We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does exactly what it says on the tin”
Review of Charde Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Charde Guest House
Ranked #45 of 52 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Does exactly what it says on the tin”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Stayed here for 1 night for a concert at the LG, the place is old fashioned and could do with a bit of updating but for the price it was what we were expecting. The rooms was clean & warm, beds were fresh & comfy & the one guy who seems to do everything there was great really friendly & helpful. This place is ideal for somewhere to put your head if your off out in Birmingham

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    6
    6
    13
    44
See reviews for
5
20
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Booked for a 1 night stay as were visiting the NEC. Turned up me and my boyfriend wernt expecting anything special for the price but this guest house is beyond a joke. Rang the door bell and was let in greeted by a man behind a little hatch who gave us a key to our room and told us to ring the emergency bell if we needed anything. On entering our room the t.v was on and after turning it of it came back on. The shower was obviously a converted wardrobe. And the bedding filthy I was to scared to stay here its like something out of a horror film. We left after 5 mimutes of being there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betsierose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I don't usually submit poor reviews, as I've stayed in some places which have not had the best reviews & found them perfectly reasonable. However I wish I'd had someone to tell me not to stay here. I booked for the proximity to the NEC & airport as I'd been working there one day and flying out early the next. However, despite being only 3 miles from both it cost me £15 in a taxi each way turning an otherwise average (?) value for money £35 into £65! For that I would have booked one of the travel lodge type places right at the NEC/airport.
As a single female traveller not accustomed to rougher areas of a city I found both the guest house and Tile Cross quite scary. To check in you had to ring a bell & wait for the door to be released then were attended to from behind a hatch, my room on the first floor was small with a cupboard sized en-suite which was cold. I didn't dare try the shower. The bed was an old divan style that looked as though it was coming apart, the headboard a piece of chipboard screwed to the wall and the curtains had a suspicious white stain on them near the head end of the bed. The bedding was clean though. There was a small tv with remote and all the freebies channels. When I ventured out to find a cash machine and some dinner I walked quite a way in a few directions but only found a Lidl & a small row of shops - most of them shuttered up. There was an Indian restaurant that I would not have felt comfortable eating in alone, and a corner shop type with a charge cash machine. I ended up eating crisps & cheese in my room as there was nothing else within walking distance.
I had asked if there could be a reduction in room rate as I would be gone before breakfast but was told no, that continental breakfast was laid out at midnight so I could get some before I left. When I went down at 4am all I could find was a mini fridge with some cartons of orange juice & milk & some margarine, a toaster & a kettle - no form of food anywhere or even teabags. I don't know if they'd forgotten to put it out or if that was it?
All in all I was glad to get to the airport where I bought breakfast & could relax!
I definately wouldn't recommend it for single female travellers, and please take into account the extra costs of taxis in this area if you are not driving yourself. I could easily have got a travel lodge room closer for this kind of money and been more comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LyndiPester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights in Jan, would recommend it to anyone. The service was good, breakfast reflected the price we paid hence we weren't expecting the full works. Rooms were clean, tidy and warm.

Does look quite run down but our stay was comfortable. Anyone wanting a high end hotel need to fork out for it otherwise stop complaining.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 45dotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Booked a double, single and twin room for a group of us. All rooms had bedding that looked unclean. The bathrooms were dirty. Toilet in double room looked like it hadn't been flushed after use let alone cleaned. The twin was a shed in the garden and for two older people in the group who had to walk through an overgrown path that was unlit. The worst thing was that this shed was freezing and when told it wasn't suitable, was given another double that had no toilet and was told to use the toilet in the hall next to the front door. Definitely not what we were expecting at all from what was sold to us. The breakfast room still had crumbs on the table. Ended up leaving after being there 10mins and staying at holiday inn express, slightly more expensive but so much better in every way.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank istufidvits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

After reading some of the bad reviews I was really nervous about the booking I had made back in June with this b&b so we packed accordingly (ie. brought extra towels, thick jumpers and toilet paper. Didn't need any of it. Whilst the decor is very dated the room was warm comfortable, clean and had towels and toilet paper. The owner was friendly (even though we had a very late check in), We paid for a family room for 2 nights which worked out at £22.00 pppn. Breakfast was help yourself to cereals and toast tea and coffee pretty much 24/7. We had no complaints at all. Only downside is if your a light sleeper you are on the flight path of Birmingham airport. We got exactly what we paid for a cheap b&b, no frills, no hassle.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank k b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Extremely friendly service. decor was a little dated in certain areas of the building but overall was clean and presentable. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend.
It's not the ritz but is clean and comfortable at a very reasonable price!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3, double with en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tye-Smith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Sheldon
2.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Birmingham South/NEC
1.9 mi away
Heath Lodge
Heath Lodge
#1 of 1 in Marston Green
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
1.4 mi away
The White House Quality Bed & Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Nine Elms
Nine Elms
#26 of 52 in Birmingham
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charde Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charde Guest House

Property: Charde Guest House
Address: 289 Mackadown Lane | Tile Cross, Birmingham B33 0NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Charde Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing