We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff, but breakfast system needs sorting!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel
Ranked #10 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great location and staff, but breakfast system needs sorting!”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Clean and comfortable room, as expected from Premier Inn. Hotel staff all very friendly and polite, helpful without being intrusive, top marks to them. Had a family room which came with 2 single beds and a double. Was a bit cramped as room was fairly small compared to other Premier Inn rooms I have stayed in (I've stayed in quite a few), but we were only staying for one night so this was fine. Also, how many hotels will even offer to put 4 people in 1 room, all with an actual bed? Not many that I have found!

My only real gripe was about the breakfast system. I love a buffet breakfast, but the kitchen staff could not cope, and food was not being replenished quickly enough. Some people, myself included, were waiting up to 15 minutes for some standard items...I'm not talking about special request things here like omlettes etc. During this time, a large queue formed. Some people in the queue were not waiting for things to be replenished, they just wanted to get things that were already there... but nobody was managing the queue, and telling people to go ahead and take things that are ready rather than waiting in line with people who were waiting for items to be refilled. Some member of staff should have taken control of this situation. I have contacted Premier Inn about this through their website, and am waiting to hear back. I feel bad complaining about this as the rest of my experience was great, but the fact is it was very frustrating, even my stepdaughter appeared after over 15 minutes with a plate of basic food, saying she had been waiting so long she didn't even feel like eating anymore! I have two suggestions for this hotel. Either make sure a member of staff 'manages' the queue that develops to ensure people who aren't waiting for items can just go ahead and get food that is ready, or revise the system to ensure more of the food is prepared and kept stocked up properly. I would suggest giving over a couple of tables in the restaurant area to act as a 'second' buffet (even if this is only at the weekends when I am sure they are busiest), which can be filled up with stuff that keeps warm well on a warming tray for some time, so can be stocked up even before breakfast begins. Sausages, bacon, beans, hash browns tomatoes. The area where hot food is taken from is currently very small, so a second table like this would split the queue and take off some pressure. The trays of food on the existing buffet are simply not big enough to cope with demand on a busy day. I hope they sort this out, as it put a dampener on my experience, and I heard several other people around the restaurant complaining too... and yet surprisingly, the restaurant did not actually seem to be unreasonably busy! So this must be a recurring problem. I hope they take my comments in the constructive manner in which they are intended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andybullock77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,047
    622
    140
    56
    40
See reviews for
398
582
124
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2012

nice, clean room; well insulated against noise from the street; great, central location on a really pretty square. all felt very efficient and convenient, and was clean and comfortable.
couldn't ask for more, and all at a good price.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Katalina75_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We booked our room at this Premier Inn quite last minute, but this didn't seem to matter we still had a good room. Clean, extremely comfortable and very very friendly from the moment we arrived :)

We were not sure where to park so pulled up outside and just popped inside to ask for directions to the nearest car park, as mentioned on the website, fortunately we had pulled into a parking space right outside the door and then is where we stayed, with recommendations as to how to make full advantagement of the free overnight parking as well as avoiding that early morning ticket if we had not topped up in time, it was so easy, less hassle than driving round Birmingham and also even though roadside parking we felt at ease to do so :) With our Sat Nav the hotel was very easy to find, so thoroughly recommend you use one of those unless you know Birmingham very well.

We booked our meal for that evening and breakfast through the meal deal, which worked out extremely cost effective, evening meal with three course meal and a choice of beverage (I asked for wine and received a very big glass of it) and then in the morning the all you can eat breakfast, what more could you want.

We were going that evening to the NIA and this was an easy and pleasant walk from the hotel and not at all worrying late at night on our return.

The only downer was late at night (around midnight) there was some noise when the bottles were being emptied into the bottle bin, we were at the back of the hotel, unfortunately we had only just got off to sleep so this noise awoke us but probably if we had been asleep abit longer it may not have disturbed us at all, apart from that we heard no noise what so ever. So to avoid this it would be nice if the bins were emptied earlier in the evening or the next day as it was quite loud.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to friends and also would stay there again myself.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wipeouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed here Sunday night just gone and got the £29 rate asked for a room on front which we did big room but didn't over look the catherdal which we wanted but great room all the same comfy bed big bathroom, superb bar next door really cosy n nice drinks, we didn't get breakfast in Pi as to expensive so went around corner to the briar rose wetherspoons was nice n cheap, as always.

We went for a meal at the bar estillo at the mailbox which has superb tapas and we had 20% voucher for a Sunday night lovely area is the mailbox have been before would go again to the tapas bar.

we also walked to the custard factory in digbeth on the Monday and the Arcadian on the Sunday night also.

This hotel is bob on in the centre so perfect for shopping a night out and sightseeing, we loved the location and of course it being in an attractive location near louis vuitton and the lovely cathedral sq if you can get the cheap rate book i know it wont apply on Saturdays and Sundays.

Room Tip: ask for rooms ending in 19 as these are directly opposite the sq with the catherdal we were in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazz36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I am a frequent guest at all premier inn hotels I have stayed in three in Belfast several times and in London, but I can honestly say this is to date my favorite. The location is beautiful and the surroundings are very scenic, the rooms are the usual PI rooms,which are super, but the staff in this hotel are really top class, friendly, courteous and very helpful for people who have never been to Birmingham before. I will definitely recommend this hotel and I can't wait to use it again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laws4_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Just stopped the one night at this hotel excellent location spotless and very friendly would recommend this hotel very highly This trip was with a group of friends who all said how pleased they stayed at this hotel and would gladly return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john_murray21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

The hotel is situated just off the pedestrian walkways in the centre of Birmingham, with restaurants close by. The electronic check-in service was novel, but for the same amount of time and effort it took, I would have preferred the old way of checking in. We were woken up around 6:30am when the fire alarm went off. I would have liked to have seen staff marshalling people out of the hotel more effectively, and perhaps doing a head count/roll call check. After a good few minutes, with no fire department arriving, the alarm ended and people simply chose to walk back in the hotel. Again, no staff advised us to go back in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
911 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
2,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
861 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#8 of 117 in Birmingham
2,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel
Address: 3-6 Waterloo Street, Birmingham B2 5PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Put yourself at the centre of everything here at Premier Inn Birmingham Waterloo Street. Looking out across St Philips Square and the Cathedral, the major attractions and major businesses are just a hop, skip and jump away. You can browse the big brands and designer names of the Bull Ring, catch the must-see events at the Hippodrome Theatre, Symphony Hall, NIA or ICC, or find chocoholic's heaven at Cadbury World. After a day's business or indulgence, return and savour the food (and views) at our bar and grill before relaxing in our spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Directions: At junction 6 of the M6 exit onto the A38/Corporation St. Take exit towards West Bromwich/A41. Merge onto St Chad's Queensway. Take 2nd exit for Great Charles St Queensway. Great Charles St West bears left and becomes Livery St. Turn left onto Waterloo St. Car park on Livery St (B3 2BJ) costs 11GBP for 24 hours Monday-Friday and 13.80GBP for 24 hours on Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo St) Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing