We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent city centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #27 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Fantastic rooms and massive beds - great stay and excellent location for city centre hotel. Breakfast queues were long but apart from that an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 84artemis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,886 - 1,892 of 2,190 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

On arrival wasnt so good. We thought we had already paid for the room but she no we haven't but we couldn't understand why we gave our card details the night before. Anyway when we did give her a card she said we can't pay by this card must be credit card! We explained thats the card we use. She then asked if she could see our confirmation to see if we had already paid. She confirmed no you haven't paid then took the payment from the card that she said we couldn't use! Very confusing, would of expected our arrival to be a little smoother. Anyway.....
We were on top floor, 11th and the view was great. The bedroom was lovely and the bathroom was nice and spacious with bath and a separate shower cubicle. Had its own little touches like pillow menu, free canapes and drink from 5.30pm-7.30pm. This is only for club rooms though. We wasn't told about this on booking so we only caught the last 30 minutes of free canapes and drinks. This was in a room on the 11th floor and it was very nice, even though we didn't get to have a table because there wasnt enough! But we know for next time!
The breakfast was lovely. Lots of choice and was a nice set out.
Overall the stay was great. It felt like a mini holiday and we'd go back again.

Room Tip: Have a club room on the 11th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimoneGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I stayed here for one night to attend a conference at the hotel. The hotel is really modern, nice and clean throughout. I loved the large rooms, comfy beds, and the bathroom shower was excellent. There were also lots of sofa areas to meet and chat with people. The gym facilities was also of a good spec. My only complaint was an overcooked burger which took ages to be served for dinner (we were having an early dinner and ordered from the bar menu- no one else in the restaurant). However, lunch and breakfast in the main restaurant was good, so I think my burger might be a one off. There was also parking in the basement which was really convenient.

Overall, excellent hotel, I will definitely come back and keep a look out for Crowne Plaza hotels in the future. If only all hotels during my business travels were this nice!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts- I could hear people coming in after the bar closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellstaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Just returned from a 2 night stay here. The location was superb as I was attending a conference in the city. The hotel is beautifully presented and the bedrooms excellent. I also really enjoyed my breakfast. My only problem on the Thursday night there was some kind of party in the hotel unitl gone 12.30. From my room on the third floor I could sing along with every note - not great when you've been up since 6 and working all day. I did phone reception at 12.30 but by the time I got annoyed enough to ring the party ended.
Also a shame that when I mentioned this to receptionist on checking out, there was no apology. Furthemore, a small gesture, such as taking off the cost of a room servie or something similar would have gone a long way.
Car parking slightly expensive too at 13.50 per 24 hours. Also no lift to hotel from car park so if you have lots of bags, drop them off first before parking.
Overall however a great hotel, I would return but ask to be on the 8th floor, just in case!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

This hotel was a brilliant place to stay. Lovely receptionist who was very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Went up to the room. 6th floor, walked in and was very impressed. The room was nice and clean and very spacious, not to mention the bathroom which was clean and well kept. Needed help and directions and the staff in reception were happy to help, although a few did look a bit grumpy. There was hardly any noise which was a big plus for me, as I can't sleep with noise and the curtains were heavy and thick enough to block out any light which made it even more pleasurable.
The only things I would have liked was to have internet access and a swimming pool, but that didn't bother me too much.
All the amenities in the room were lovely and so I would stongly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Birmingham, and only a short walk from the best and biggest shopping centre ever.

Room Tip: room on the 6th floor, right hand side was nice. view not too bad either. lovely at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KIM1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

From the moment we arrived at the hotel, we realised we had made the right choice. The hotel is in close proximity to the NIA, Bull Ring and Mailbox which was convienient for our stay. The modern outlay of the lobby welcomed us with the scent of fresh exotic flowers. We chose to stay at the Crowne Plaza for 3 nights and we were certainly not disappointed on the 3 nights we stayed there.
We were greeted by John Wong at the reception desk, whom was very polite and helpful. The room was a Queen deluxe with club lounge access, which were very modern, light and clean. We thoroughly enjoyed the amenities of the bathroom which included, shoe polish sponge, sewing kit, vanity kit etc which was all very useful. Views from the room was stunning, providing us views of Birmingham skyline. Breakfast was exquisite each morning, and arrived promptly and to the time we requested. We had a shortage of teaspoons with our breakfast, but after ringing room service, this matter was resolved affectively. Other than this, we had no problems for the duration of our stay. The bed was very luxurious and comfortable and gave us a good nights sleep. The hotel parking was extortionate as the price to park there was £13.50 for 24hrs, we researched into other car parks within the vacinity of the hotel and found parking on Tennant Street which was a 12 minute walk to the hotel. All in all we had an amazing time and we will most definately return and recommend this hotel to all our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Aman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Had a really enjoyable stay here. Stayed in a Club room which was excellent value for money considering it included Breakfast and free drinks between 5.30pm and 7.30pm. Club room was spacious and really clean and bed really comfy. Close to all the amenities that Broad Street have to offer and only a 5 minute walk from the Bull ring. Car park underneath hotel and easy to find. Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerbyshireLottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,332 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,432 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
2,578 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
1,003 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
#69 of 118 in Birmingham
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Address: 19 Holliday Street, Birmingham B1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#20 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £62 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Birmingham City is a 4 star deluxe property, conveniently located in the heart of Birmingham City Centre. Birmingham New Street Station, The ICC, NIA and new shopping developments are just a short walk away. Events coming soon-Cirque Du Soleil and Dancing on Ice. The hotel has 312 spacious bedrooms with a variety of amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, in room dining, satellite TV and refreshment making facilities as standard.A range of flexible food and beverage options are available to guests in our vibrant, contemporary B1 Bar and Restaurant and 24 hour room service, all of which offer creative menus with healthy options to suit all tastes. Overall, the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City offers great quality accommodation and facilities with service to match - we guarantee an enjoyable experience to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing