We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would strongly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #36 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I would strongly recommend”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

This hotel was a brilliant place to stay. Lovely receptionist who was very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Went up to the room. 6th floor, walked in and was very impressed. The room was nice and clean and very spacious, not to mention the bathroom which was clean and well kept. Needed help and directions and the staff in reception were happy to help, although a few did look a bit grumpy. There was hardly any noise which was a big plus for me, as I can't sleep with noise and the curtains were heavy and thick enough to block out any light which made it even more pleasurable.
The only things I would have liked was to have internet access and a swimming pool, but that didn't bother me too much.
All the amenities in the room were lovely and so I would stongly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Birmingham, and only a short walk from the best and biggest shopping centre ever.

Room Tip: room on the 6th floor, right hand side was nice. view not too bad either. lovely at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KIM1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    634
    877
    348
    102
    58
See reviews for
242
630
89
715
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

From the moment we arrived at the hotel, we realised we had made the right choice. The hotel is in close proximity to the NIA, Bull Ring and Mailbox which was convienient for our stay. The modern outlay of the lobby welcomed us with the scent of fresh exotic flowers. We chose to stay at the Crowne Plaza for 3 nights and we were certainly not disappointed on the 3 nights we stayed there.
We were greeted by John Wong at the reception desk, whom was very polite and helpful. The room was a Queen deluxe with club lounge access, which were very modern, light and clean. We thoroughly enjoyed the amenities of the bathroom which included, shoe polish sponge, sewing kit, vanity kit etc which was all very useful. Views from the room was stunning, providing us views of Birmingham skyline. Breakfast was exquisite each morning, and arrived promptly and to the time we requested. We had a shortage of teaspoons with our breakfast, but after ringing room service, this matter was resolved affectively. Other than this, we had no problems for the duration of our stay. The bed was very luxurious and comfortable and gave us a good nights sleep. The hotel parking was extortionate as the price to park there was £13.50 for 24hrs, we researched into other car parks within the vacinity of the hotel and found parking on Tennant Street which was a 12 minute walk to the hotel. All in all we had an amazing time and we will most definately return and recommend this hotel to all our friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Aman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Had a really enjoyable stay here. Stayed in a Club room which was excellent value for money considering it included Breakfast and free drinks between 5.30pm and 7.30pm. Club room was spacious and really clean and bed really comfy. Close to all the amenities that Broad Street have to offer and only a 5 minute walk from the Bull ring. Car park underneath hotel and easy to find. Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireLottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Parking under hotel was quite convenient, but at rather expensive extra cost (£13 per 24hrs), with no lift, hence ascend to reception up stirs with baggage.
Problem with room key issued by reception - did not work & had to return & re-ascend to room with baggage.
Rooms large enough & adequate, but very hot, corridors also hot.
Brekky good.
Located close to the ICC, although not as near as the Hyatt, which is more expensive, but it seems you pay for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to document your review.

I am sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations. Room key issue will be addressed with the team.
Disappointing to know that you found your room hot as we have air -conditioner in each room that can be set to individual taste. Maintenance team on site as well to assist guests as and when required.
Pleased to know that you have enjoyed your breakfast experience.

Once again thank you for staying and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON, UK
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Stayed here for long weekend, up for a wedding at Botanical gardens. Paid extra for club room and club lounge on 11th floor. Club lounge very poor selection and except for between 5.30 and 7.30 very poorly serviced, air con in lounge couldn't cope.
Breakfast was good selection but they struggled to keep up with demand at peak times. Staff very helpful. As for value we booked well in advance and got a good deal.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOUGAL_London_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
May I take this opportunity to thank you for staying at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City and also informing us about your experience.

I am sorry that you felt Club Lounge was not serviced well enough however you did enjoyed the experience for the evening Canape service. Club Lounge is not manned apart from the evening & breakfast service however your comments will be taken on board. Air con unit in Lounge will be checked by our maintenance team.

Pleasure to know that have enjoyed the breakfast experience and service comments has been shared with the team. Glad to know that you have complimented our staff service and our team will be proud to know your comments.

Once again thank you for staying and we look forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Had a very enjoyable experience we stayed three night and it lived up to its reputation. Staff were first class especially in the hotel restaurant. Check-in staff could have been friendlier but were very efficent. Could take a few pointers from restaurant and bar staff who were frst class. I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieMay375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

The service was friendly and efficienct
The room was nicer than expected, reasonably spacious, cleaned well between days, comfortable beds. The cookies and bath robe were nice touches.
Location was great ,short walk to broad street and £5 to New Street station by taxi.
The bar was a bit characterless and expensive and not very inviting for a night cap

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank Portlaoiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
2,972 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,741 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
2,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Address: 19 Holliday Street, Birmingham B1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Birmingham City is a 4 star deluxe property, conveniently located in the heart of Birmingham City Centre. Birmingham New Street Station, The ICC, NIA and new shopping developments are just a short walk away. Events coming soon-Cirque Du Soleil and Dancing on Ice. The hotel has 312 spacious bedrooms with a variety of amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, in room dining, satellite TV and refreshment making facilities as standard.A range of flexible food and beverage options are available to guests in our vibrant, contemporary B1 Bar and Restaurant and 24 hour room service, all of which offer creative menus with healthy options to suit all tastes. Overall, the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City offers great quality accommodation and facilities with service to match - we guarantee an enjoyable experience to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Prestigia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing