We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite Crowne Plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #34 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Favourite Crowne Plaza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

As a Priority Club platinum member, I have been upgraded on each of my visits here without asking or hinting! The club rooms are excellent and whilst I have never arrived early enough to take advantage of the lounge in the evening, I have used it for breakfast and check out. Great if you are not after a cooked breakfast. Staff have always been friendly and welcoming. Of all the Crowne Plaza's I have stayed in from here to New York - this is my favourite!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bluesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    848
    330
    95
    55
See reviews for
228
609
83
688
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed here for weekend on lads football weekend. Excellent position and hotel, great food and bar. Only moan no pool/ spa etc. Good car park facility and quite reasonably priced. Great location for everything including taxi distance from Walsall for match.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trotty50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

All was going well until we came to check in and reception had no record of our booking a room upgrade. Even though it had been arranged in advance and we had the confirmation email we were still told it wasn't possible as all the Club Rooms were booked.

As compensation we were given a discount voucher for the hotel restaurant - we were eating out anyway, a free video in the room - not in the room to watch it and complimentary breakfast which was nice.

This was the third time I personally had stayed at the hotel and apart from the check in incident again it was most enjoyable. The rooms are extremely comfortable, the breakfast enjoyable and a wide range of drinks available from the bar. For a night out in Birmingham centre the hotel is perfectly located, only a 5 minute walk from the pubs but away from all the noise.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dingo1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza and taking the time to write your review.

Great to know that you have stayed with us before and have always enjoyed the Crowne Plaza experience and location.

I am sorry to hear that information regarding your upgrade was not communicated and please be assured that this has already been discussed with the team to take comments on board.

Nice to read that you enjoyed the Breakfast goodwill gesture.

Once again thank you for staying and we look forwrad to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

I've now stayed at the Crowne Plaza twice in the last two months on business. The front desk staff is very helpful and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. Hotel is about 5 minute walk to New Street station and is adjacent to the "Mailbox" shopping and restaurant area. 5 Minute walk will also get you to the main downtown shopping areas and you are a very short walk to the canals.

Internet Service is decent through an ethernet connection, but you really can't get wireless above the 2nd floor which makes it difficult with mobile devices. FYI, the two times I've been at the hotel they were almost booked full. I never had any issues with noise even staying on the second floor. Everyone is very accommodating. Full breakfast is good as well.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jase700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, England
Level Contributor
112 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

Conveniently situated for the city cantre and close to the Conference Centre.
Clean, great staff, good breakfasts.
Breakfasts were quite busy some mornings, the staff were great and coped very well.
Stayed in room 212, had no problems with noise.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 212, had no problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincs
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

Briliant hotel, great location, tidy room and good view (not that birmingham is much to look at) comfy bed, hot powerful shower, and good sound proofing. Check out time is at 12 noon so didnt feel we had to rush to leave. Definitely recommend this!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Manshanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
168 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

I have stayed here several times and it's a great place to stay in Birmingham. It was completely renovated and updated a couple of years ago and is now right at the top end of the Crowne Plaza scale. The only downside is that the location outside is dilapidated. There is a carpark right underneath but unfortunately no lifts so this could be a problem if you have heavy bags or difficulty walking.

Check in is quick and efficient though it can get busy at time like any other major chain. Staff have always been lite and helpful and I usually get upgraded as a Platinum member.

Room decor is good, rooms are lean and very comfortable. Breakfast is good as is room service.

While it isn't right in the centre it is a comfortable compromise offering easy access to shopping in the Bull Ring (10 minutes) and Mailbox (5 minutes). It's equidistant from the commercial locations of Colmore Row and Brindley Place. For nightlife Broad Street is 5 minutes away.

Please note there is no Swimming Pool on site despite what some websites state.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dagog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 13 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to document your review on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to know that you have been staying with us from pre-refurbishment times. Our refurbishment was a tip to toe process which was completed at the end of 2008 and glad to know your comments that the outcome is a splendid product. We have updated all sites to the best of our knowledge for swimming pool information after refurb however will double check this again.
Pleased to read that you have been receiving your Platinum upgrade on most of the occasions. It is great when a regular guest recognises our team's guest focus. Please be assured that your comments for Breakfast, room decor and room service operation will be shared with our team with pleasure.

Thank you again for your detailed comments and our team look forward to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,818 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,487 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,161 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Address: Holliday Street, Birmingham B1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Birmingham City is a 4 star deluxe property, conveniently located in the heart of Birmingham City Centre. Birmingham New Street Station, The ICC, NIA and new shopping developments are just a short walk away. Events coming soon-Cirque Du Soleil and Dancing on Ice. The hotel has 312 spacious bedrooms with a variety of amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, in room dining, satellite TV and refreshment making facilities as standard.A range of flexible food and beverage options are available to guests in our vibrant, contemporary B1 Bar and Restaurant and 24 hour room service, all of which offer creative menus with healthy options to suit all tastes. Overall, the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City offers great quality accommodation and facilities with service to match - we guarantee an enjoyable experience to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing