We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, clean and tidy rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel
Ranked #12 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2011

The hotel is in a brilliant location, it is very clean, and the decor is very stylish also.

The staff working there when we were there were very kind, and made sure everything was ok for myself and my boyfriend. The restaurant was lovely, I especially liked the bar as they served cocktails in the evening!

We had a good meal, and It was good value.

The only downside to our stay was that at 3am the fire alarm went off, it was extremely loud, but did go off after a few seconds. We did inform the staff the next morning, and they were very apologetic and explained someone had been smoking in one of the rooms. We do not cloud our judgement of the overall hotel by this incident, as it WAS NOT the hotels fault.

I would definitely stay again. And recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: we had a view of the city/park, it was very nice.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vick90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,970)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,882 - 1,888 of 1,970 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2011

We decided to spend 3 days of Easter Holiday in Birmingham in April 2011. “Which hotel to stay in?” – we had main question for all family. It was our first visit to Birmingham and we wanted to see a few main attractions there: Sea Life, ThinkTank, Canal Boat Trip, Black Country Museum, etc. After careful consideration, looking at rates and reviews of many hotels, we came to decision to stay for two nights in Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Str).
Hotel location is very attractive and useful for walk around city centre, just minutes from High Street and Victoria Square with many shops and cafes. Cathedral Park is just around the corner, good for evening walk and picnic.
We arrived to Birmingham by car and left it at NPC (Newhall Street) for two days (£14.50 per day only). Short walk from car park to hotel took 10 minutes. At reception we approached to check-in machines and following on-screen instructions, have done check-in: paid for our stay, received receipt and e-keys for all members of our family, even for children. Our room was on the first floor and we used lift (also staircase available). Of course, size of room is small for family, but we understand why. All beds were ready for us. Room and bath were clean with nice decoration, cups and glasses waited for fresh tea or coffee provided. In bathroom hand soap and body shampoo were in special holders. Towels for all were on the place. Flatscreen TV with Freeview was small, but quite enough for this room size. Room had many power sockets for use. Small kettle and hairdryer were provided. Generally, very good impression!
We had breakfast every morning of our stay in the hotel. It was outstandingly perfect! The list of offered would be very long, but I will try not to miss anything: scrambled and fried eggs, cooked sausages, mushrooms, tomatoes (cooked vegetarian food is available upon request), different cereals and dried fruits, jams and honey, fresh fruits, different kind of bread, crumpets and croissants, special coffee machine with big range of choice, 5 different juices, butter, natural and fruit yogurts and milk. All packed food provided was produced with high standard quality by famous brands. Restaurant staff during breakfast time was very kind and responsive, thanks a lot to them! Girls from reception – Jess and Amy – were very kind and helpful at any point, thanks to them as well!

Room Tip: Rooms with odd numbers overlook at Waterloo Stree.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pete0629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We have just returned from a weekend visit to Birmingham to celebrate my cousin's birthday and can honestly say we had a great stay.

We (me, my sister and brother in law and our parents) arrived and were greeted by two members of staff who talked us through the self check kiosk and we were checked in within a matter of minutes. We then had three double rooms allocated to us all situated on floor 7 we had pre-booked the previous week and got the low rate of £29 per room per night. This has to be described as fantastic value considering it was the weekend of the Royal Wedding and May Bank Holiday. Staff told us about the bar/restaurant opening times (bar closes at 11pm but there are a few other places open just round the corner if you fancy a late night tipple). Rooms were clean, beds extremely comfortable, there were extra pillows, hairdryer, flat panel TV (never watched but.....) and a selection of teas and coffee. Had a drink in the bar before going out and that was nice, but busy atmosphere.

The hotel is 5 minutes walk from New Street Station, lovely views over the church of St Philip and it's gardens if you have a room over looking the front. Minutes away from the shopping of the Bullring, The Mailbox, New Street and Corporation Street, the bars and restaurants of Brindley Place or the pubs and clubs of Broad Street.

Only downside there was a fire alarm at 7.30am on the Sunday Morning and having evacuated the building in my pyjamas (I knew there was a reason for wearing them in hotels!) only to get back to the room and get in bed then the alarm went off again at 8am. Someone had tampered with the alarm so it wasn't a fault of the hotel, but on a positive note there was free tea and coffee in the bar and the staff were fantastic in making sure people were OK and true to the their word you get a refund if you are unhappy with your nights sleep. We weren't unhappy but we got a nights cost refunded to us for each room anyway. Sadly, as is always the case, some people thought they should have been given a free breakfast even though they wouldn't have been up at that time!

I haven't been to the centre of Birmingham since the early 70's but it was a lovely refreshing change and I will be staying here again when in Birmingham.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peakster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

This is a relatively modern Premier Inn in a central location in Birmingham. This means that the beds are reasonably comfortable, and the place is relatively clean. Check-in is via a machine with friendly staff available to help if you require them. The lobby is small and contains a number of vending machines.

Two lifts are available (with a separate call button for each). My room was close to the lift which meant there was a fair amount of noise coming from people exiting the lift.

The rooms themselves are pretty standard for a premier inn. Small flat screen TVs with Freeview channels, reasonably comfortable bed and a tiny wardrobe in a small room. The bathroom is OK, with soap coming from dispensers on the walls.

This is a budget hotel with a budget price to match. Don't stay here if you're looking for luxury! That being said, it does what it does fairly well, and I doubt you'd regret staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liamuk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Would recommend staying here. Fantastic value for money and spot on location. Friendly staff and great overall.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillyCoventry1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We were unsure of what to expect-given the price.
Location was fantastic,clean large room with good size comfortable bed.
Helpful staff.
We didn't eat at hotel so cannot comment.
Parking nearby was fine- albeit quite expensive
We would stay again

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Had originally intended to book around the NEC, as the purpose of our visit to Birmingham was for The Gadget Show Live...but me being a stereotypical 20-something female managed to persuade my parter to stay in the City Centre so I could check out the shopping facilities! The hotel was absolutely perfect for our stay. Check in was everything you want it to be, quick and easy. I had chucked myself on the comfy bed & was testing out my squiggy pillows within 5 minutes of walking into the premises. Perfect! Rooms were fully equipped with a kettle, selection of teas/coffees, a power shower, TV, and even a shower gel dispenser (Im so used to bringing my own to budget hotels so this is a nice touch.) We had a room on the 6th floor but the lifts came quickly and we never waited longer the 30 seconds of it to arrive. I highly recommend the all you can eat breakfast buffet for £7 as it is well worth the money, especially for the coffee drinkers; the coffee machine is provided by Costa and considering you can spend up to £4 on one coffee in the Costa chain - you are getting a full english (or cereal/toast/croissants - or all four, it's is a buffet after all!) for a few quid extra.

I think a special mention is deserved to the fantastic staff we encountered during our trip - what a credit to the Premiere Inn brand. Even friendlier than I've experienced in some 5* hotels. This hotel is in an ideal location for all your City Centre Brummie needs; 1 minute from the train station loads of bars, pubs and restaurants ...& of course the shopping centre!...which was a god send after dragging my poor partner around The Bullring all day! Should there be a need for us to stay in Birmingham again, I will definitely return to the Premiere Inn and recommend it to all...!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunWorshipperJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
942 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,479 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
884 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
3,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel

Address: 3-6 Waterloo Street, Birmingham B2 5PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#11 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £55 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Put yourself at the centre of everything here at Premier Inn Birmingham Waterloo Street. Looking out across St Philips Square and the Cathedral, the major attractions and major businesses are just a hop, skip and jump away. You can browse the big brands and designer names of the Bull Ring, catch the must-see events at the Hippodrome Theatre, Symphony Hall, NIA or ICC, or find chocoholic's heaven at Cadbury World. After a day's business or indulgence, return and savour the food (and views) at our bar and grill before relaxing in our spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Directions: At junction 6 of the M6 exit onto the A38/Corporation St. Take exit towards West Bromwich/A41. Merge onto St Chad's Queensway. Take 2nd exit for Great Charles St Queensway. Great Charles St West bears left and becomes Livery St. Turn left onto Waterloo St. Car park on Livery St (B3 2BJ) costs 11GBP for 24 hours Monday-Friday and 13.80GBP for 24 hours on Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo St) Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing