We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really enjoyed our stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #31 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Had a very enjoyable experience we stayed three night and it lived up to its reputation. Staff were first class especially in the hotel restaurant. Check-in staff could have been friendlier but were very efficent. Could take a few pointers from restaurant and bar staff who were frst class. I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieMay375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    837
    323
    94
    55
See reviews for
223
601
82
675
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Laois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

The service was friendly and efficienct
The room was nicer than expected, reasonably spacious, cleaned well between days, comfortable beds. The cookies and bath robe were nice touches.
Location was great ,short walk to broad street and £5 to New Street station by taxi.
The bar was a bit characterless and expensive and not very inviting for a night cap

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank Portlaoiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldbury
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

this hotel which is a stone throw from everything you need in Birmingham is such a great place to stay for a relaxing time or for a great city break.
the breakfast is excellent and the staff are friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Apart from a disappointing check-in experience overall a pleasant stay. The receptionist was distracted and trying to do two things at once (talking on the phone while trying to check me in) which meant he did neither efficiently. I was staying for two nights one was a free rewards night booked through Intercontinental Priority Rewards. The second night was being paid for - this relatively simple fact seemed to confuse the receptionist no end! Added to which he gave the impression that checking in guests was beneath him! I am a frequent traveller and often stay in hotels all over the UK and this check-I'm experience fell far below expectations.
However other than this minor point the hotel it self was excellent and I can recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Welshguy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

The hotel is very conveniently located in the city centre. It is within less than 5 minutes walk from Birmingham New Street station, close to the Colmore Row (business part of town), as well as Broad Street (party part of town).

- Room: Excellent, clean, fresh decor. Importantly, the carpet appears to be clean.

- General: The lifts sound like they are in need of service. The lifts are showing signs of age.

- Staff: Very friendly, knowledgeable, efficient

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs, UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We paid £75 for a Friday night stay which I think is great value for a CP hotel in a city centre. We were upgraded to a club room because we are priority club members which was a great perk. The club lounge was very nice with drinks and nibbles plus great coffee! Service was really good and we got free breakfast as well! Club room worth paying extra for I think if you don't get upgraded not sure about breakfast depends on cost I guess. Room excellent with the usual things such as robes, good sized towels etc which I expect from CP. Hairdryer, mirror and chair together FAB very rare in hotels these days! Just a couple of niggles - corridor really dark n dingy and a mouldy smell in parts. Downstairs bar not very cosy a bit like being in a car park and cold. This was August so wouldn't want to be in there in the Winter.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieD36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Club lounge excellent and look after regular customers well. Air con very noisy but otherwise an outstanding stay.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zcwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,748 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,408 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,283 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Address: Holliday Street, Birmingham B1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#15 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Birmingham City is a 4 star deluxe property, conveniently located in the heart of Birmingham City Centre. Birmingham New Street Station, The ICC, NIA and new shopping developments are just a short walk away. Events coming soon-Cirque Du Soleil and Dancing on Ice. The hotel has 312 spacious bedrooms with a variety of amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, in room dining, satellite TV and refreshment making facilities as standard.A range of flexible food and beverage options are available to guests in our vibrant, contemporary B1 Bar and Restaurant and 24 hour room service, all of which offer creative menus with healthy options to suit all tastes. Overall, the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City offers great quality accommodation and facilities with service to match - we guarantee an enjoyable experience to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing