We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel
Ranked #9 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Full Five Stars here, what a lovely location to get around & access Birmingham City Centre,cannot fault the staff, very polite & helpful, the room spotless,no issues at all, even the room had a great view looking onto the Cathedral. The weather was not good, but you cannot blame the hotel for that. All in all,I would definately stay here again, with no hesitation.I was that impressed, we stopped for Breakfast even though we had not booked in to have one.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,054)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,550 - 1,556 of 2,054 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2012

All of the staff were helpful. Hotel location is ideal for getting around the centre of Birmingham. The room was the usual clean and comfortable standard we always get with Premier Inns. One issue we had was the smell of cigarette smoke in the room and in particular the bathroom. This was not the fault of the staff and they tried to rectify it for us promptly. It would also have been nice to be able to open a window to let some air into the room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

This very nearly made the full five stars, the welcome was friendly, the room was spotlessly clean, the bathroom/shower was in great condition with a great shower, clean towels and supplied toiletries.
We stayed a Thursday and Friday night to visit the Christmas Markets (which by the way were pretty ok as well) Friday morning the breakfast was very well impressive, loads of food all of good quality and very good value as we had paid in advance, however, and this is where they lost the final star, Saturday's breakfast. Obviously busier as all rooms that had not pre booked breakfasts were offerered discounted cost breakfasts causing massive queues to get food.
I observed the kitchen whilst waiting and organisation was not there, chickens with no heads springs to mind. Obviously more people turned up than were expected but that is what sometimes happens in the catering industry. I made do with some toast even though i wanted more of the great bacon from the day before.
Unlucky Premier, you nearly did it.
Would we go back?......of course we would over all it was a good experience, just wish they vould sort the kitchen out a bit more.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stigmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

I stayed at this hotel for just one night but it was one of the most comfortable nights sleep I have had. All the staff are friendly and I was welcomed with a smile at check-in. The bed was comfy and room was spotless. Couldn't praise this hotel enough and is right in walking distance of the shops and bars.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

If you want somewhere to stay within walking distance of everything, this is it! The rooms are warm, clean, quiet and well equipped. We would have prefered a bath as Lenny Henry says in the adverts, but the shower was very good. There are so many places to eat in the area that you will never starve. We visited Birminham's Rag Market (near Selfridges) which is great if you like sewing. Stalls have fabric from £1.00 per metre. We also visited the art gallery which is just up the road from the hotel. Also visited The Jewellery Quarter which is very interesting - window shopped only much to my wife's disgust!

Room Tip: We were opposite the lift on the 4th floor, but we were not inconvenienced by other peoples noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertiebuttons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

got a room for 19 quid a night thanks to the promotional fares by premier inn...made the most of the boxing day shopping at the bull ring...would stay again if they introduce the promotional fares
Did not try the breakfast or dinner though

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karanrishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012 via mobile

As I walked I was remembered from my stay last December - Duty Manager ensured that kitchen was aware we would be eating late due to needs of work - all staff were personable and considerate - later that evening we arrived after our hard day as we work in retail ( Boxing Day sale time) the restaurant staff were expecting us and immediately made sure we had everything we needed including a very high standard meal - Heather our waitress was particularly good and we felt quite at home - room was clean comfortable and overlooked the Cathedral lit up by Christmas lights - magical - I slept like a log - next morning a delightful breakfast team gave us a breakfast fit for a King and we lingered over extra coffees we were so comfortable - overall a very high standard of customer service making us feel like individuals rather than just a room number - better service than I have experienced in more supposedly higher grade hotels - location heart of Birmingham - just brilliant

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blkcountrywench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,301 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,333 reviews
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,555 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel

Address: 3-6 Waterloo Street, Birmingham B2 5PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £45 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Put yourself at the centre of everything here at Premier Inn Birmingham Waterloo Street. Looking out across St Philips Square and the Cathedral, the major attractions and major businesses are just a hop, skip and jump away. You can browse the big brands and designer names of the Bull Ring, catch the must-see events at the Hippodrome Theatre, Symphony Hall, NIA or ICC, or find chocoholic's heaven at Cadbury World. After a day's business or indulgence, return and savour the food (and views) at our bar and grill before relaxing in our spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Directions: At junction 6 of the M6 exit onto the A38/Corporation St. Take exit towards West Bromwich/A41. Merge onto St Chad's Queensway. Take 2nd exit for Great Charles St Queensway. Great Charles St West bears left and becomes Livery St. Turn left onto Waterloo St. Car park on Livery St (B3 2BJ) costs 11GBP for 24 hours Monday-Friday and 13.80GBP for 24 hours on Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo St) Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing