We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money and the service is outstanding!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel
Ranked #12 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic value for money and the service is outstanding!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night on business. My expectations were low having never stayed at Premier Inn before however I could find no fault at all - the service and attitude of the staff is excellent. Quality of rooms, food, bathrooms etc is to the standard expected.

Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyCuckfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,058
    628
    142
    56
    41
See reviews for
402
589
124
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Another excellent stay with Premier Inn. I have no complaints at all about the hotel standard, the staff or the service and would recommend this hotel to friends and acquaintances.
However, I do have one observation which was very annoying at the time and may well influence my decision as to whether I would stay there again.
I have stayed at many different hotels over the recent years, including many Premier Inns. It is now usual for most hotels, including budget hotels, to include free Wi-Fi in their package. However, Premier Inn spoil their "30 Minutes Free Wi-Fi-..." boast by not doing what they claim. After a recent stay in this hotel in the heart of the business district I discovered that you do not actually get 30 minutes! According to the "Essential Guide" placed in each room, there should be 30 minutes per device per day which can be staggered throughout the day by starting and stopping as often as you like. WRONG! After the first log in on each of our two devices, each lasting less than 5 minutes to check email, I was unable to log in again on either. The login page stated that my free time had expired but that I could purchase more time for £3.00. On querying this with staff at reception I was assured that thist was normal and "...would I like to buy more time?"
I suggest that Wi-Fi is actually provided to guests as advertised, or the Guide changed to read "One period of free Wi-Fi of up to a maximum duration of 30 minutes". The current situation falls foul of the Trade Description Act I am sure.
Apart from this, I have no other complaints at all and would recommend this hotel to friends with a warning about the Wi-Fi. A minor but important matter in this digital age..

Room Tip: Rooms above the adjacent Italian restaurant are noisy according to others who have stayed there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legalbee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced the great service our team are committed to giving our guests. I am however sorry to hear about the confusion with our wifi service, Free access at Premier Inn is not measured as a duration, but as active time online, so you can split your 30 free access into multiple sessions throughout the day.  Please remember to disconnect from the WiFi when you don't want to use it, as some devices will continue to send and receive data in the background, and therefore still use your 30 minutes free access. If you have any further queries or concerns, please email us at talktous@whitbread.com. Thank you once again for taking the time to leave your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Spent two nights at the Premier Inn and was very pleased with everything. The hotel is a convenient 3/4 minute walk from New St. Station and is is the centre of the city convenient for business area.

The room was very clean, spacious with a comfy bed.

Had a pizza from the restaurant in my room whilst working which was delicious.

Breakfast was good and albeit buffet style was not piled high and was fresh.

All the staff were very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulkington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Lovely welcome on arrival. Friendly approachable staff.
Room was easy to find, clean and met expectations. Night security was good with key access only to the hotel.
There was some noise from chambermaids in the morning but it was not excessive.
Overall fantastic location, good value and great staff. Would happily stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. Great location smack in the middle of city centre. Lovely sized room, spotlessly clean. Bar area very nice. Helpful friendly staff. Didnt have the breakfast option as I knew there was a good ole weatherspoons 1 min round the corner and at half the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel couldn't be more central or more welcoming. Contributed to a fabulous weekend.
Bar was lively but closed promptly to ensure we all had a good nights sleep! Told where to park which was a short walk away and good value, £11 for 24 hours.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackiebrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very convenient; every important location (including Bullring, Train Station, Paradise Circus) is in 5 minutes distance walking distance.

Breakfast is very cheap but better than many 5-star hotel breakfasts.

Good value for money is actually valid for the overall stay: very cheap but better than many other good hotels.

Twin rooms are shown as 2 single beds on their website, but they only provide sofa beds in double rooms. They guarantee a good night sleep for the double bed (which is true), but don't care the person sleeping on the sofa bed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank varsity2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
920 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
872 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
2,978 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel
Address: 3-6 Waterloo Street, Birmingham B2 5PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Put yourself at the centre of everything here at Premier Inn Birmingham Waterloo Street. Looking out across St Philips Square and the Cathedral, the major attractions and major businesses are just a hop, skip and jump away. You can browse the big brands and designer names of the Bull Ring, catch the must-see events at the Hippodrome Theatre, Symphony Hall, NIA or ICC, or find chocoholic's heaven at Cadbury World. After a day's business or indulgence, return and savour the food (and views) at our bar and grill before relaxing in our spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Directions: At junction 6 of the M6 exit onto the A38/Corporation St. Take exit towards West Bromwich/A41. Merge onto St Chad's Queensway. Take 2nd exit for Great Charles St Queensway. Great Charles St West bears left and becomes Livery St. Turn left onto Waterloo St. Car park on Livery St (B3 2BJ) costs 11GBP for 24 hours Monday-Friday and 13.80GBP for 24 hours on Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo Street) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (Waterloo St) Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing