We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #31 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Stayed here the last weekend of July 2011 as a girlie weekend treat. Staff were lovely and friendly without being to intrusive. Rooms were fairly spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable! Price of drinks in bar were not too ridiculous. Had a great time and as long as they let me back then I will be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AileenJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,856 - 1,862 of 2,140 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

I stayed here on business. I stayed in a club floor room and it was a fabulous room. The bed was huge, very comfortable. The bathroom was large with a separate shower and bath. The club room meant that I had access to the club room where they have several PC's with free internet access and a free bar (between certain times).

I would recommend this hotel to business and leisure travellers. It is in a great location near to New Street Station and all the shops, bars and restaurants. It is also close to The Mail Box and the lovely canal-side bars of Brindley Place.

Room Tip: Club rooms are well worth the upgrade for the added benefits of the clubroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jubline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I have stayed here before. Its main advantage is its city centre location. We booked 2 rooms as we were in town for a family function.
As usual, the reception was competent and friendly. The rooms are spacious and clean. The beds are extremely comfortable. The romms are quiet, although they look out over other roofs and buildings, as expected in a city centre area.
However, on this visit, there was no hot water in the morning in the hotel, as "the boiler had packed in". This meant cold showers for all the guests.
For the standard of the hotel, the breakfast has deteriorated. The selcetion looked poor. The area where the fish shoould have been was empty. I asked about some smoked salmon and the waitress went to enquire in the kitchen. After a bit, a plate was put out with some rather tired, dried out sad looking slamon. It didn't lood too safe to eat, so I went for a peice of tasty wholemeal loaf with jam.
It just seemed to have slipped down the scales and to be behind the other citycnetre hotels in Birmingham.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRDICKMAZEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, IHG Care at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2011

Dear DRDICKMAZEL,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am glad you found our beds extremely comfortable. Please do accept my sincerest apologies for the lack of hot water. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,


Myrna Molina
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Took a party of 15 to the Crowne Plaza where we stayed on business for 2 days.

This hotel is brilliant! Grreat location, fantastic bedrooms, good food and all at reasonable prices

Nothing was too much trouble - stay there and you wont be disappointed

Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
2  Thank david_spring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Have stayed here a few times as my 1st choice business location. Normal stays are for 1 - 3 days max, so can't advise on how a longer trip may pan out..
Reception staff are very attentive and have provided upgrades where possible as per my Priority Club membership.
Rooms are spacious, beds more than comfortable, flat screen tv's and wifi (at a cost). Only negative I would have is lack of drawer storage if there for a week / longer stay.
Comfortable bar area on ground floor adjacent to restaurant. Used both for evening meals, bar represents better value as main restaurant was pricey and limited choice.
Hotel is located a few minutes walk from Broad St and Mailbox area's where you'll find many bars and eating locations.
Main rail station and city centre shopping, again few minutes walk from front door.

Taxi's available at front door if required.

Overall a typical Crown Plaza hotel, which should meet your expectations of this brand.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Just a short walk from my earlier meeting at The Mailbox, and also not far for Birmingham New Street the next morning. Reception at 4pm was quiet, booked a room on the 11th floor which again was nice and quiet, ideal when you're facing an evening of report-writing in front of the laptop. Workload meant room service, but there was a good selection, it turned up on time and was presented (and tasted) as if it had been cooked next door. Despite being high up the shower was refreshingly strong. Curtains kept out the light to ensure a good night's sleep, aircon was non obtrusive, and my only complaint was a lack of time the next morning to savour continental breakfast in the club lounge on the same floor. Staff were courteous, professional and efficient.

I left the next morning ready for anything, which was just as well given the disastrous experience which awaited me with Enterprise Car Rental in the North West (but that's another story)

Room Tip: 11th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gallopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Nice hotel reasonable price, had club room as an internet offer, good sized room with separate shower, stayed on Saturday night so had breakfast downstairs, good choice and nicely cooked.

Very good for theatres ( Hipperdrome and Alex) and a 5 min walk to the mailbox.Didn't use the lounge as had dinner booked, but would use it in the future.
Couple of niggles, car parking: it isn't made very clear that it is £13.40 per day. looked at parking on the street free after 6pm on weekend, but husband not happy to leave car on street. also a hotel that is a 4star should have free wifi in all rooms!
apart from that a good hotel in a central location with some very good deals on the internet

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,241 reviews
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
954 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Address: 19 Holliday Street, Birmingham B1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £62 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Birmingham City is a 4 star deluxe property, conveniently located in the heart of Birmingham City Centre. Birmingham New Street Station, The ICC, NIA and new shopping developments are just a short walk away. Events coming soon-Cirque Du Soleil and Dancing on Ice. The hotel has 312 spacious bedrooms with a variety of amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, in room dining, satellite TV and refreshment making facilities as standard.A range of flexible food and beverage options are available to guests in our vibrant, contemporary B1 Bar and Restaurant and 24 hour room service, all of which offer creative menus with healthy options to suit all tastes. Overall, the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City offers great quality accommodation and facilities with service to match - we guarantee an enjoyable experience to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing