We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel
Ranked #12 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I stayed in this hotel as I was attending an event on the night and this was the closest hotel to the venue.
Everything about my stay was very good. Upon arrival, the lady on the reception was very helpful. She was friendly and explained the key things to us. The check in process was very easy and within 5 minutes we were in our room.
Our room was close to the lift, which was useful, although on the morning anyone checking out before us could be heard talking etc from inside our room which is a down point but wasn't so bad.
The room was decent sized. Everything was spotless, apart from some soap stains on the bathroom sink. The towels and bedding were very clean, with not a mark on them.
The air conditioning was good, but sometimes became a bit hot in the room. Apparently you are not supposed to open the windows but I did due to it being warm in the room.
The shower was a bit hard to get the hang of but when figured out worked fine.
We were not made aware of the fact you could buy wash bags from reception so went out and purchased our own then saw a notice about these wash bags. There was a number of tea and coffee available in our room which was useful.
The beds and pillows were very comfy too, and no noise from outside the hotel could be heard.
The only other fault would be the fact at approximately 11:20 we went to get food from outside the hotel and the bar was open. We came back at 11:40, ate our food and went back down to the bar, in which we were told was closed at 11,which it was not when we went past.
Despite the lack of information about the bar and wash bags, everything else was perfect.
It was definitely worth the £50, maybe worth a bit more.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Dear Melissa S

Many thanks for posting a lovely review for your recent stay at Birmingham Waterloo St Premier Inn.

I'm glad to hear you had a lovely stay and the service you encountered was exceptional,sorry for the mix up with the timings of the bar, I will look into making sure all guests are informed on check in about closing times in the Restaurant & Bar.

I hope to welcome you back here in the near future.

Kind Regards

Rachael Bateman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,071
    630
    146
    57
    42
See reviews for
410
595
124
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Crieff
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

5 minutes from the centre and 15 minutes walk from the NIA - family room was a good size situated to the rear of the hotel. We heard nothing from the street below, the cotton heels were lovely and the room was spotless, the breakfast area and dining area was decorated well but the food at breakfast time ran out and we had to wait 15 minutes for food to be cooked - I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

Room Tip: Clean and cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stourbridge
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here with a group of friends. As usual we were treated excellently.The Staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. The meal we had on the Saturday was lovely. Thank you!

Room Tip: I've stayed on the 2nd and 5th and both were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Dear Sue M,

Many thanks for posting a great review for Birmingham Waterloo St Premier Inn.

I'm so glad to hear that this is your second visit and you enjoyed it as much as your first. It's lovely to hear you encountered such exceptional service and I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Rachael Bateman
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Easy to find, great central location, typical premier inn, no issues and more than sufficient breakie.

Very easy to explore center of Birmingham from this hotel. Reception polite. Kids had eat free which was an unexpected bonus. Would recommend as good budget hiotel

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinlayFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Just stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Had a nice room on the 6th floor, was very quite, no problems with sleeping.
The temperature outside was very cold over the weekend, but the heating in the room worked well, and I was comfortable.
The staff at reception were very pleasant, a girl named Donna deserves a mention. The staff in the bar next door, where breakfast is served, were also very nice indeed.
Location is great, very close to shops, The Bullring, places to eat, and New Street Station.
I have stayed here a couple of times before, would definitely stay again.
Thanks Premier Inn.

Room Tip: High rooms would be the quietest I guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Excellent location right in the centre of the city, the room was very clean & comfortable, noise from the sorrounding area was not noticable,staff are very friendly and efficient.
The restaurant / bar was also very clean and the food excellent, would go back again!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teza01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is an ideally located hotel for those staying in Birmingham. It was walkable from new street station even with young children (4 and 7) and luggage which had wheels. It is close to shopping areas and not far from the Museum, NIA, and sealife centre. Staff were happy to provide maps and explain routes to destinations asked of them.
Upon our arrival we were greeted warmly by the lady on reception. We found our room to be very clean and tidy. It was a very cold day and the heating was already on for us so we came into a warm room. The heating system was very good and not noisy unlike some other hotels we have stayed in.
We stayed from a fri to monday and during our time never had any issues with noise and got a good nights sleep. We found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful during our stay.
We booked from the 'premier breakfasts' every morning which was good value especially as it was all you can eat and the fact that both children ate free. This really helped set you up for a busy day. Breakfast was served 7-30 untill 11.30 at weekends and 6.30 until 10.30 weekdays.
We ate dinner in the restaurant on 2 nights and whilst the food was good it seemed to take a long time. Not a problem if you are not in a rush but with a 4 and 7 year old this was pretty trying especially when they are tired and need to get to bed.
I would stay at this hotel if I was staying in Birmingham again, defiantly get the breakfasts again but go elsewhere for dinner which isn't too much of a problem as there are plenty of places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheekylittlemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
3,028 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
871 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
3,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel
Address: 3-6 Waterloo Street, Birmingham B2 5PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#11 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Put yourself at the centre of everything here at Premier Inn Birmingham Waterloo Street. Looking out across St Philips Square and the Cathedral, the major attractions and major businesses are just a hop, skip and jump away. You can browse the big brands and designer names of the Bull Ring, catch the must-see events at the Hippodrome Theatre, Symphony Hall, NIA or ICC, or find chocoholic's heaven at Cadbury World. After a day's business or indulgence, return and savour the food (and views) at our bar and grill before relaxing in our spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Directions: At junction 6 of the M6 exit onto the A38/Corporation St. Take exit towards West Bromwich/A41. Merge onto St Chad's Queensway. Take 2nd exit for Great Charles St Queensway. Great Charles St West bears left and becomes Livery St. Turn left onto Waterloo St. Car park on Livery St (B3 2BJ) costs 11GBP for 24 hours Monday-Friday and 13.80GBP for 24 hours on Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo St) Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing