We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel
Ranked #11 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We've just returned from an overnight stay in this hotel and can't fault it. We arrived at 10.30am and dropped the bags off at the hotel where they're chained up and you're given a ticket for each bag for when you collect.

The room, 119, is a large family room situated on the corner of Waterloo St & Temple St. This gives you 6 big windows so a lot of light in the room and a lovely view of the cathederal. Despite being a busy area there was not a noise issue. The room was also spotlessly clean too. A great nights sleep was had.

Breakfast was, as usual, spot on! Piping hot and fresh. Several reviews have mentioned going to the Briar Rose Wetherspoons for breakfast, That is something that I wouldn't recommend. We used to have breakfast there when visiting Birmingham for the day and they were always good. After leaving our bags at the hotel when we arrived we went there for a breakfast and it was terrible. It was stone cold and returned. The replacement was barely better. A lady a couple of tables away returned hers too. The following day we went in for a drink before collecting our bags before getting the train home and saw 3 different groups of people complaining about their food. Stick with the Premier Inn's breakfast instead!

All the staff we had contact with were very nice and friendly. The fact that we booked the room early and got it for £29 + breakfasts is the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jumborat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely and helpful review. We are delighted that you have found out hotel to be such good value for your money and that our staff made your stay as comfortable as possible, as we thrive on delivering the best service we possibly can. Remember to keep an eye on our website premierinn.com so you can get similar deals next time you visit Birmingham. We do hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
The team at Waterloo Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,048
    622
    140
    56
    40
See reviews for
398
583
124
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed here on 'a deal' on the 12th & 13th December to visit the city and the Christmas markets.
The room was comfortable & very clean. (No 'view' but it's a city hotel). I was pleased to note the security consisting of locks on the lifts & some of the interleaving corridor doors. The restaurant for both breakfast and dinner was exceptional value for money and made most enjoyable by the quality of the food and the attention of the friendliest bunch of staff I have met in a long time.
I won't be returning to this hotel, but only because we have now 'done' Birmingham, however I can thoroughly recommend to anyone who has a need to stay in the area.
Two small niggles: 1) On the 2nd night we attended the, (compact), restaurant @ 18:15, only to be turned away as they couldn't accommodate us. It appeared to me that many tables were reserved for external revelers parties that were swelling the adjacent bar to capacity. If I had known or been made aware that the restaurant was heavily booked I may have reserved a table on arrival as we had dined enjoyably the evening before without a hitch. 2) The internet WiFi access crashed on the second afternoon. I attended reception but it was obvious that they didn't have a clue about why this was and indicated that they had had no other complaints, (because i was the fist to report it perhaps? - The system web page reported a fault soon afterwards). It was only after pushing the point that I had paid for 24 hour access, was I then offered a refund.
Apart from that we had a most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor with only a view of the offices opposite, but it is a city hotel and wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emailandynet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff have made you feel as welcome and as comfortable as possible, as that is what we thrive on. You mentioned you have now 'done' Birmingham, but should you ever need to come back, we do hope we are your first choice for accomodation.

Kind Regards
The team at Waterloo Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed on my own for a weekend to visit German Christmas Market. Paid around £70 for two nights, which I felt was very good value for a good-sized room in a central location. There was also a sofa bed and pull out small bed in the room for children, so would be exceptional value for a family. Had a room at the back with no view, but was really quiet, even on Friday/Saturday night when the city was busy. Breakfast was good value at just over £8 as you could help yourself to as much food and drink as you wanted. Only downside was a bit of an odour in the bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowbelly54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you have found our hotel to be such good value for your money. Don't forget to keep an eye on our website premierinn.com to get similar deals next time you visit Birmingham. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
The team at Waterloo Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed at the hotel on 6th to 9th December (room 409) last, as we had stayed at the hotel the year before. We were pleased that we were not overlooking the rear as we had previously been woken by the disposal of about a million glass bottles at 2.00 in the morning.
This time we overlooked the coffee shop and Cathedral.
However, although the room was spotlessly clean and we had a lovely shower cubicle instead of a bath, the room was cold due to two air vents which allowed the wind to whistle through the room, and we had to turn up the central heating to 25 degrees to counteract this. Eventually we stuffed toilet paper in the lower vent and would have done the same with the higher one if we could have reached it.
We had problems sleeping, not from the mattress itself but the divan it lay upon. On turning over it sounded like the Halle Orchestra, and was very uncomfortable. Although two pillows were supposed to be 'firmer' than the other two, we found no difference in them at all and ended up each folding one in half to make it more comfortable.
The Hotel was so busy in the evening of the first night, we had to battle our way through boozers at the bar to the restaurant, where we stood and waited. The noise from the bar was deafening, and although there were dozens of spare chairs in the restaurant we were told 'they were very busy' and could not accommodate us. So we ended up going outside to look for a restaurant. Not having found one we ended up buying sandwiches and chicken pieces from Tesco's which we took back to our room.
The following night we were due to go to the theatre so we needed dinner early, sadly we couldn't get dinner then either and ended up - you've guessed it - back in Tesco's for more sandwiches, drinks, fresh fruit and chicken pieces.
We went to the theatre again on Sunday afternoon but in the evening we were able to eat a meal in the restaurant, which was excellent. Apart from the appalling cutlery which I think Uri Geller had been playing around with. I had to ask for different forks each breakfast time as the dated metal caught on the crowns in my teeth.

This is the first time we were not given a family room (there are only two of us) so it meant that one had to sit on the bed as there was only one chair in the room, and although there is a lot of information about ringing our 'Excellently trained and helpful staff' there was no phone number for reception.

We have stayed in Premier Inn in London many times, and as I said Birmingham before, but this is the first time we had real problems there, and I would think twice about returning to the same hotel again.

Room Tip: Don't go into room 409 unless you want to remove the mattress, put it on the floor and stack the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback. We are very sorry that despite being pleased with our hotel overall, you have encountered issues that would prevent you from staying with us again. Our restaurant and bar can indeed get very busy and lively at times, as we are located right in the heart of the city centre. We do feel that our staff could have helped you with your other issues and the number for reception is just 0. In the future, please don't hesitate to contact reception for anything, at any time.

Kind regards
The team at Waterloo Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Usual standard very high. Excellent value for money.5 mins from shops. Security very high. Code card for every door. Staff very polite and helpful
Room on 6th floor, very clean and well kept well worth a visit







  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff have made you feel as welcome and as comfortable as possible, as that is what we thrive on.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
The team at Waterloo Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
214 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

This is the usual Premier Inn standard, comfy beds and pillows, clean and tidy room big enough for a weekend away. The breakfast in the grill attached was fantastic, although it was a buffet the food was piping hot and the continental items were fresh. We parked in the Town Hall multi storey car park and from Saturday morning to Monday morning it cost us £13 and it is only 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is in a quiet street but only 2 minutes from the shops. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SouthAfrican2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff have made you feel as welcome and as comfortable as possible, as that is what we thrive on.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
The team at Waterloo Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Excellent value - took advantage of the £29 per room per night offer and the three course evening meal and breakfast offer £22 per person.The evening meal was very good,breakfast was excellent.
Room was as expected clean quiet and comfortable

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff have made you feel as welcome and as comfortable as possible, as that is what we thrive on.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
The team at Waterloo Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
912 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
864 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#8 of 117 in Birmingham
2,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel
Address: 3-6 Waterloo Street, Birmingham B2 5PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Put yourself at the centre of everything here at Premier Inn Birmingham Waterloo Street. Looking out across St Philips Square and the Cathedral, the major attractions and major businesses are just a hop, skip and jump away. You can browse the big brands and designer names of the Bull Ring, catch the must-see events at the Hippodrome Theatre, Symphony Hall, NIA or ICC, or find chocoholic's heaven at Cadbury World. After a day's business or indulgence, return and savour the food (and views) at our bar and grill before relaxing in our spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Directions: At junction 6 of the M6 exit onto the A38/Corporation St. Take exit towards West Bromwich/A41. Merge onto St Chad's Queensway. Take 2nd exit for Great Charles St Queensway. Great Charles St West bears left and becomes Livery St. Turn left onto Waterloo St. Car park on Livery St (B3 2BJ) costs 11GBP for 24 hours Monday-Friday and 13.80GBP for 24 hours on Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo St) Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing