We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service, great room, great parking, great all round!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #34 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, great service, great room, great parking, great all round!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

I arrived early on Saturday morning (~10am) and parked in the underground car park (£13 for 24 hrs, I think). Very secure looking, guard on the gate, quiet and lots of expensive looking cars. Most more expensive than mine! I called the hotel and they let me check in 4 hour early as they had a room ready. No fuss.

The lady at the desk was very nice and helpful and checked me in fine. The room was great, bit of a naff view over looking a large junction. No sound of traffic on the 5th floor.

The bed was nice, the air con was quiet too, but I turned it off and the temp was fine. The bathroom was well stocked and clean. I forgot toothpaste - mentioned this at the desk and some was at my room within moments!

It's about a 5 - 10 min walk to the NIA and some very nice bars and clubs too. It felt very "safe" walking around at night/evening.

Breakfast was excellent. All you can eat cooked in my case.

All in all, a very nice place and for a great price of ~£90 per night.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 25 March 2011
Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, we appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience.

It’s a pleasure to read that you have rated our facilities very highly. We do aim to meet all requests and glad that you received an early check in as desired. It will be a pleasure to share your nice comments regarding room and breakfast with our team.

Car Parking facility is provided by a different company however I will ensure to pass your comments on.

Once again thank you for your review and do hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    848
    330
    95
    55
See reviews for
228
609
83
688
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
230 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

We had a great room in this modern hotel plus it is only 5-10 minutes walk from New Street station, Broad Street and Brindley Place.
The staff were very friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived, to the moment we left. We would gladly stay there again.
Just one small point and it genuinely doesn't detract from the hotel at all, but it's a shame about the semi-underground, unused car park in the front of the hotel. It should be filled in and used as a garden.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireMog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 25 March 2011
May I take this opportunity to thank you for your recent stay and following it up with a review.

We do share all comments with our team and it makes us proud to know that everything was to your satisfaction from start to the end. Our location does make us an ideal choice for business and leisure guests.

The unused car park space in front is not owned by the hotel. As to our knowledge there were plans for a modern tower to be built there but current economic conditions has changed the plans.

Once again thank your staying and I look forward to welcome you back.

Akmal Shahzad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

Stayed for 2 nights on bussiness. Previous reviews are quite aqurate.
Very recently refurbished hotel, on the modern side and with what you expect of its type.
We booked a club room which included breakfast on specially allocated area and evening drinks.
Big comfortable bed with pillow menu choice. Nice bathroom with separate tub-shower area.
Friendly personnel.
If we'd have a comment it'd be that internet should be charged extra, especially on upgraded rooms. Also, with so many amenities available it's a pitty that slippers are not provided. Barefoot walking on carpets isn't healthy to anyone.
Overall, a very good bussiness type hotel in Birmingham city, walking distance to museum, ICC and stores.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

This hotel is ideal if travelling to central Birmingham. Best without a car. There is a chargeable car park conveniently located but best left at home.
Good standard of rooms and great value for a non basic brand.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zcwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

Well, to be fair, Birmingham isn't the most attractive of cities. And, from the outside, this isn't the most attractive of hotels. But once you're inside, you're transported into a cool, sleek, modern, professional hotel. It oozes style and comfort...
Check in was seamless and painless. In fact, we were even able to check in from 1pm, which was a bonus. We'd booked a Club Room, which is worth its weight in gold, especially as it only cost £15 more than a standard. For this we got:
1- A room on the top floor which was HUGE. With a HUGE bathroom & walk in shower, bathrobes. It even had a teapot- the room, not the bathroom
2- Access to the Club Lounge, which had a free bar from 5.30-7.30. Again, worth its weight in gold. Apart from the fact that there was only one poor girl, serving for most of the evening and the place was jammed, and it kept running out of plates, glasses, drinks, canapes.....As it blatently is going to get rammed, it should have been properly staffed
3- Breakfast, which at the weekend is a full cooked one in the main restaurant.

Checkout-painless too. Immaculately clean, and central too. A hidden treasure. I enjoyed every second- and if you read my other reviews, I can be quite scathing about hotels. But I'd go back for sure

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrewnotandy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 13 February 2011
Many thanks for documenting your review after your stay at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City.

It is delightful to read that you have enjoyed your stay. We appreciate that you have recognised our customer service and attention to detail associated with it and have decided to stay here regularly. Glad to read that you described our hotel as stylish and comfortable. Your comments regarding Club Lounge service has been taken on board.
Please be assured that we share all comments with our team.

Once again, thank you for recommending our hotel and we look forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

We recently attended a function at the hotel, and everything was of the highest standard, from the food to the rooms to the helpful staff. It is a shame there is no swimming pool.

My one concern is that the band that had been booked were informed that they could unload and leave their vehicles in the service road, and were given various different stories about whether this was indeed possible. In the end, they were told that the service road was not their property and they couldn't guarantee the vehicles would not get clamped. This gave a slightly negative impression of what was otherwise an excellent night in a good hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank She25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW UK
Level Contributor
189 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

I have stayed here before and it has always been ok or good. I had to be in Birmingham centre early Monday morning so I spent Sunday night at CP. I got an upgrade to the club floor as there were few people staying. Bedrooms are good. Broadband access is reasonable at £5 for 24 hours (listen Holiday Inn!) Food usual fare. Breakfast excellent. Staff good. It is the best business hotel in central birmingham, for a no fuss work based experience and I would go again when next in birmingham. Car park is a bit dismal and the access stairs smelt like a badgers bottom ( I imagine) cant really blame CP for this though!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter51964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 13 February 2011
May I take this opportunity to thank you for your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Birmingham city.

It is pleasure to know that we are in your preferred list of hotels and you have stayed with us before. Thank you for your comments regarding upgrade, Breakfast service and bedrooms. It makes us proud to read when a returning guest makes such comments.

One again thank you for your thoughtful comments and we look forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,818 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,493 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,161 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Address: Holliday Street, Birmingham B1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Birmingham City is a 4 star deluxe property, conveniently located in the heart of Birmingham City Centre. Birmingham New Street Station, The ICC, NIA and new shopping developments are just a short walk away. Events coming soon-Cirque Du Soleil and Dancing on Ice. The hotel has 312 spacious bedrooms with a variety of amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, in room dining, satellite TV and refreshment making facilities as standard.A range of flexible food and beverage options are available to guests in our vibrant, contemporary B1 Bar and Restaurant and 24 hour room service, all of which offer creative menus with healthy options to suit all tastes. Overall, the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City offers great quality accommodation and facilities with service to match - we guarantee an enjoyable experience to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing