We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #33 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Coventry
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Really Great”
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We have stayed here a number of times, and it is one of our favorite getaway hotels just down the road. The hotel is very modern inside and out and is in a fantastic location. We park the car for the weekend and walk the 5 mins into the heart of the shopping areas, or just 2 mins to the Mailbox. The rooms are excellent, really quiet and the beds are fantastically comfortable. The decor and bathrooms are really good, modern and spacious. We didnt eat here this time (great selection of places in the Mailbox) but have done so in the past and it was excellent. Overall, really great hotel, great staff and great location, hard to fault in my view. (only quibble is that on website states on booking that parking is complimentary, informed on check out that that isnt the case, have informed them this is misleading and needs changing as 24h is £13, not excessive but not free as stated.)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SchoolofScience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    866
    335
    98
    57
See reviews for
236
614
85
708
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

I have stayed here several times over the past few years and it's great on so many levels. Fab location, friendly staff, efficient check in, big buffet breakfast, spacious clean rooms (especially the club rooms). comfy beds (and a pillow menu)

The club rooms are great as you get access to the club lounge for complimentary drinks and canapes which is a nice start to the evening.

I'll be back.

Room Tip: go for a club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bs8kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
Thank you taking the time to write your review.

Fantastic to know that you have been staying with us for many years. It makes us so proud when a regular guest comments highly. It will be with pleasure to pass on your comments to our team.

Thank you for making us your favourite Crowne Plaza and we look forwrad to keep on serving you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We stayed at the Crown Plaza on Saturday 25th June to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and can honestly say I couldnt find one single fault with the hotel.
From the moment we were speedily checked in, and decided to upgrade to club room, the experience got better and better.
The room was clean, luxurious and spacious and compared favourably to those of Hiltons best. The complimentary toileteries were of an excellent standard and both bedroom and bathroom were furnished to high spec with little touches such as pillow spray and aromatherapy oils to help aid restfull sleep.
The club facilities were another major plus point for the Crown Plaze, with complimentary drinks and superbly presented canapes available between 17:30 and 19:30 on the 11th floor.
Following a meal at Ashas restaurant and a good nights sleep, we ventured to the restaurant for one of the best hotel breakfasts I have ever tasted. Everything you could imagine was available, and the quality of the cooked items were second to none.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel to Business and Leisure travellers alike, and if you are used to high class standard of service, you can be sure this hotel will live up to your expectations.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveB1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to document your experience.

It is a pleasure to read that you have noticed and enjoyed all the little details that makes the difference. I am sure that our Team will be proud to learn your comments and it will serve as a reinforcement for their dedication.

It is great to know that you decided to stay for a special occasion and our Hotel met all expectations.

Once again thank you for staying and recommending Crowne Plaza Birmingham City and we look forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I've just spent 5 days in this hotel, and overall it's been an enjoyable stay. The rooms are spacious, well fitted, and decorated to a high standard. The beds are comfy, and there's a 'menu of pillows' to pick from that should help you sleep. The A/C is easy to use (which seems to be far too rare in hotels), and the shower in the bathroom is VERY powerful - so much so that I had it on half power the whole time. There's attention to detail in this hotel that makes a difference if you're a regular business traveller like me, so as a place to sleep, it gets a strong recommendation.

On the food side, I was also impressed with breakfast - one of the widest selections of buffet (and cooked to order) foods I have seen at a hotel breakfast ever. Nice touches like fresh fruit smoothies are appreciated.

Unfortunately, the evenings meals I ordered via room service twice during my stay did not meet the same high standard. Both dishes weren't quite as described in the menu, and neither was memorable. My 'Northern Indian Curry' didn't come with the advertised pickles, and the side portion of 'chunky chips' I ordered with my Crowne Plaza Club Sandwich featured a measly 9, soggy, and slight overcooked chips - and that cost £3.95. The enthusiastic member staff who took my order asked if I'd like any ketchup or mayo with them, and confirmed with me twice that I'd like mayo, but ketchup arrived with the meal. In summary, the meals weren't bad, but were nothing special, and didn't come as advertised.

But to end on a positive, this really is a very hotel to sleep in for a week, and I'd stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinSpoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Excellent hotel.

Except that:

1. They don't offer wifi in the rooms. Just cabled internet at £5 per day.

2. Breakfast is £15

The rest is great!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel_Says
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

As a Priority Club platinum member, I have been upgraded on each of my visits here without asking or hinting! The club rooms are excellent and whilst I have never arrived early enough to take advantage of the lounge in the evening, I have used it for breakfast and check out. Great if you are not after a cooked breakfast. Staff have always been friendly and welcoming. Of all the Crowne Plaza's I have stayed in from here to New York - this is my favourite!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bluesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed here for weekend on lads football weekend. Excellent position and hotel, great food and bar. Only moan no pool/ spa etc. Good car park facility and quite reasonably priced. Great location for everything including taxi distance from Walsall for match.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trotty50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,892 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Address: 19 Holliday Street, Birmingham B1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Birmingham City is a 4 star deluxe property, conveniently located in the heart of Birmingham City Centre. Birmingham New Street Station, The ICC, NIA and new shopping developments are just a short walk away. Events coming soon-Cirque Du Soleil and Dancing on Ice. The hotel has 312 spacious bedrooms with a variety of amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, in room dining, satellite TV and refreshment making facilities as standard.A range of flexible food and beverage options are available to guests in our vibrant, contemporary B1 Bar and Restaurant and 24 hour room service, all of which offer creative menus with healthy options to suit all tastes. Overall, the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City offers great quality accommodation and facilities with service to match - we guarantee an enjoyable experience to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing