We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good break but worrying.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre
Ranked #33 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We enjoyed our stay for New Years Eve, the room was clean but tired with cup marks on most surfaces. The taps in the en suite wobbled and the decor is, i'm sure very contempory but i found it a little too dark (dark damson colour). The staff were friendly and breakfast was extensive and lovely.
My only worry is that we had asked for a low level room as my partner cannot use lifts. We were given a spacious room on the 3rd floor which was great as there wasn't too many stairs to climb. My worry was that as the stairs were not integral to the hotel but on the side and were concreted etc a fire escape. The lighting didn't work for a spell in the evening of New Year, which meant we couldn't get out the hotel and had to ring reception. Someone came up and took us through a kitchen area to get out, after desending 2 floors that did have working lights. This was the emergency exit i think, if i'm right, god forbid if there had been an emergency.
The lights were fixed within half an hour or so but it shocked me, none the less.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn186424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,715 - 1,721 of 2,095 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2012

This is the first time I have stayed here in over a year and I still hate it (not my choice - work booking). I stayed in the hotel many times before its "makeover" and so know it well. But now the ambient lighting is set to permanent late evening everywhere. The lift is so dim that you have to peer at the buttons and the corridors are painted a ghastly dark grey with very dark doors. Walking to the rooms at the end of the long corridor feels slightly sinister as the lights only come on as you get to them, leaving the end of the corridor in darkness. The room was showing its age, no plug in the sink, deep scratches on the sink top, a duff light bulb in the large corner floor lamp and torn or missing linings on other light shades. No shower soap, only bath lotion. The air conditioning unit was so noisy and blew air in my face when lying in bed so I had to turn it off. And whoever thought it was a good idea to put the tea tray in the wardrobe where you hang your clothes over it, has a very strange idea about hygiene. The restaurant is also gloomy, you sit completely away from the downstairs windows, which are covered with black nets. With the lack of daylight and overhead red lights, its like eating breakfast late at night. On the good side, the staff are very friendly and the car park beneath the hotel is secure for overnight stays. Location is very good for Broad Street night life, as you will be reminded when you are woken in the early hours when another room door slams (something they should have addressed during the makeover). I will be asking to stay at Mal Maison next time and will feel depressed it I get put here instead!

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back of the hotel - much less traffic noise and yet nice views, especially at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashbymouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerB1, Manager at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to note your observations and experience.

Disappointed to read that unlike many other returning guests your not satisfied with the product of Crowne Plaza Birmingham overall. There are learning points for us in your detailed review and some where we can action quickly like the air con and room cleanliness.
Please be assured that this is not reflective of the normal standards and attention to detail associated with our hotel.

Pleased to see that you have still given us full marks for customer service and location. As a returning guest, If you would like to discuss this further please contact at:
akmal.shahzad@cpbhamcity.com

This will provide us the opportunity to renew your faith in our services and product.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Clean, modern hotel in good location for shopping, bars, clubs & resturaunts and easily accessible by car or public transport.

The standard and club rooms are all nicely furnished in modern deco, large comfortable beds and lovely well equipped bathroom.

I travel to Birmingham alot on business and this hotel is always my first choice.

Room Tip: Either purchase or ask for an upgrade to a clubroom which gives you access to the excellent club lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshone03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Myself and my partner stayed here in . I got a really good price on the Club Room and having never stayed at a Crowne Plaza I was a bit dubious of what they were offering with regards to the room.

I need not have worried. We parked in a car park next door (multi story which is validated by the hotel on exit meaning a lesser price) and made our way up to reception. This part of the journey is not great as you have to go up a dingy car park stair case and the front of the building isn't the most appealing. This is all forgotten about though when you step into the reception area.

We were greeted by a lovely receptionist who checked us in and explained about the benefits of a Club Room. The room itself was great, decorated in a sumptuous purple and dark wood we felt relaxed straight away and ready to get dressed up for our night out on the town.

We went to the Bullring for some shopping and then headed back to the hotel to take full advantage of the Club Lounge. Had a great time in there, the drinks were flowing, we had a nice view out over the city lights and felt even more relaxed (if not a little tipsy) by the time we returned to our room to get ready.

Overall had a fabulous experience at the Crowne Plaza in Birmingham and I am definitely hoping to go back soon.

Room Tip: Get a Club Room - Worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itsjustmeandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed in Crowne plaza as was visiting family in Birmingham choose this hotel as it has been recommended. Me and my wife choose to stay in a club room so we could take advantage of the extra's staff (Young lady) in club room were efficient and friendly I noticed this was the case throughout the hotel as so were the restaurant and reception staff. Did have some problems during my stay due to the room was cold and my wife has arthritis so was a big problem for us we called reception and was told that someone would be up ASAP, 2 hours later still noone at this point we had made our minds up that we would not be staying here again, untill we then called reception and requested to speak to the person in charge which was a young lady Sasha she apologised sincerely explained that someone would be up straight away and asked us if there was anything she could do or help us with she then came to our room personally and fixed the heating for us offered us an extra heater just to get the room warm enough and tryed to make us feel comfortable again.. Me and my wife were really impressed as this is what we call 4* service and what we expect from Crowne plaza and more. Will stay again as after this hurdle we had a great stay

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnandJulie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

we stayed here for new year. close to shopping centre and all the bars. the rooms are very clean and tidy. The staff were friendly too.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed here for two nights on business. Good hotel. Good breakfast selection. Missing some of the luxurious aspects I would want for the price but very good staff and good location.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisacarter7778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,137 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
3,998 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Novotel Birmingham Centre
#44 of 118 in Birmingham
1,471 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Address: 19 Holliday Street, Birmingham B1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £66 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Birmingham City is a 4 star deluxe property, conveniently located in the heart of Birmingham City Centre. Birmingham New Street Station, The ICC, NIA and new shopping developments are just a short walk away. Events coming soon-Cirque Du Soleil and Dancing on Ice. The hotel has 312 spacious bedrooms with a variety of amenities including en suite facilities, air conditioning, in room dining, satellite TV and refreshment making facilities as standard.A range of flexible food and beverage options are available to guests in our vibrant, contemporary B1 Bar and Restaurant and 24 hour room service, all of which offer creative menus with healthy options to suit all tastes. Overall, the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City offers great quality accommodation and facilities with service to match - we guarantee an enjoyable experience to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, IHG, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing