We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel
Ranked #8 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

This is a recently renovated building turned into a Premier Inn Hotel. The rooms are in superb condition, beds very comfy, nice clean ensuites etc etc. Views can vary depending which room you are in but as you probably only go there to sleep shouldn't be an issue. My view wasn't great but I wasn't there for the view. The bar and restaurant were nicely decorated, but my only complaint would be that the architect who designed the bar had no idea about acoustics. The place has all hard surfaces and the crescendo of noise as the bar got busy was not nice. For the hearing impaired it would be a nightmare. Fortunately we weren't staying there long and were heading out for a meal and drinks elsewhere. My other complaint about the bar is that it closes at 11.00pm !!!!!

Breakfast was self service unless you wanted poached eggs, I did, they were cooked to perfection, white was firm and yolk runny :-) The self service area was a bit cramped and you had to queue to get tea and coffee. Apart from that this is a nice hotel. Oh another negative is that you have to pay for wifi access, this is just ridiculous in this day and age when most people use it. It wouldn't cost the earth to provide it free rather than the rip-off rates they charge....get it sorted Premier Inn....

Az

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AzzyBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,012
    595
    132
    55
    36
See reviews for
386
554
120
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Great location, excellent value for money. I pre booked a room and took advantage of the advertised £29 a room. This really does what it says on the tin and much much more. I was going for a night out with friends in Birmingham so location and value for money were important. The rooms are a good size, spacious and modern. the bed was comfortable, tea making facilities and everything was well maintained and most of important clean. They have also got an automated check in system which works well and even produces your room key card. The hotel is very security conscious and on numerous occasions throughout the hotel you have to use your key card to gain access i.e. to use the lifts which made us feel very safe even in the city centre of Birmingham. Reception staff are very helpful and friendly. We had the breakfast which was all you can eat for £7.99 which for the selection and quality was excellent value for money, all of the items were branded like Kellogs and Twinings. You were made to feel very welcome and overall just excellent, would not hesitate to recommend to anyone and also would definitely come back again. There is no parking at the actual hotel but there is a secure NCP car park less than 10 mins walk and it was very cost effective £10.50 for 24 hours which for central Birmingham i thought excellent

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clare1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Just average and from the reviews I was expecting better, but maybe I was unlucky. The (very loud in-room) fire alarm went off at 6am one morning for about 10 seconds. Not pleasant at all. Room was good, bed excellent (although my side bed light didn't work), shower good (although needed to take apart shower gel dispenser to get gel as it didn't work). Cereal and fruit of breakfast were excellent, but the hot food just wasn't warm enough. Major plusses are the staff, who were all very friendly and good position for train station and shops etc.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiley3867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

I booked eight rooms for a University reunion at this hotel, all at a cost of £29 per night. For this price in a city centre Premier Inn I wasn't honestly expecting too much, but I was actually delighted with the choice. Location is ideal for everything in Birmingham city centre, the hotel is clean and bright with a very efficient reception process - I changed the bookings several times on the night of arrival and the staff there dealt with it all very calmly and efficiently. It was a Friday night so the Colmore bar attached to the hotel was incredibly busy, but a good start to the evening's entertainment.
Rooms were large, spotless and had double glazing and highly effective air con - opening the windows is not an option in a city centre location!
Breakfast was good value - all you can eat for £7.99, but you could pre-order eggs and then help yourself.
Overall, a very good experience and one that has gone some way to restore my confidence in Premier Inns. This place had 4 star hotel features at a third or quarter of the price.
If we had been charged £99 per night, this would still have been great value.

Room Tip: Family rooms are very large - get one if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Only stayed one night after being at a works do, but the hotel was lovely and clean, rooms were spacious for city centre, bathroom was spotless. Staff were friendly and breakfast in the morning great to. A real treat compared to recent hotels, that cost a lot more.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyRidsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Having never been to Birmingham we had a good look around at all sorts of hotels and hearing that there was a lot to see and do in Birmingham we didn't want to stay anywhere too expensive so we could save money to go out and about. We decided to go for this Premier Inn and honestly cannot say a bad word about our stay. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from Birmingham New Street once you find the quickest way to walk and very close to the Bullring and all the shops and restaurants. The bedroom and bathroom were spotless and as with all the Premier Inns we have stayed in, the beds are extremely comfortable. The staff were very friendly and check in and out were the easiest I've ever experienced. We would recommend that anyone staying try the food in the restaurant. Very nice, generous portions and reasonably priced, in fact I would recommend anyone visiting Birmingham staying in a different hotel that you give this place a try as you will not be disappointed. Whether it was breakfast, lunch or dinner the chefs and waitress' were always polite and made sure everything was okay with your meal. Would definitely stay here again if we decide to visit Birmingham in the future.

Room Tip: We were in Room 711 which was a tad noisy but this was expected as there was an Art and Music festiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Owen1196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. Hotel is in the city centre overlooking a nice green area & very close (5 mins) to New Street train station, shops etc. Rooms very comfortable & clean but a little warm at nightime. Breakfast was excellent and John the breakfast cook could not have been more helpful to our various requests. Had dinner in the restaurant on two nights and again good food & reasonably priced..especially for children. Travelled to Drayton Manor by train (New Street) & taxi from Tamworth (£7 each way for 6 of us). Well worth a visit. Don't buy Drayton Manor tickets at Tamworth Station. Cheaper at the park itself. We will be returning to Premier Inn Waterloo Street.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have nice views of the Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,756 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel
Address: 3-6 Waterloo Street, Birmingham B2 5PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Put yourself at the centre of everything here at Premier Inn Birmingham Waterloo Street. Looking out across St Philips Square and the Cathedral, the major attractions and major businesses are just a hop, skip and jump away. You can browse the big brands and designer names of the Bull Ring, catch the must-see events at the Hippodrome Theatre, Symphony Hall, NIA or ICC, or find chocoholic's heaven at Cadbury World. After a day's business or indulgence, return and savour the food (and views) at our bar and grill before relaxing in our spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Directions: At junction 6 of the M6 exit onto the A38/Corporation St. Take exit towards West Bromwich/A41. Merge onto St Chad's Queensway. Take 2nd exit for Great Charles St Queensway. Great Charles St West bears left and becomes Livery St. Turn left onto Waterloo St. Car park on Livery St (B3 2BJ) costs 11GBP for 24 hours Monday-Friday and 13.80GBP for 24 hours on Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo St) Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing