We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location location location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel
Ranked #10 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Location location location”
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Perfect location overlooking the Cathedral in the Heart of Birmingham - clean fresh Hotel - very comfy bed and spacious room.
Breakfast plentiful hot and tasty, helpful staff and very personable.
One glitch in my stay the automated Dinner reservation system that I had used with no problems at the other Premier Inns I have stayed at - on this occasion failed to flag up the reservation despite a confirmation text and me personally clarifying on arrival ( as it was Boxing Day) my reservation would be fine.
Consequently I returned to the Hotel and restaurant was closed - on a plus the Duty Manager rustled up a Pizza for me and provided a glass of wine- just a niggle but will be watchful regarding this for future stays at this and the other Premiers I stay at

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blkcountrywench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at Premier Inn, Birmingham City Centre, and Waterloo Street. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and regret to hear that you have experienced issues with the automated service. Restaurant opening times are available both on check-in and in your rooms, but we are more than happy to provided midnight pizzas for the late comers. We value and take into account guest feedback, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,039
    609
    137
    56
    39
See reviews for
396
569
122
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
plymouth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Very Friendly staff. (which always seems to be the same in every Premier Inn) Quiet location Right in the heart of Birmingham, great for shopping. Hotel family room we had was adequate clean, tidy, no frills but then what do you expect for £34! Only downside for me was because we had children with us we did not eat/drink in the restaurant/bar as it was very busy with Christmas revellers, no real problem though as there were lots of places to eat within walking distance. I would defiantly stay there again easy access to train station as well .

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icemanPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with Premier Inn, Birmingham City Centre, and Waterloo Street. Christmas times are a bit busy for our F&B team, however the rest of the time the restaurant is readily available and out Premier Inn All You Can Eat Breakfast is free for kids! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Stayed at premier inn for 4 nights from 7-11th of December along with my sister. Really good location close to the bullring and Christmas markets no need for taxis. Excellent food and breakfast eat as much as you like. Rooms clean but a bit on the small side we had a family room cramped enough without the kids. Beds excellent really good nights sleep would definitely come back really enjoyable experience both at the and the Christmas markets

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YMcDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay in Premier Inn, Birmingham City Centre, Waterloo street. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and especially our All You Can Eat Breakfast. Guest feedback is of primary importance for us and we do our best to act everywhere possible. We do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

On a budget, this is probably the best place to stay in the heart of the city! Second visit, and will definitely do again. Difficult to see how you can go wrong with this one unless you're expecting the offerings of a " top class" hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevinonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay in Premier Inn, Birmingham City Centre, Waterloo street. We are glad that you are satisfied with the quality of our hotel and therefore, we hope that you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Booked for a one night stay for after my office Christmas party. Arrived about 2.30pm with a bit of a queue at the welcome desk, however I noticed the "Quick + Easy" check-in machine so used that and it was! The room had a seat/extra bed which was good for chilling on. No wardrobe but a wall unit with hanging space and shelving with the TV and kettle on. The hanging space was a bit fiddly if you wanted something that wasn't at the front and the TV was larger than the space for it so it was effectively stuck at an angle. Neither of which were a real issue but did stand out as otherwise the room was well laid out. The bathroom was surprisingly large and the shower was great. We also paid for breakfast and this was very good as well in nice surroundings. Very pleased and will consider staying here again should the need arise.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay in Premier Inn, Birmingham City Centre, and Waterloo Street. As a city centre Premier Inn, we do our best to provide best room facilities within our range of hotels. Therefore, your feedback is very important to and we ensure that it is appropriately acted on, where possible. Finally, we are glad that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

This hotel is fine for a city break, it is right in the centre-near all the shops and within easy walking distance of bars/restaurants etc. Parking is easy-we parked at Snow Hill which is a 5-10 minute wallk away and costs £10.50 for 24 hours.
The room was usual Premier standard-clean,comfortable,flat screen TV - only minor gripe is they're a bit skimpy on the tea/coffee making facilities-so take some teabags if required!
Check in was slow- long queue at the desk and the automated check in had a few problems,but staff were on hand and were very pleasant.
The bar is busy but OK, we ate in the restaurant and the food is pretty good - not a great deal of choice but reasonably priced and service was good.
Overall,good value, nice staff and perfect location so go ahead and book it!

Room Tip: All rooms will be the same-it;s a Premier!-but book high floor just in case the bar is noisy (but cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derekjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Premier Inn, Birmingham City Centre, and Waterloo Street. We would like to apologize that you have experienced a slower check-in and we are making sure that there is enough staff on as Christmas times were busy. Tea, coffee, milk and sugar are available on reception 24h, so please don't hesitate to ask! Bar is only mainly busy on a Friday especially around Christmas. Special room requests are encouraged in order to make your stay as pleasant as we can! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
226 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We stayed here for the 2nd time this year last friday. we were visiting the Birmingham "Frankfurt Christmas Market" then going to a concert at Symphony Hall so we decided we'd "make a night of it".. We had stayed here in the summer and had a good stay (see previous review) . Even though the place was buzzing the staff on reception went out of their way to allocate us the same room we had used before and assisted with check in etc. We expected a disturbed night as it is "office party season" and the hotel was full but to be honest we did not hear a sound all night. There are complaints in other reviews about noise from the adjacent bar but this closes at 11.00 so really I dont see this as an issue. We did not have an evening meal at the hotel but we did have the "Premier breakfast" which at £7.99 each for an "all you can eat and drink" buffet style breakfast was excellent value (and delicious too) . We love staying here and are looking forward to returning next year . Highly recommended :-)

Room Tip: we stay on the 4th floor and have very quiet nights both times - I'm told that the 1st floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you for staying at Premier Inn, Birmingham City Centre, and Waterloo Street. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your experience with us on a number of occasions. We fulfil room requests and our maintenance as well as night team, work hard to ensure internal noise levels are brought to minimal. We would furthermore like to thank you for your review and hope that you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,892 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel
Address: 3-6 Waterloo Street, Birmingham B2 5PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Put yourself at the centre of everything here at Premier Inn Birmingham Waterloo Street. Looking out across St Philips Square and the Cathedral, the major attractions and major businesses are just a hop, skip and jump away. You can browse the big brands and designer names of the Bull Ring, catch the must-see events at the Hippodrome Theatre, Symphony Hall, NIA or ICC, or find chocoholic's heaven at Cadbury World. After a day's business or indulgence, return and savour the food (and views) at our bar and grill before relaxing in our spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Directions: At junction 6 of the M6 exit onto the A38/Corporation St. Take exit towards West Bromwich/A41. Merge onto St Chad's Queensway. Take 2nd exit for Great Charles St Queensway. Great Charles St West bears left and becomes Livery St. Turn left onto Waterloo St. Car park on Livery St (B3 2BJ) costs 11GBP for 24 hours Monday-Friday and 13.80GBP for 24 hours on Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo St) Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing