We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Patricia's Birthday ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pushkar

Pushkar
Ranked #44 of 2,185 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$25
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Ladywood
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Patricia's Birthday ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Visited on the basis of excellent reviews and was not disappointed. Food & drinks were unique and excellent. Ambience superb. Treated like restaurant critics. If you are in this fair City and want something special, it's a must.

Helpful?
Thank paulettrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,354
    474
    146
    82
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Curry and Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

The food has been excellent and the service has been outstanding.
The restaurant is arranged very tastily and the verity of dishes was perfect.
Whenever being back in Birmingham, Pushkar will be our first choice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gherardo_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“5* Food & Customer Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We only had one night in Birmingham and wanted a delicious curry. We choose Pushkar on the basis of Tripadvisor reviews and we weren't let down. The food was delicious and the customer service really made it feel like an occasion. Only the briefest of mentions about what we were celebrating and their waiter Huni J brought us a complementary slice of chocolate gateaux. We recommend you try it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Top Quality Venue and Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We always try to have a curry when in Birmingham (well it is the curry capital). We have often gone to the Blue Mango, which is very god, but for a change we thought we would try Pushkar as the Trip Advisor reviews were even better. Both are in Broad street. Pushkar is a very smart establishment with clientele to match. The welcome was immediate and very friendly. We were shown to a table by the greeter who spent a few minutes in general chit chat - a nice touch. We started with the usual popadoms (mixed) and chutneys which were good, We didn't have a starter but went main dishes of Lamb Rogan Josh (spiced slightly hotter than normal at my request) for me while my wife had a prawn Hara Masala. We accompanied this with Dal Tadka (which was much better than the normal Tarka Dal), rice and garlic naan. The quality of the food was excellent and some of the best we've eaten. Service and general atmosphere was also excellent. We don't normally have deserts but on this occasion did with Indian ice cream for me and a tasty pastry concoction with ice cream fro my wife. The whole meal was washed down with 3 pints of good draught Kingfisher beer between us. We finished off with coffee each. This is an extremely smart cocktail bar with excellent Indian food and the prices match this description. Our total bill was £75 for the meal described above, with no compulsory service charge (nice to see other restaurants take note) and no tip requested. However we thought it was good value for money. If you want a really good dining experience, maybe for a special occasion, this is the place to go. We will certainly be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Best Indian meal we have had for ages. Excellent service and fresh, tasty food. Fun cocktail list. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lissiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pushkar also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Pushkar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing