the manager. It continued and no one got in touch to offer assistance. The noise was gone by the next day. At check out nothing was mentioned.

My husband investigated the noise the next day and we think it was the kitchen extractor fans which were close to one of our windows.

Shame really as the breakfast was great too.

Room Tip: do not choose 312 (family room)
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3BOYSANDMUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (West), Quinton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

We are very sorry that you left disappointed, following your stay at Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (west) Quinton. We have replied to you personally as it is our goal to give every customer the best service possible and your feedback can help us achieve this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stayed at the Innkeepers lodge overnight as I was on a course and travelled from Oxfordshire. I was very happy with the room, it was basic, bright, very clean and functional. The Inn is situated by a busy road but the. Double windows were excellent at completely shutting out noise.
All the staff were very friendly especially the lady who met me when I came downstairs for breakfast. The eating area is large and the quality of food is not brilliant in the evening but breakfast was exceptional with a varied choice of continental which is included in your room, and for £3.99 a cooked breakfast. I would say to anyone elderly, disabled or have heavy luggage to state this on booking as there are many many stairs and no lift!, Kept me fit though.
Overall -excellent accommodation for the money (£46 for a double room ensuite)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (West), Quinton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

May we thank you for your review, as we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (west) Quinton. We have replied to you personally and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I have used this Innkeepers Lodge an a few occasions whilst working in the area. The rooms are clean with plenty of room, the only comment would be that the bathrooms are cold.

Staff are very friendly and there is always a waiting list for the Carvery, which I have to say is probably the best Toby Carvery I have ever had.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worxelminxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (West), Quinton, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at Innkeeper's Lodge, Birmingham(West)
Quinton , and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one. We have replied to you personally about your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Good points first, good location, lots of free parking, large disabled room, easy to book on phone. Bedroom clean (checked under bed to make sure I hadn't dropped anything and there was a pen under the bed, good job nobody had been making whoopee or someone only knows what I would have found!) Mains sockets were fitted too near the desk top for phone/usb chargers to be plugged in and possibly in an awkward place for someone in a wheelchair . Bathroom, typical budget style, large enough for disabled, but shower could have been higher on wall for a carer, it would still have been low enough for a wheelchair user, taps "x" style, should be lever style, shower/shower curtain typically mouldy in places, bottom of door/frame damaged from damp etc. All in all as Alix Pollitzi would say, a perfectly usable bathroom, with the usual dispensers of soap and gel etc. The room was cold, due mainly to having no heating in the bathroom, this was rectified by a pleasant male staff member, who gave us the use of a portable heater ,I do not recommend the use in the bathroom obviously, (we used this in the window sill, as this seemed the main cause of cold air). The restaurant was a good price (register online for the toby and get voucher sent), less than £6 for a carvery. The food temperature, like most carveries, was mainly tepid, the young lady did offer the use of a microwave for my wife, job done. Bad points: On the way in from car park (hotel side,) you walk through the smoking area to get to the door, this whole area was covered in cigarette butts and rubbish, not something you would want to wheel a suitcase through. When I mentioned this to a member of staff, she told me it had been cleaned in the morning (this was 2pm) and this is what it gets like. Well at 9am (the morning of departure) the area was still pretty disgusting for a hotel exit (photos included), A member of staff was smoking and simply threw her cigarette butt into the pile n bushes along with the others, not very professional! We had the continental free breakfast, which was adequate, although another staff member would have been of use (instead of just the one) as people were moaning about the lack of plates, cups, glasses etc. and the time it took to get them.
The bar staff were on the whole good and friendly, we did have one female member of staff who didn't like the fact that I expected an expensive Stella in a Stella glass! (I know, I'm a snob!) I found out the following day, that the pub doesn't have any Stella glasses, due to them being nicked! I don't know what sort of glass I would have got if I asked for champagne? (Yes still a snob lol!). On the whole the pub and restaurant were clean and if I need to visit Birmingham again, I would (if they'll let me!) stay here. Opposite the pub there are several shops, one of which does a good Chinese takeaway. If you turn right (well left around the roundabout) and go about 1 and half mile, then take a left, there is a good shopping street. (put Argos shop in sat nav).

Room Tip: Ask bar staff for heater if room too cold.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DjMedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (West), Quinton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review, It was good of you to take the time to leave your feedback following your visit to Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham(west) Quinton .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#77 of 118 in Birmingham
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#102 of 118 in Birmingham
456 reviews
Elmdon Lodge
#1 of 53 in Birmingham
208 reviews
The Old Crown
#8 of 53 in Birmingham
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (West), Quinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (West), Quinton

Address: 563 Hagley Road West | Quinton, Birmingham B32 1HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range: £47 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (West), Quinton 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five miles from Birmingham's bustling city centre, the Quinton lodge provides convenient accommodation near the ICC (International Convention Centre), the NIA and the NEC.This attractive lodge has 24 comfy, modern rooms and is home to a Toby Carvery restaurant. So you can refuel after a day's business or sightseeing by tucking into freshly roasted joints, seasonal vegetables and all the traditional trimmings.You'll find no shortage of things to do in vibrant Birmingham. Enjoy some of the country's best shopping at The Bullring, absorb the buzz of the city's growing bar and restaurant scene, tuck into a spicy curry or watch cricket at Edgbaston. Families will also love the Thinktank Planetarium and all the chocolatey fun of Cadbury World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Birmingham (West), Quinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing