We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel
Ranked #9 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a few times now, and it is always bright, clean and very welcoming. Ideal for Snow Hill Station, shopping and bars and restaurants. The room was lovely, spotless, large and had everything we needed. It was a bit chilly during the night though, and we couldn't seem to adjust the temperature. Plenty of choice for breakfast, and staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you have been pleased with out facilities and our service. I will make sure I pass your comment on to the maintenance team so they can have a look at the air conditioning system, and hopefully in the future nothing will disturb your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
The team at Waterloo Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,176 - 1,182 of 2,056 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

stayed here for 3 nights and can't fault this hotel. Central to the Bullring and shops but in quiet square overlooking the Cathedral. Staff friendly and very helpful Room and bathroom spotlessly clean and spacious . Breakfast has lots of choices even near the end of service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppygran65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff have made you feel as welcome and as comfortable as possible, as that is what we thrive on. Don't forget to keep an eye on our website premierinn.com for our fantastic deals so you can get even more value for your money. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
The team at Waterloo Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The location was great in the central Birmingham less than 5 min walk from new street station.Staff were very pleasant and welcoming.Breakfast was excellent and again staff very friendly and efficient .Rooms nice and clean and beds comfortable .We would have slept very well if some idiot guest hadn't set of the fire alarm at 3am!! In fairness hardly the staff's fault .Great that we could store baggage as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIbirmingham, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff have made you feel as welcome and as comfortable as possible, as that is what we thrive on. We would also like to apologise again for the fire alarm incident., and we do hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
The team at Waterloo Street

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I've not really had great experiences with Premier Inns in the past and any hotel which demands payment in advance always sets off warning bells with me. But I was pleasantly surprised by my stay here.

OK, so it's a Premier Inn and it was just a one night stay, so I wasn't expecting much, but it was still much better than the expectation. Check in was quick and easy. My room was on the 6th floor at the back of the hotel and it was large, bright and clean. Perfect for what I needed.

Wifi was free for 3 minutes and cheap enough after that for 24 hours. I drank in the bar that evening - service wasn't amazing, but nothing terrible either. Breakfast the next morning was OK too.

All in all, perfectly average, but perfect for a short one night stay. I was expecting terrible things and was surprised not to encounter any of them. Location is perfect and based on the room, I would have no hesitation staying here again for short trips to Birmingham

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ciaranwhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This Premier Inn is in a central location. It's pretty box standard, does what it says, however, I stayed at many Premier Inns and some are run better than others. We had a 1 night stay. We wasn't informed of restaurant times or the good night guarantee. Whenever we passed through reception no one was available and when we came down to eat we were informed by the bar staff that the restaurant was closed due to staff shortage and had to eat in the bar as only 1 waitress and the bar manager was serving. Breakfast was ok though we had to wait for eggs and the coffee machine had run out of coffee and milk. The waiter was friendly but rushed off his feet. Staffing seems to be a problem here. Staff are friendly (when u get to see them). Don't think I would stay at this one again. I like the friendly staff and I want to know that a 24 hour reception is actually being run 24 hours. If u have a fully staffed team it hopes for a better service.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chanelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is a nice hotel, clean, friendly and efficient, stayed over for a night on business, great location for everything! ticked all the boxes. Room very nice and clean, bar sevice good and drinks not too expensive! Will return

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Booked a twin room for 2 adults and found the second bed was a camp bed. Complained to staff who told me this was their standard twin room. Will not use again. Location was great and everything else fine but lack of sleep marred whole experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieBAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guest have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. Your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up by both our Customer Services Team and the Management team at this hotel. Once again thank you for your review we do hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,301 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,555 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel

Address: 3-6 Waterloo Street, Birmingham B2 5PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £45 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Put yourself at the centre of everything here at Premier Inn Birmingham Waterloo Street. Looking out across St Philips Square and the Cathedral, the major attractions and major businesses are just a hop, skip and jump away. You can browse the big brands and designer names of the Bull Ring, catch the must-see events at the Hippodrome Theatre, Symphony Hall, NIA or ICC, or find chocoholic's heaven at Cadbury World. After a day's business or indulgence, return and savour the food (and views) at our bar and grill before relaxing in our spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Directions: At junction 6 of the M6 exit onto the A38/Corporation St. Take exit towards West Bromwich/A41. Merge onto St Chad's Queensway. Take 2nd exit for Great Charles St Queensway. Great Charles St West bears left and becomes Livery St. Turn left onto Waterloo St. Car park on Livery St (B3 2BJ) costs 11GBP for 24 hours Monday-Friday and 13.80GBP for 24 hours on Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo St) Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing