We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner menu an issue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel
Ranked #11 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
bristol
Level Contributor
164 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Dinner menu an issue”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Booked via Internet . Very good bed and reception staff. Working in Central Birmingham . Very good choice within breakfast. Very high standard and helpful staff.
Booked in for evening meal a little disappointed with choice of menu. Seemed a bit repetitive !!
Ok if you are booked for a few nights but when you are here longer a little boring and would venture out because of this. Very comfortable bed. This is so important when you have a very long day working. Great stay would come again. But please could management address dinner menu.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff have made you feel as welcome and as comfortable as possible, as that is what we thrive on. I will make sure to pass your feedback regarding our dinner menu to the relevant team.

Kind Regards
The team at Waterloo Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,037
    606
    137
    56
    39
See reviews for
395
567
122
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
WEST YORKS
Level Contributor
957 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed here for the Christmas market and we were pleasantly surprised by our stay.
The location is great for visiting the city with the shops,restaurants and a number of bars within easy walking distance.
Our room was very clean and quiet.
The bed was large and very comfortable and we enjoyed an excellent nights sleep.
The shower was good and warm.
The hotel is secure and we would recommend this hotel to anyone. We booked in advance and so the room only cost us £58.
One hint is to park at the Snow Hill car park rather than the Brunel Street as recommended on the website as it is a little nearer and the same price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your useful feedback. We are delighted you have been so thoroughly pleased with our hotel and that our location has been most suitable for the purpose of your visit. Remember to keep an eye on our website premierinn.com to get even more value for your money. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
The team at Waterloo Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I am 83, my wife a little younger(being polite) we find this hotel suitable for our particular requirements. The rooms are good, the beds comfortable, the breakfast excellent and the staff polite and very helpful without being intrusive. Lastly the price was within our budget.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff have made you feel as welcome and as comfortable as possible, as that is what we thrive on. Remember to keep an eye on our website premierinn.com to get similar deals next time you visit Birmingham. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
The team at Waterloo Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Centrally located for the Markets, shopping and railway station. Lovely friendly staff with ready smiles. Dual aspect room with great views over the cathedral. Really pleasant stay. Highly recommend..


  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HLLCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff have made you feel as welcome and as comfortable as possible, as that is what we thrive on. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
The team at Waterloo Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We've just returned from an overnight stay in this hotel and can't fault it. We arrived at 10.30am and dropped the bags off at the hotel where they're chained up and you're given a ticket for each bag for when you collect.

The room, 119, is a large family room situated on the corner of Waterloo St & Temple St. This gives you 6 big windows so a lot of light in the room and a lovely view of the cathederal. Despite being a busy area there was not a noise issue. The room was also spotlessly clean too. A great nights sleep was had.

Breakfast was, as usual, spot on! Piping hot and fresh. Several reviews have mentioned going to the Briar Rose Wetherspoons for breakfast, That is something that I wouldn't recommend. We used to have breakfast there when visiting Birmingham for the day and they were always good. After leaving our bags at the hotel when we arrived we went there for a breakfast and it was terrible. It was stone cold and returned. The replacement was barely better. A lady a couple of tables away returned hers too. The following day we went in for a drink before collecting our bags before getting the train home and saw 3 different groups of people complaining about their food. Stick with the Premier Inn's breakfast instead!

All the staff we had contact with were very nice and friendly. The fact that we booked the room early and got it for £29 + breakfasts is the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jumborat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely and helpful review. We are delighted that you have found out hotel to be such good value for your money and that our staff made your stay as comfortable as possible, as we thrive on delivering the best service we possibly can. Remember to keep an eye on our website premierinn.com so you can get similar deals next time you visit Birmingham. We do hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
The team at Waterloo Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed here on 'a deal' on the 12th & 13th December to visit the city and the Christmas markets.
The room was comfortable & very clean. (No 'view' but it's a city hotel). I was pleased to note the security consisting of locks on the lifts & some of the interleaving corridor doors. The restaurant for both breakfast and dinner was exceptional value for money and made most enjoyable by the quality of the food and the attention of the friendliest bunch of staff I have met in a long time.
I won't be returning to this hotel, but only because we have now 'done' Birmingham, however I can thoroughly recommend to anyone who has a need to stay in the area.
Two small niggles: 1) On the 2nd night we attended the, (compact), restaurant @ 18:15, only to be turned away as they couldn't accommodate us. It appeared to me that many tables were reserved for external revelers parties that were swelling the adjacent bar to capacity. If I had known or been made aware that the restaurant was heavily booked I may have reserved a table on arrival as we had dined enjoyably the evening before without a hitch. 2) The internet WiFi access crashed on the second afternoon. I attended reception but it was obvious that they didn't have a clue about why this was and indicated that they had had no other complaints, (because i was the fist to report it perhaps? - The system web page reported a fault soon afterwards). It was only after pushing the point that I had paid for 24 hour access, was I then offered a refund.
Apart from that we had a most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor with only a view of the offices opposite, but it is a city hotel and wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emailandynet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff have made you feel as welcome and as comfortable as possible, as that is what we thrive on. You mentioned you have now 'done' Birmingham, but should you ever need to come back, we do hope we are your first choice for accomodation.

Kind Regards
The team at Waterloo Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed on my own for a weekend to visit German Christmas Market. Paid around £70 for two nights, which I felt was very good value for a good-sized room in a central location. There was also a sofa bed and pull out small bed in the room for children, so would be exceptional value for a family. Had a room at the back with no view, but was really quiet, even on Friday/Saturday night when the city was busy. Breakfast was good value at just over £8 as you could help yourself to as much food and drink as you wanted. Only downside was a bit of an odour in the bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowbelly54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you have found our hotel to be such good value for your money. Don't forget to keep an eye on our website premierinn.com to get similar deals next time you visit Birmingham. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
The team at Waterloo Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel
Address: 3-6 Waterloo Street, Birmingham B2 5PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Put yourself at the centre of everything here at Premier Inn Birmingham Waterloo Street. Looking out across St Philips Square and the Cathedral, the major attractions and major businesses are just a hop, skip and jump away. You can browse the big brands and designer names of the Bull Ring, catch the must-see events at the Hippodrome Theatre, Symphony Hall, NIA or ICC, or find chocoholic's heaven at Cadbury World. After a day's business or indulgence, return and savour the food (and views) at our bar and grill before relaxing in our spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Directions: At junction 6 of the M6 exit onto the A38/Corporation St. Take exit towards West Bromwich/A41. Merge onto St Chad's Queensway. Take 2nd exit for Great Charles St Queensway. Great Charles St West bears left and becomes Livery St. Turn left onto Waterloo St. Car park on Livery St (B3 2BJ) costs 11GBP for 24 hours Monday-Friday and 13.80GBP for 24 hours on Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo St) Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing