We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money!”
Review of Charde Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Charde Guest House
Ranked #45 of 54 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Extremely friendly service. decor was a little dated in certain areas of the building but overall was clean and presentable. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend.
It's not the ritz but is clean and comfortable at a very reasonable price!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3, double with en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tye-Smith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 75 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2012

I will not go into details, I just want to say, don't go there, I didn't even stay in the house but in a converted garage at the side of the house. So run down I have had to go to the doctors upon my return. The worst place I have ever stayed in my life. How does that get 3 AA stars is beyond me.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Riweb1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

I feel sorry for anyone who stays here. It shouldn't exist. The twin room booked was without a toilet, had to move to a single room because this had a toilet en-suite. The room had no heating and was cold, thankfully the temperature outside was above zero! The shower had a minimum pressure. The smell was musty. No hairdryer in room and no satellite tv, phone etc. To get any service you have to press a bell, but they responded only 1 from the 4 times. Asked to have heating put on, but this never happened.
Even if this was the only room available in Birmingham I still wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dutchie146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Booked the Charde Guest House because it was close to the NEC in Birmingham and the web pictures and accompanying description made it look and sound quite nice. Thought that £55 per night was a bit top end for a B&B, but could possibly compensate by being close by the NEC. Couldn't be further from the truth. Web description says they provide warm, homely and comfortable accommodation with 9 modern bedrooms all with televisions and they take great care of their guests. That's a joke! Rooms were freezing cold, despite requests from ourselves and other guests for the heating to be turned on (if you could find anyone to talk to that is) plus none of the windows could be opened for fresh air. As for homely and comfortable, that's an even bigger joke. The whole place is run down and shabby and far from modern. The mattresses in our room were cheap, old, uncomfortable and the springs made a noise at every turn, plus the bedding was shabby, dirty and looked like it came out of the Ark (thought we would get nits for sure)! The television was a huge old thing and without the necessary RC and the only control button on the TV itself was for channel changing (so you couldn't turn the sound up or down etc etc) very bizarre. On arrival we were greeted by a very scruffy chap who barely spoke english and looked like he had just got out of bed. There was a button and bell for attention at the unmanned reception, but other guests and ourselves could not get anyones attention upon ringing (normally when looking to complain about something - which is probably why nobody comes). We never saw anyone from the establishment again until just before we were about to leave in fact. In the mornings you are expected to help yourself to the 'continental' breakfast in what was obviously once a small kitchen at the rear. This is particularly dark & dingy and incidentally, has no sink or running water in it?!?!? And if by 'continental breakfast' they mean that you can put the bread provided in the toaster and proceed to use the communal margerine, jam and marmite (with a mixture of residues from previous users inside) if you dare - then they are obviously insane as well as dirty. To cap this, the water for the kettle is provided in two small jugs. When the jugs run out, there is no sink to fill them (unless you are expected to go back to your room to do so like we did?) and yes, it's a waste of time ringing those bells!
They also say that they are a family business, but it somehow didn't appear so and there is little sign of anyone around most of the time anyway. In fact 'the family' appear themselves to live in a shed at the end of what is a very untidy garden. We personally wouldn't recommend this place to the homeless or dossers, and think that even squatters would shy away from it!
Incidentally, it says that there are a good selection of restaurants nearby. Most definitely not! There is not even a pub within walking distance and the shuttered local shops lead one to think that maybe it isn't such a nice part of town anyway. You need to travel several miles to Solihull or Sutton Coldfield to find a respectable pub or restaurant. Definitely one to steer clear of..............

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RegularTraveller35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2010

Do not stay here, this was booked for a few days over christmas, however after chasing up the booking by phone, emails, fax no response to arrange check-in time. Other reviews on this place have not been good. Very unreliable & un-professional.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
5  Thank clburnett78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pien V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Yardley Hotel
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Sheldon
2.0 mi away
Central Guest House
Central Guest House
#12 of 54 in Birmingham
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The White House Quality Bed & Breakfast
4.8 mi away
The Old Crown
The Old Crown
#10 of 54 in Birmingham
143 reviews
3.1 mi away
James Guest House
James Guest House
#2 of 10 in Coleshill
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charde Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charde Guest House

Address: 289 Mackadown Lane | Tile Cross, Birmingham B33 0NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range: £37 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Charde Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing